Chevron Left
Retour à Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description par Université Wesleyenne

4.7
étoiles
1,196 évaluations
379 avis

À propos du cours

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to the techniques that masters of fiction use to ground a story in a concrete world. From the most realist settings to the most fantastical, writers will learn how to describe the physical world in sharp, sensory detail. We will also learn how to build credibility through research, and to use creative meditation exercises to deepen our own understanding of our story worlds, so that our readers can see all that we imagine....

Meilleurs avis

EG
1 juil. 2020

Great course, it taught me things that I would have never learned otherwise, in this course you must take your time, don't rush, because if you do you will miss the most important points of the curse.

AM
19 janv. 2021

This was such a wonderful course. I got to learn a lot about strange lands, imaginative description etc. Generally how to set my world and describe it in a convincing manner. I totally recommend it.

Filtrer par :

351 - 374 sur 374 Avis pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

par Bridgit

14 nov. 2018

The Course is very good. I would like more assignments and tutor's grades

par Rima A

24 mars 2018

this course is really great. it helps you to think out of the box

par Sumit S

24 janv. 2019

Helped marginally, visible change in my writing. I'm very happy.

par Spehner

8 juin 2021

c​omments on essays were not developped, great content anyway

par Thangella S

9 nov. 2020

The course was good and Amity Ma'am is a good teacher

par Paulo S

8 janv. 2018

It helped me a lot. Has good lesson content

par Eternally P

27 avr. 2020

Awesome course, awesome professors

par Perni

1 nov. 2016

Great knowledge. Time consuming.

par Lisa D

30 avr. 2018

This class was fun and helpful.

par Ritupriya G

20 avr. 2016

Very good course, thanks!

par Wendy C

20 mai 2021

Too many guest authors.

par Diana G

23 nov. 2020

very useful and fun

par Gunn Y

17 juin 2020

One word: Plagiarism. This course was rather inspiring and taught me numerous amounts of skills for my future career. But, the problem was the peer-graded assignments. There were some people who did this course for the certificate and used a skill not taught in this course called: plagiarism. For example, BEHARA SAI SWESHIKA copied off my own assignment, and also plagiarised the instructor's "INSTRUCTIONS'. It was disgusting reading a plagiarised writing piece. Even more, grading my own writing piece that was said that it was written by BEHARA SAI SWESHIKA.

par Anne M

26 janv. 2021

I got a lot out of the videos and exercises but other course features are not useful... no one participates in discussions and there are no teachers present. Don’t expect to get proper peer reviews. Most students do perfunctory reviews of a word or two just to pass through the automated system. Also, this is NOT an instructor led course... it’s just videos and exercises. It looks like there are supposed to be monitors but I didn’t see any evidence of participation from them. With that said, if you are a self-directed learner you’ll learn.

par Shay S

4 nov. 2020

Honestly I know many of us are frustrated with the poor reviews. Week to week I get at least one good reviewer that actually understands the assignment and provide great feedback, so I’m happy for that.

You have to just focus on working on your craft and not be so consumed with the feedback because due to coursera not managing the feedback it will always be lacking in that area.

Coursera should group writers week to week so that we can communicate back and forth. That would help with the managing of poor reviews.

par Amanda Y H

12 févr. 2018

This course was interesting, but I did not find it particularly helpful or insightful. I felt that everything taught about setting and description was very elementary (I say this as a K-3 teacher who has regularly taught the concepts of setting and description) and not that useful for someone looking to take their writing to a more professional level.

par Syam M

24 févr. 2021

I would have appreciated direct instructions instead of referring to some books and some time off. You don't get the full benefit of having an instructor when it is taught that way which would work at post-graduate level courses. This being an introductory course I would prefer more hands on instruction.

par Pamala B

22 mai 2021

Loved the course! However, the peer reviews are a farce. Most of the reviews I received were not reviews at all but someone going through the criteria and entering 'yes' or '1' in each grading criteria just to satisfy the requirement. No actual reviewing being done at all. Very disappointing.

par Digant K

11 avr. 2016

If you've not read a single book on writing, this class might be good. Otherwise, don't expect to get much about the ~30 minutes of lecture.

par Kaitlyn B

31 août 2019

I didn't actually learn anything. This felt like a waste of time, with largely boring assignments.

par Lisa C

10 déc. 2020

Disclosure: I opted out of the course after the first week. This would be a great class for someone who's not familiar with creative writing or hasn't done this type of writing regularly. As someone who's been writing for a long time I didn't find it particularly helpful. One of the reading assignments, The Odour of Chrysanthemums, was no longer available to read. Also I'm not a fan of peer reviewed grading which seems to be inherent in many of the courses on Coursera.

par Jessica W

20 juil. 2020

Highway robbery. The Course material is good and the assignments are good exercises but $66 dollars for the quality of feedback you get is robbery. This is the second course I have taken in the specialization. I initially felt the first course was good but since then I have learnt a lot more about what else is out there. On two separate occasions the peer feedback appeared to be written by someone who was new to English. They were confused about the most basic aspects of my assignments while other reviewers were not. On two other occasions the person providing the feedback simply provided one word three times because this is enough to fool the computer system into believing you have provided feedback and allow you to move on in the course. For $66 you can get much much much better value in lots of other places.

par Aleena A

12 août 2020

Although Amity Gaige was awesome at teaching and inspiring me to write (she's my reason for the one star), I may as well have watched similar videos on YouTube for free.

The peer-review feedback for this entire specialisation so far has been a waste, and after completing 3 out of 5 of these courses, I have gotten only 1 constructive review - the rest have been one word answers or short lines (one even put full stops for feedback!) from people who seem to just want to get a grade.

For aspiring writers, especially if you're hard up for cash, your money may be better spent elsewhere if you are truly interested in developing your skills. If you're simply looking for a certificate, this course is for you.

par jessica

9 août 2016

The peer reviewed assignments are next to useless, as there is no oversight on them. I think there needs to be a basic comprehension assessment done first, before allowing fellow learners the ability to pass/fail students in the course.