Chevron Left
Retour à Data Collection and Processing with Python

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Data Collection and Processing with Python par Université du Michigan

4.7
étoiles
3,199 évaluations
529 avis

À propos du cours

This course teaches you to fetch and process data from services on the Internet. It covers Python list comprehensions and provides opportunities to practice extracting from and processing deeply nested data. You'll also learn how to use the Python requests module to interact with REST APIs and what to look for in documentation of those APIs. For the final project, you will construct a “tag recommender” for the flickr photo sharing site. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" and "Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries" courses (courses 1 and 2 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization). If you are already familiar with Python fundamentals but want practice at retrieving and processing complex nested data from Internet services, you can also benefit from this course without taking the previous two. This is the third of five courses in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Meilleurs avis

A
9 juil. 2020

Very interesting and fine course, in this course I learn how to solve Nested data and new a new thing i.e REST API which seems best in course 3 now I am excited about course 4. Thanking you Michigan

CM
9 oct. 2019

This was a really excellent course. The functional project at the end helped me understand how recommendation systems work and now I'm very excited to try to build a similar system for books I love.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 527 Avis pour Data Collection and Processing with Python

par Jerrold

4 juil. 2020

I just took course 3 because I wanted to learn the syllabus in this course to brush up on my Python skills for data analysis. The course material covered the topics listed in the syllabus for this course excellently, I could follow all the lectures, the instructor was decent and slowly but thoroughly explains all the concepts while typing and running the code on his screen. However the runestone environment which is what the assignment and project is done in a while getting used to as it is a broswer programming environment not a local machine program like IDLE.

A damn good course with manageable assignments. I highly urge anyone who wants to go venture into data science/analysis using Python to take it. Thanks University of Michigan!

par Igor F

27 janv. 2019

This course helped to understand such convinient thing as list comprehension, also it was really nice to work with API even without having API keys thanks to cached API's responses. I think that these parts are very practical, and I will use these things in the future. Though week's 3 theoretical part seemed to me a little bit long, and, probably, you should spend more time in the real Python environment, I still have enjoyed this course. Completion of the final project really gave me the feeling of personal achievement.

I'd like also to note that on the moment of completion of this course I haven't met same techical problems mentioned on the discusion forums by other participants of the course.

par Enam B

30 juil. 2020

Very good and informative course. Learned a lot compared to the other 2 courses in this specialization. If you are planning to enroll, please after completion, try to remember whatever was taught in this course. I can guarantee, you will be able to code very efficiently.

Hints - I was able to complete the final assignment within 41 lines (including 9 blank lines, so, basically it is 41-9 = 32 lines) without using any special functions. Just used whatever was taught in this course.

I am really grateful to Professor Paul Resnick. And as always, a big fan of his jokes. Great course!!

par Tingting Y

11 août 2020

Many thanks to the University of Michigan for offering this extremely good intermediate-level python course, and thank you Coursera for making it free. I was able to apply what I learned in the two introductory courses in this python specialisation to very practical problems. However, the difficulty of the final project seemed to be too great a leap from that of the preceding chapter exercises. It would be a good idea to incorporate more smaller coding tasks as chapter exercises in this part of the textbook.

par Ayush P

3 août 2020

It's a great course to work on REST API's as we doesn't require any API key for extraction of data.

Mentor has very well explained the content, to how to extract data from JSON formatted dictionaries.

I loved the concept of understand , extract and repeat...

Just a suggestion : the indent argument in json.jumps is not showing the content in indented format . Therefore, it is sometimes difficult to understand the nested data.Please ! Fix that bug.

par Tushar S

18 mai 2020

This was a very efficient course. It helped me to understand the basic concept of how internet works while requesting data from it. Further it taught me how to read and thus use the documentation of a few REST API. The environment is designed in a way that you can practically examine and use how API works, WITHOUT the need of having a key (*for restricted data available in cached file already).

Thank you to all the professors.

Love from INDIA!!!

par Stella B

29 juil. 2019

This course gives you so much understanding of API and how useful they can be! The exercises and especially the last assessment of week 3 requires to assembling everything you've learned(and sometimes more than that) to solve it. Through the process of trial and error, you'd learn more than you can imagine, not just on APIs but on how assemble multiple complex functions into 1 cohesive program. I strongly recommend to do this course !!

par Rodrigo S L

19 août 2020

This course is the most difficult in the specialization yet... If you've done course 1 and 2, this one is going to challenge you. However, finishing the course and getting the certificate, will give you great satisfaction. Dr. Resnick has a great talent for explaining things, and the textbook tool is simply one of the best tools to learn programming. Highly recommended.

Also, the dad jokes, LOL.

par Brandon H

25 août 2020

The final project was demanding and rewarding. Required overcoming diverse coding challenges to bring together skills from other courses in the specialization. Really a great experience. The openly available api keys made getting the working version on my local machine possible, which greatly added to the learning experience

The videos, examples and practice material were once again excellent

par Scott K

13 déc. 2020

Very informative. Great textbook and exercises. The lectures were a bit basic for me, but that's just because they were thorough. I was able to skip them and just use the online textbook and complete assignments to go faster when I wanted. Do yourself a favor and download PyCharm or another code editing program to make it easier to experiment on your own as you work through the assignments.

par PANIDAPU H C

25 mai 2020

I AM VERY HAPPY THAT I HAVE TAKEN THIS SPECIALISATION.I HAD A LOT OF FUN.I ENJOYED A LOT.I GOT MORE AND MORE INFORMATION ABOUT API AND LIST COMPREHENSIONS,DATA COLLECTION AND A LOT OF THINGS.I LIKE LECTURES OF PROFESSOR PAUL.THANK YOU TEAM COURSERA FOR PROVIDING SUCH A BEAUTIFUL COURSE AND IT'S WONDERFUL.THANK YOU TO INSTRUCTORS OF MICHIGAN UNIVERSITY.I WISH TO DO MORE AND MORE COURSES.

par James M

17 août 2020

Excellent course. Challenging but "do-able" project. Professor Resnick gives very clear explanations in the videos.

When you code a request that goes out onto the internet and actually brings back information into your program just the way you told it to -well, there's something close to delight that you feel as 100 lines of info scroll down the screen.

par Collin M

28 févr. 2021

Very good material on how to iterate through nested data structures and retrieving and organizing data from web url's. The course project was difficult, and I needed to find information from third party websites to complete it. But, it provided hands on experience introducing useful and practical applications of the material included in this course.

par Bret G

29 déc. 2020

I had an easier time with this project than with the project from Course 2 (Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries). If you struggled with Course 2's project, don't fret! With that being said, I feel like I learned a lot in this course that can be more directly applied to real-life work, particularly with function-building and API use.

par Suresh C

29 juil. 2019

It's very thorough class and I enjoyed completing it. I have a suggestion. The API data extraction environment could have been made better. Many times, my script succeeds in Jupyter but fails in Runestone environment. Not sure what the problem is. I noticed several messages in discussion forums with similar observation. Thanks.

par Ian M

13 sept. 2020

Most intense, challenging, and rewarding course I have ever taken on Coursera. I did the first two before this. I love the Runestone Textbook. I really love this specialization. Definitely the best slate of courses I have ever seen, and this was the best of all of them. Thanks, University of Michigan. Go, Blue!

par pietro v

19 nov. 2020

Quality instructors and course material, as I already said for the previous two Python modules.

This time they even arranged the Runestone Interactive environment to overcome the multiple requests limitation of some REST API. And that for us to practise effectively. They care about us students

par Kushagra V

17 mai 2020

Paul Resnick is a great teacher. His teaching methodology is very impressive .I managed to cover the entire syllabus within 4 days and also with 100% grades. All the credit goes to him and his team. I faced a little difficulty in the last project but the discussion forums are very useful.

par Rishi S

22 déc. 2018

Very nice exercises and very useful knowledge! some challenges with the auto-grader but I am sure this will be soon fixed as likely to do with being so new (first run). Love it that I do not have to watch long video's , there is enough explanation around the exercises to get you going.

par Yauheni P

21 avr. 2020

Great course! Thank you Paul and everyone who did a great job. I wish the tasks would be easier to understand for non-English speakers. The very last task, for example, made me crazy. I thought I had to get 5 kv pairs for each element in the list. Other than that it is a great course!

par Nicolas S V

7 avr. 2020

The course was interesting, overall the more interesting part was the last challenge or grade, where you have to reach to different endpoint by calling an API where you get movie information and another API from where you get the ratings of such movies. It was fun, so enjoy the ride!!

par Punam P

28 août 2020

This was a really excellent course. Every module gives nice experienced. The functional project at the end helped me understand how recommendation systems work and its very useful for me. Thanks to team and university for such a platform which is very effective for everyone.

par Aniket S V

23 avr. 2020

The course provides a deep understanding of nested dictionary and list in python, Week 3 was especially helpful where the actual use of these data structures is explained when using REST API to extract data in JSON format. The exercises are challenging and fun to solve.

par Maytat L

11 juin 2020

This course taught me a great deal of Python especially fundamental concepts of implementing APIs without having to actually apply a real API key. I found the course project challenging enough such that I spent lots of times and learnt a lot from it. Great course

par Subrata G

16 sept. 2019

Very nice introductions to json and nested data.This course gives us understanding of API and how useful they can be.The exercises and last assessment of week 3 requires to assembling everything you have learned . I strongly recommend to do this course.