Chevron Left
Retour à Data Collection and Processing with Python

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Data Collection and Processing with Python par Université du Michigan

4.7
étoiles
2,597 évaluations
421 avis

À propos du cours

This course teaches you to fetch and process data from services on the Internet. It covers Python list comprehensions and provides opportunities to practice extracting from and processing deeply nested data. You'll also learn how to use the Python requests module to interact with REST APIs and what to look for in documentation of those APIs. For the final project, you will construct a “tag recommender” for the flickr photo sharing site. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" and "Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries" courses (courses 1 and 2 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization). If you are already familiar with Python fundamentals but want practice at retrieving and processing complex nested data from Internet services, you can also benefit from this course without taking the previous two. This is the third of five courses in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Meilleurs avis

A

Jul 10, 2020

Very interesting and fine course, in this course I learn how to solve Nested data and new a new thing i.e REST API which seems best in course 3 now I am excited about course 4. Thanking you Michigan

CM

Oct 10, 2019

This was a really excellent course. The functional project at the end helped me understand how recommendation systems work and now I'm very excited to try to build a similar system for books I love.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 423 Avis pour Data Collection and Processing with Python

par Enam B

Jul 30, 2020

Very good and informative course. Learned a lot compared to the other 2 courses in this specialization. If you are planning to enroll, please after completion, try to remember whatever was taught in this course. I can guarantee, you will be able to code very efficiently.

Hints - I was able to complete the final assignment within 41 lines (including 9 blank lines, so, basically it is 41-9 = 32 lines) without using any special functions. Just used whatever was taught in this course.

I am really grateful to Professor Paul Resnick. And as always, a big fan of his jokes. Great course!!

par Tingting Y

Aug 11, 2020

Many thanks to the University of Michigan for offering this extremely good intermediate-level python course, and thank you Coursera for making it free. I was able to apply what I learned in the two introductory courses in this python specialisation to very practical problems. However, the difficulty of the final project seemed to be too great a leap from that of the preceding chapter exercises. It would be a good idea to incorporate more smaller coding tasks as chapter exercises in this part of the textbook.

par Ayush P

Aug 03, 2020

It's a great course to work on REST API's as we doesn't require any API key for extraction of data.

Mentor has very well explained the content, to how to extract data from JSON formatted dictionaries.

I loved the concept of understand , extract and repeat...

Just a suggestion : the indent argument in json.jumps is not showing the content in indented format . Therefore, it is sometimes difficult to understand the nested data.Please ! Fix that bug.

par Tushar S

May 18, 2020

This was a very efficient course. It helped me to understand the basic concept of how internet works while requesting data from it. Further it taught me how to read and thus use the documentation of a few REST API. The environment is designed in a way that you can practically examine and use how API works, WITHOUT the need of having a key (*for restricted data available in cached file already).

Thank you to all the professors.

Love from INDIA!!!

par Stella B

Jul 29, 2019

This course gives you so much understanding of API and how useful they can be! The exercises and especially the last assessment of week 3 requires to assembling everything you've learned(and sometimes more than that) to solve it. Through the process of trial and error, you'd learn more than you can imagine, not just on APIs but on how assemble multiple complex functions into 1 cohesive program. I strongly recommend to do this course !!

par Rodrigo S L

Aug 20, 2020

This course is the most difficult in the specialization yet... If you've done course 1 and 2, this one is going to challenge you. However, finishing the course and getting the certificate, will give you great satisfaction. Dr. Resnick has a great talent for explaining things, and the textbook tool is simply one of the best tools to learn programming. Highly recommended.

Also, the dad jokes, LOL.

par Brandon H

Aug 25, 2020

The final project was demanding and rewarding. Required overcoming diverse coding challenges to bring together skills from other courses in the specialization. Really a great experience. The openly available api keys made getting the working version on my local machine possible, which greatly added to the learning experience

The videos, examples and practice material were once again excellent

par PANIDAPU H C

May 25, 2020

I AM VERY HAPPY THAT I HAVE TAKEN THIS SPECIALISATION.I HAD A LOT OF FUN.I ENJOYED A LOT.I GOT MORE AND MORE INFORMATION ABOUT API AND LIST COMPREHENSIONS,DATA COLLECTION AND A LOT OF THINGS.I LIKE LECTURES OF PROFESSOR PAUL.THANK YOU TEAM COURSERA FOR PROVIDING SUCH A BEAUTIFUL COURSE AND IT'S WONDERFUL.THANK YOU TO INSTRUCTORS OF MICHIGAN UNIVERSITY.I WISH TO DO MORE AND MORE COURSES.

par James M

Aug 18, 2020

Excellent course. Challenging but "do-able" project. Professor Resnick gives very clear explanations in the videos.

When you code a request that goes out onto the internet and actually brings back information into your program just the way you told it to -well, there's something close to delight that you feel as 100 lines of info scroll down the screen.

par Suresh C

Jul 29, 2019

It's very thorough class and I enjoyed completing it. I have a suggestion. The API data extraction environment could have been made better. Many times, my script succeeds in Jupyter but fails in Runestone environment. Not sure what the problem is. I noticed several messages in discussion forums with similar observation. Thanks.

par Ian M

Sep 14, 2020

Most intense, challenging, and rewarding course I have ever taken on Coursera. I did the first two before this. I love the Runestone Textbook. I really love this specialization. Definitely the best slate of courses I have ever seen, and this was the best of all of them. Thanks, University of Michigan. Go, Blue!

par Kushagra V

May 18, 2020

Paul Resnick is a great teacher. His teaching methodology is very impressive .I managed to cover the entire syllabus within 4 days and also with 100% grades. All the credit goes to him and his team. I faced a little difficulty in the last project but the discussion forums are very useful.

par Rishi S

Dec 23, 2018

Very nice exercises and very useful knowledge! some challenges with the auto-grader but I am sure this will be soon fixed as likely to do with being so new (first run). Love it that I do not have to watch long video's , there is enough explanation around the exercises to get you going.

par Yauheni P

Apr 21, 2020

Great course! Thank you Paul and everyone who did a great job. I wish the tasks would be easier to understand for non-English speakers. The very last task, for example, made me crazy. I thought I had to get 5 kv pairs for each element in the list. Other than that it is a great course!

par Nicolas S V

Apr 07, 2020

The course was interesting, overall the more interesting part was the last challenge or grade, where you have to reach to different endpoint by calling an API where you get movie information and another API from where you get the ratings of such movies. It was fun, so enjoy the ride!!

par Punam P

Aug 28, 2020

This was a really excellent course. Every module gives nice experienced. The functional project at the end helped me understand how recommendation systems work and its very useful for me. Thanks to team and university for such a platform which is very effective for everyone.

par Aniket S V

Apr 23, 2020

The course provides a deep understanding of nested dictionary and list in python, Week 3 was especially helpful where the actual use of these data structures is explained when using REST API to extract data in JSON format. The exercises are challenging and fun to solve.

par Maytat L

Jun 12, 2020

This course taught me a great deal of Python especially fundamental concepts of implementing APIs without having to actually apply a real API key. I found the course project challenging enough such that I spent lots of times and learnt a lot from it. Great course

par Subrata G

Sep 16, 2019

Very nice introductions to json and nested data.This course gives us understanding of API and how useful they can be.The exercises and last assessment of week 3 requires to assembling everything you have learned . I strongly recommend to do this course.

par Chilakala V

Oct 08, 2019

The final project was a great idea with a horrible implementation. The browser does not support everything and the output window is really really small. Debugging the code without using another full interpreter is almost impossible. Please fix this.

par Sophia S

Apr 24, 2020

I like this! It was a lot of hands on stuff, which really helped me familiarize myself with the material. I was previous really scared of APIs but now I am less so, which helps me at my job. BTW I love Paul Resnick, he's an excellent teacher.

par Sanija K

Mar 10, 2020

Excellent course material giving in-depth understanding of each concept.Projects are the best part of this course. It has now started to get real as we implement the concept to build projects. Thanks for the excellent instructors.

par Billy A

Dec 22, 2019

The course gets tougher at the end, but it is a very rewarding experience. I highly recommend anyone who's willing to take this specialization to follow the course order because it will be easier to follow through that way.

par Ravi S V

Feb 18, 2019

Really liked the course structure and assignments. Only small request would be if we could at least do the final assignment in a real Python environment as code debugging is slightly tedious in the Runestone environment.

par Carlos E V V

Jul 18, 2020

One of the best python courses to understand lists, dictionaries and json structures using nested iterations, lists comprehensions and sorting. It also introduces the concepts of REST and APIs to work with web services.