Chevron Left
Retour à Data-driven Astronomy

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Data-driven Astronomy par Université de Sydney

4.8
étoiles
1,175 évaluations
346 avis

À propos du cours

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

Meilleurs avis

SK

10 sept. 2020

Really amazing course! Gave me insights into how data analysis works in the field of astronomy and how one can use different machine learning techniques to classify the huge amounts of data generated.

MC

28 févr. 2020

Its been amazing to learn about the celestial objects, stars, galaxies. The lectures and quizzes spurred in me to explore new material online. Great hands on exercises in python and machine learning

Filtrer par :

126 - 150 sur 345 Avis pour Data-driven Astronomy

par Mir S H

4 mars 2021

Data-driven Astronomy is an amazing course which will help you to acquire a good knowledge in Astronomy and Data Science with their applications. Hope all the people will enjoy it.

par Kingshuk M

19 mai 2020

Very well structured course. Effectively combines the physics of astronomy with computational tools. Really enjoyed and got inspired listening to the interviews with astronomers.

par Bartosz P

23 juil. 2019

It's a nice and short intro to both astronomy and analysing data with python. For me it was a too short because I would like to learn more about this topic, but totally worth it.

par Arthur O

27 janv. 2020

Great introductory course about different real world problems faced in the field of Astornomy and how different technologies and computational solutions can be applied to them.

par ABDUL J K

25 avr. 2020

An amazing course! Was a bit challenging at first, but it didn't take long for me to get the hang of it. Was quite interesting and informative throughout. Absolutely loved it!

par Pierre G

1 févr. 2021

Match with the description given.

Each week, some astronomical stuff are presented and then we learned who to recognize those proprieties in a data set thanks to computing.

par denis m i g

3 août 2022

Un excelente curso de astrofísica enfocado en el análisis de datos, practico, moderno y ágil. Recomendadísimo para estudiantes de grado y posgrado de física y astronomía.

par Abdul A

22 janv. 2019

Excellent presentation and delivery method by the instructors and very good course content. Highly recommend it anyone curious about Universe and to understand it better!

par Aditi D

3 avr. 2021

Absolutely stunning! As an undergraduate student, this course gives me an insight into what skills are really necessary for a strong grasp on research in Astrophysics.

par Shivam R

24 mai 2020

An excellent course! Computer science students interested in astronomy will find this course very helpful to develop a practical approach for their programming skills!

par Ananth R

24 avr. 2019

Wonderful course and loved every bit of it. My only concern is that I would love to have some form of a certificate even though I can not afford to pay for the course.

par AMIT S

23 mai 2020

Assignments are core of this course and are brilliantly designed . Pace of course is ideal and it encourages you to study more in each of skill area it touches upon

par Vishvajith G

21 janv. 2022

10/10 would recommend my peers to take on this course. Might need some pre-requisites but once they're met, the course is like the sky, you never stop watching it.

par Sandeep P S

26 juin 2020

Excellent Course for introduction to Astronomy with Data Science. The assignments were well really well planned and the videos were involving. Loved the course !

par Erik H

28 sept. 2019

I really enjoyed this course. You'll learn some python, some SQL. But for me most important was learning more about astronomy and the universe. Very interesting.

par Daian G

15 juil. 2022

A​mazing course. You need some basic programming skills but if you are like me, a developer just looking to know more about space, then this course is for you.

par Iván G M B

29 avr. 2021

Simply amazing. The best course I've ever taken... Physics, Astronomy, Astrophysics, and Big Data Science. The tools needed to understand our universe. Thanks.

par Carlos V G

21 juin 2020

Really enjoyable course. Great for learning basic stuff regarding data management and machine learning algotithms, all in the fascinating context of astronomy.

par Ryan H

6 mai 2017

Great class! I didn't know that these techniques were used in astronomy. I am looking forward to more science and scientific computing courses from Coursera.

par JAI S

1 juil. 2020

This course was very thorough,easy to understand and really fascinating, every little bit was explained clearly. This is what an online course should be like.

par Nohely B

1 juin 2020

Es un increíble curso! Bien organizado y con excelentes profesores. La herramienta externa es genial, con ella pude aprender a usar Python! Gracias por tanto.

par Josh C

2 janv. 2019

This class is incredible and inspirational. I learned so many highly applicable skills and I am very glad to have taken this class in its entirety. Thank you!

par Tomás S

5 avr. 2022

Very comprehensive and well explained course. It nicely introduces key concepts for everyone intestered in learning more about data science and astrophysics!

par Syed K H

25 févr. 2018

One of the interesting course and topic of coursera. Very informative, even you are not from this field, you will get lots of knowledge of this Astronomy.

par Miguel A

21 avr. 2020

Fue un excelente curso , me ayuda mucho para poder intentar el procesado de unos catalogos de galaxias en especial la parte del machine learning aplicado