Chevron Left
Retour à Data-driven Astronomy

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Data-driven Astronomy par Université de Sydney

4.8
étoiles
1,143 évaluations
336 avis

À propos du cours

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

Meilleurs avis

SK

10 sept. 2020

Really amazing course! Gave me insights into how data analysis works in the field of astronomy and how one can use different machine learning techniques to classify the huge amounts of data generated.

MC

28 févr. 2020

Its been amazing to learn about the celestial objects, stars, galaxies. The lectures and quizzes spurred in me to explore new material online. Great hands on exercises in python and machine learning

Filtrer par :

176 - 200 sur 336 Avis pour Data-driven Astronomy

par Ted S

24 mai 2017

I've been looking for a class like this for a while. Nice intro to python and accessing and manipulating astro data

par Steve B

19 juin 2018

I used it to learn Python which made it more challenging but the content inspired me to get through it... excellent

par Diogo S

3 sept. 2017

Astonishing course!

From Python basics to Scikit and the universe in a few weeks got smoother than I expected.

par Gonzalo B

7 août 2018

A great introduction to Data-driven Astronomy and a good way for starting to learn Python by solving problems

par Ahammed A

9 mai 2018

A great course for a good understanding of the tools and the theoretical requisites of data driven astronomy

par Christopher N

7 mai 2022

Great content and exercises. I learned more about modern astronomy and techniques for working with big data.

par Ka W P N

1 févr. 2022

A high quality course. You could learn not only Astronomy, but also practical application of Python and SQL.

par Ishita -

26 mars 2020

if you want to put some hands on the modern of doing observational astronomy, go for it. an amazing course .

par SHUBHAM K

20 juil. 2019

Great lectures, interactive coursework, and easy to understand yet overwhelmingly powerful concepts! Lovely!

par Martin R T

26 oct. 2020

An amazing course that everyone interested in Astronomy and programming must take!! I highly recommend it!!

par Caden G

21 nov. 2020

Very relevant, topical material and some good actual hands-on practice with highly applicable techniques.

par John O

11 juil. 2019

Really interesting course.

I now need to make further study of the techniques introduced on this course.

par Omar R T C

25 janv. 2022

Superb course. Learned a lot about astronomy, programming, algorithms, and the role of data in science.

par Daanish P

1 mai 2020

wow, this course made my quarantine time :) thanks dr. tara and simon murphy for this beautiful course.

par Alexandra B

10 déc. 2021

G​reat course! It covered a lot of relevant topics, but was still light, interesting, breezy and fun!

par Terence

15 mai 2020

Very good module. I have learned a lot about how to analyze huge data by using computational skills.

par Daniel N H

19 sept. 2020

Absolutely gorgeous! It has exceeded my expectations in so many levels that I can't even explain...

par Cecilia G

5 juil. 2019

Great course, does help to have a background in python so more time can be spent on the activities.

par p v k

12 mai 2019

Outstanding presentation in making even a novice like me understand the fundamentals of the course.

par SOURABH S

22 déc. 2018

Ultimate Course,A proper mixture of Data Science,Statistics,Machine learning and Astronomy.Loved it

par Kusha S

6 juin 2021

A​bsolutely Amazing course. Had a lot of fun doing the excersises and implementing the solutions.

par Abhas P

26 juin 2020

Only complaint, there should be an option to save the codes we have written. Even in text format.

par Craig T

28 août 2018

Really good basic intro to data analysis, particularly applying this to the astronomical domain.

par Ivet S M

15 juin 2018

I've enjoyed a lot this course. I've learnt a lot of things and I would recommend it to everyone

par Adel B

27 mai 2020

Pretty good introductory course for applied data science on astronomy. Overall captivating!