Chevron Left
Retour à International Cyber Conflicts

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour International Cyber Conflicts par Université d'État de New York

4.5
étoiles
1,078 évaluations
248 avis

À propos du cours

By nature, cyber conflicts are an international issue that span across nation-state borders. By the end of the course, you will be able to apply the knowledge gained for analysis and management of international cyber incidents and conflicts including for activities such as development of policy related to cybercrime and cyberwarfare. Management of cyber incidents and conflicts requires an interdisciplinary perspective including an understanding of: 1) characteristics of the cyber threats and conflicts themselves, 2) international efforts to reduce and improve cyber security, and 3) psychological and sociopolitical factors. The course is designed to reach an international audience and will encourage discussion on relevant current events among participants to enrich the experience with various personal and cultural perspectives on cutting-edge issues. In addition, assignments and other assessments will supplement video lectures and selected readings to ensure application of the material. After taking this course you will be able to: • Identify different types of actors involved in cyber threats (individuals, organizations & nation-states) • Distinguish between different types of threats and issues in cyber security including, data theft, political espionage, critical infrastructure protection, and propaganda • Detail the basic characteristics of the Internet infrastructure and international efforts to address Internet governance • List several international efforts to address cyber crime and espionage • Evaluate how principals that govern international conflicts might be applied in context of cyber security • Apply different psychological theories of human motivation and cooperation and communication and political theories in analysis of different international issues related to cyber security including censorship, media operations and role of social technologies. Grading: Your grade is assessed based on discussion posts and quizzes. Individual taking this course for credit (i.e. students at the University at Albany y will be required to engage in additional activities communicated to them directly). Recommended Background: No background knowledge or skills are necessary, but an understanding and familiarity of cyber security, Internet infrastructure and international law would be advantageous for anyone who participates in the course. ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS Ersin Dincelli and Nic DePaula were the instructional designers for the course who assisted in the recording of the videos, reviewing material, creating slides, assessments and some of the content. Without their tremendous effort this would not have been possible. We also acknowledge the financial support for the recordings from the University at Albany as well as the support from Media and Marketing. Finally, thanks to Lisa Stephens who is the SUNY liaison to Coursera for being a strong supporter of the MOOC....

Meilleurs avis

LP

Aug 16, 2020

Great course! Learned a lot about Cyber Warfare and how countries can build up trust and cooperation between themselves to tackle third party threats in the cyberspace.

PO

Aug 06, 2020

I have learnt the causes of cyber conflicts and raising tensions among nations, the causes and how nations can come to mutual understanding or agreements. Thanks.

Filtrer par :

201 - 225 sur 241 Avis pour International Cyber Conflicts

par Sahil A

Jun 25, 2020

The course is great. So much of real examples it was a great experience.

par Davide C

Oct 23, 2016

general view on the subject. some interesting ideas.

par Fred F

Oct 10, 2016

Good course ... good introduction to the topic.

par SHALINI

Jul 20, 2020

The content in week 5 seems to be irrelevant

par Subha C

Aug 31, 2016

Superb course. Gave me a lot of insights.

par moataz m a m

May 08, 2020

thank you for this interesting course .

par ROBERT R R

Sep 30, 2017

WAS TAUGHT IN CYBERCRIME AND CYBERWAFRE

par Tripti M

Jun 11, 2020

The course was useful and informative

par SimonIainSmith@gmail.com

Jul 01, 2017

Interesting and enlightening topic

par Mark A U

Feb 18, 2016

awesome course I learned a great

par Hiderson S

Sep 02, 2020

muito bom o curso

par Xavier E

Jan 11, 2018

Good Theories.

par Fabio D

Sep 22, 2017

Interesting!

par Teo G

Jan 14, 2017

solid course

par Родионов А А

Dec 16, 2016

Interesting

par Ricardo J O

Jan 28, 2016

On the positive side I emphasise the importance of bringing this topic to a Coursera course. Also the readings were important and added value to the learning experience.

On the other hand there are - in my opinion some aspects that made this course a not so rich experience. First, there are some audio issues in the videos. Second, the quizzes are excessively easy and the in video quizzes should not appear in the weekly assignments. If there are required readings, some of the quiz questions should relate to those readings. This way students had an incentive to go over those readings. But the most salient thing that made my experience very limited was the fact that one of the instructors - the one that presented most of the videos, was excessively nervous and all that he did was read the slides, in most cases not doing so naturally and committing errors, rephrasing, stopping, changing speed. I found it very, very difficult to follow along what he was saying. I had to focus only on the slides, otherwise I would get distracted. I think it is ok to be nervous or at ease, but the team should alerted him to this, and shoot the videos again and again until they had acceptable and balanced quality.

A minor thing, I would like to had available the weekly slides to further reflection. I think the video issues that I've mentioned should been carefully planned before this course made it mainstream.

This is my opinion. Hope it will help you for future improvements of the course and/or other offerings.

Ricardo Oliveira

par Daria M K

Jun 03, 2017

This course provides a great foundation to build upon, but it is not very engaging. The instructor is simply reading off the screen and it looks like all the lectures were recorded over one day. He struggles to read the material towards the end of the course, while often mispronouncing the words and neglecting the concept of punctuation. I would recommend reading the reference book used in this course, "Cybersecurity and Cyberwar: What Everyone Needs to Know", because listening to the lectures is painful!

par David G

Aug 11, 2019

The content of this course was helpful. I learned some important concepts regarding conventional warfare, and motivations and difficulties with cyber conflicts. However the production of the course was terrible. The sounds quality was bad and distracting, and the presenters were obviously very uncomfortable speaking to camera. This aspect distracted from the effectiveness of the teaching.

par Emilio J M V

Aug 03, 2017

si bien es interesante el tema quedan muchas preguntas a resumir se necesitaria mas ejercicios asi el alumno investiga, y trabajar sobre mas textos y describir mas juridicciones.

Although it is interesting the topic are many questions to summarize would need more exercises so the student investigates, and work on more texts and describe more legal

par Ryan M

Jul 06, 2020

Some of the supporting reading materials were dated and did not reflect the current thinking or state of play in the cyber security space. The course could have benefited from spending significantly more time discussing actual international cyber conflict case studies than the theory or psychology underlying cyber security theory.

par Elena G

Mar 24, 2017

The videos were not always easy to understand because of the unclear pronouncing of the key speaker. Also although most of the tests were easy to complete, the ones that you had to write the answer down instead of only choosing the correct answer, were hard since if one word you wrote was wrong you lost the question.

par Roeland H

May 15, 2017

Much of the literature was unavailable which I think is a downside. Also, while interesting, the topics were covered only superficially and I felt that that questions during the videos and at the end of the module were very easy and did not challenge the participant to think or research.

par Paul A

Jan 26, 2018

Could make use of more real world examples. Hacktivism and individual actors receive more attention than they deserve given their extremely limited capabilities. Over all a good class though.

par Celeste H

May 24, 2018

While informative and interesting, I believe the course hadn't been updated in a few years and some of the links to further readings didn't work. I really enjoyed what I studied.

par Christian P

Mar 25, 2017

I like the comparisons between past physical wars and current cyberwar. However, the course take the long way to explain very basic elements of nations interactions and trust.