Chevron Left
Retour à Cybersecurity Capstone Project

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Cybersecurity Capstone Project par Université du Maryland, College Park

4.2
étoiles
105 évaluations
23 avis

À propos du cours

This course presents an intensive experience during which students build a software system they intend to be secure, and then attempt to show that other students' projects are insecure, by finding flaws in them. A Note on Capstone Frequency: Please note that sessions of this Cybersecurity Capstone Project only run 3-4 times a year, depending on course team availability and learner interest. Please keep this in mind as you enroll into the Capstone program. While you will still be able to access certain elements of the course between sessions, you will not be able to submit assignments or be grouped into teams unless you are in an actively running session....
Filtrer par :

1 - 21 sur 21 Avis pour Cybersecurity Capstone Project

par Oen M

Nov 08, 2018

I wish I could give this a negative rating. I have, to varying degrees, enjoyed all of the other courses in the Cybersecurity certification. However, this course was entirely awful. I would have enjoyed the content of creating a website, using our knowledge, etc. if it had not been so poorly managed, poorly executed, and poorly put together. This course, put simply, was unorganized and broken, and did not work. After all of the hectic problems of getting the people in charge of the course to actually do their jobs and split us up, they wound up leaving us no method to communicate, so I had to do the entire assignment (supposed to be done by a group of 5) in less than a week (when we were supposed to get 2). The scheduling also did not make sense, as the course was supposed to run for 6 weeks but only lasted 5. Even aside from all of that, the prompts for the assignments were vague at best, and at some points were downright misleading. It was a terrible and stressful experience all around.

par Elias R

Oct 26, 2019

This course is terrible. There is no meaningful schedule and the instructors themself don't stick to it.

The group assignments were published one week after the first project deadline was officially over!

The submission system / review section is not suited to comply with the given task and provide the required feedback.

The capstone project is simply a mess and should be redesigned as a whole.

par Phil :

Oct 28, 2018

A great idea for a course, but utterly shambolic in its implementation. Who in their right mind would organize a course where "week 2" is actually weeks 2-3, "week 3" is actually weeks 4-5, and "week 4" is week 6? (This is a 5-week course, by the way.) The most important part of this course was the "break-it" assignment and peer review. This was supposed to award higher scores for the discovery of crashes (10pts) and vulnerabilities (15pts) than for other bugs (5pts) as described in the course outline. But instead we only got 5 points for bugs of any kind. (Finding an incorrectly labelled button in the menu: 5 pts; Discovering a vulnerability that allows the entire contents of the database to be decrypted: also 5 pts.) This resulted in a lot of wasted time as people had to submit and re-submit their reports many times to scrape through with a pass. According to the Discussion Forum page, there were six people available to help us with any problems: one instructor, two teaching staff, and three mentors. Five of them (including the instructor) were completely absent throughout the entire duration of the course, despite the many issues people had raised as the course unfolded. I couldn't possibly recommend this course to anyone.

par Alexey F

Oct 16, 2017

The 4 courses which comprise the Cybersecurity course were mostly good and worthwhile. The capstone itself, sadly, was a total disaster. I would have never took it if I knew in advance it will be such a mess. I understand that the university was trying to be creative with it with all the best intentions in mind, but have to admit it didn't work for the course takers this time. I've done A LOT of courses on Coursera, this was the worst one by far :(

par Eugenia G

Oct 16, 2017

Lacl of support and proper information to finish the project.

par Claudio K

Apr 28, 2020

The organization of the project and the reviewing process is a mess. The "reading" documents describe something completely different than what is actually enforced by the assignments. For example, the "reading" documents say that you have 2 weeks to implement the project, but the assignment is ~1 week after the groups are defined. Criteria for the project evaluation are described differently in different places. The evaluation report of a project, where you should describe bugs, vulnerabilities, and rate the usability must be put into some ugly text boxes without possibility to format the text; source code is completely unreadable. There is also no way to upload a PDF or other document.

Worst of all: After someone reviewed your project, and maybe find some bugs, you don't even get informed about those (which would be very useful to learn what you could improve)..

par Ujjwal S

Nov 05, 2016

This is one of the best project I have done in my life. This project gives you insights into how to build secure applications. It has three different rounds including a built-it round, break-it round and fix-it round and each of them were equally challenging and fun.

I would recommend everyone to take this capstone project and you won't regret your investment ever.

par mamoud a a

Oct 22, 2019

I have learnt a lot in this track

par Ankit k

Oct 17, 2017

Awesome experience!

par GAURAV B

Nov 24, 2018

it was awesome

par Nazmul A J

Oct 08, 2020

Alhamdulillah

par yousef m

Apr 16, 2020

Very usefull

par Mahmoud A A A R

Apr 12, 2019

Very Good

par Hiroshi T

Oct 21, 2018

It was a great opportunity to create a carefully secured app. However the team assignment in this term did not work as expected so I guess some of participants couldn't complete the project due to very short timeframe. I hope the tutor of the project will fix this for the next term.

par Sjir B

Mar 22, 2018

The project itself was very fun and I definetly recommend it to others.

however the grading can be improved because allot of people do not serious grade and just give random number to have the grading done.

par Abiven J C

Sep 26, 2017

I paid the course and the course seem to be no longer supported, I tried without success to switch session , in summary : You paid and don't get to follow the course, incredible :-( ....... !

par Ayman M H

Nov 10, 2019

Too much grades and wrong distribution of points on the break it part.. Too much to be 80% for it

par Federico C

May 22, 2018

The organization is not the best.

par André L A B

May 09, 2018

Lot of confusing course.

1) Week 2 is week 2 and 3. Week 3 is week 4 and 5.

2) There is no way to avail other projects individually. So the purpose of give grades based on found bug and vulnerabilities doesn't work.

3) The grade is not fair. 60% is given only if the home page is available.

4) The time is not enough. 1 week to develop an entire application.

par John F

Oct 19, 2020

The assignment input system for the course is quite poor and doesnt fit what really is requested.

Many users taking course are offering to falsely rate your project unless you rate their at 100%

par Mohamed S A E A A

Apr 19, 2019

good