Chevron Left
Retour à Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot par Université Wesleyenne

4.7
étoiles
4,254 évaluations
1,433 avis

À propos du cours

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

Meilleurs avis

LB

15 nov. 2018

Great information about plot and scene structure. The information about revision was entirely new to me - thank you! The exercises were good and difficult in a good way that helped me hone my writing.

DA

30 nov. 2016

Great course to take as the first step in the sequence of the "Creative Writing" certification. Exercises are fun, professor provides useful methodology, load is manageable for someone with a day job.

Filtrer par :

201 - 225 sur 1,431 Avis pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

par Jeanne B

4 nov. 2018

wonderfully set up. I can follow and do at my own page and learn so much at the same time. Its structure keeps me going and the extended deadlines are a very useful feature... so is the price of the subscription, as it does keep me from going too far off off deadlines.

par K. S

15 nov. 2020

I love writing more, after taking the first four weeks of this class. The instructor provides top-notch information about the mechanics and guidelines to effective writing, with a lot of insights from professionals in the industry. I look forward to the next lesson!

par Sachit M

10 mai 2020

Outstanding course for anyone who wants to write anything. I love writing, and recently someone told me to get trained and become a bettwe writer. I found this course and loved it. Brando is an amazing instructor. Just his presence makes you feel calm. And his looks!

par Ole D J

19 févr. 2018

Awesome course.

Can feel the missing pieces slowly fall together in my writing for every assignment.

So happy this and the following courses were made available on Coursera.

Will mention the author as well as this course in my first book if I manage to get it published.

par Lefifia L

5 févr. 2021

This is a wonderful class. I learned a lot of invaluable skills that has already improved my creative writing. I've learned transferable skills that will help me as a script writer and novelist. I cannot wait to take the other three parts to this course. Thank you!

par Ramsha T

21 avr. 2020

This course has helped me in many ways to understand that how a plot should work. Before this, I ised to get very confuse about the structuring of story to make sense out of it but this course has helped me learn pattern with which I can make any plot make sense.

par Andre C

26 févr. 2021

A great primer on structure and introduction to the basic elements of a story. In Wesleyan's Creative Writing course you will learn about scenes, be given specific toolkits such as the "ABDCE of story", and write short works that will be evaluated by your peers.

par Royslyn V T

16 sept. 2020

Great Course. It helped me honed my skills and helped me to be better at plotting. I wasn't much for plotting but I realised that I knew and loved that I could produce a good story. Definitely recommend those who wish to better their writing to do this course.

par Afonso V N

29 oct. 2020

It's a great course that helped me a lot to develop my desire for writing. The content is clear and easy to assimilate, it offers great exercises to train and meaningful insights about the art of writing through the instructor's shop talks and the peer reviews.

par Karena A

23 déc. 2019

This is not your run-of-the mill writing course. Brandon is a gifted teacher and the content and activities opened up new ideas for me. I learned some additional ways to look at story. The format also allows communication among students, which is very valuable.

par Surabhi S G

23 mars 2021

This course was fantastic and alluring! I learnt to craft a plot beautifully and in a cohesive manner. Before I wrote stories but my thoughts weren't organized. This course permitted me to think in a certain order and put that down in an order. Amazing course!

par Henry M A M

17 août 2020

really excellent, I have learned a lot in this course, many unknown things or that I did not apply correctly with this course I was able to better understand various concepts, I hope that the classmates have also been able to learn and know more, very grateful

par Alicia S

4 juil. 2016

I didn't take this class for credit, I took this class as a refresher. The professor gave a lot of good information and I really enjoyed the class. I enjoyed the class so much, I would take it again. Please recommend a book for the next class. Good class!

par Michael Y

17 déc. 2018

This course has been a godsend to further develop my skill in the art of creative writing.

Thank you, Brando. This course has been incredible, inspiring, and foundational to my future.

Whoever wishes to advance their creative writing; this course is for you.

par Ethan P

31 août 2021

This course has given me a significant amount of tools to further my creative writing career. The notes that I've taken feel invaluable and promising. I recommend this course to anyone with a passion for writing and a yearning to progress their abilities!

par K H

9 mars 2021

I really enjoyed exploring through different aspects of this course. I didn't know about ABDCE structure which was very helpful to me for building stories from scrap. I enjoyed writing and reviewing with my peers. Brando Skyhorse is an amazing lecturer.

par Edwin D S d L

26 sept. 2020

Enjoyable course full with clearly explained concepts and detailed examples that make it even easier to understand. The practical exercises are fun to write and encourage you to hone your skills through each unit. Good for writers at all levels of skill.

par DavidDawn P

22 nov. 2020

This course was engaging from the start. Assignments were interesting and the lesson videos extremely helpful. The videos with published authors discussing how they tackled the elements we were learning was a great touch. I highly recommend this course.

par Jeffrey E C

5 juin 2017

This is a great course and instructed very well. I like that it is all done in video sessions. I have had too many courses with other organizations that sell a course that is just written material that you can get on Amazon in a few books for $4.99...

par Aya

9 août 2020

Lecture from Brando Skyhorse is pretty clear and good, the guest interviews are interesting and fun. The conversation are very laid-back and easy to follow. The feedbacks from the peer are also constructive, very supportive with one another. Thank you!

par Juanita J

12 août 2017

Very enjoyable course, challenging assignment, and a great instructor. The course content was well organized and presented. Brandon Skyhorse's presentations were well done and concise making his lessons easy to comprehend. Thanks for a great course!

par Rachel B

7 févr. 2022

Loved the course. Loved that got feedback on what was writting. Though would have liked it if it wasn't just pass or fail on the assignments. Was hard during the peer reviews to know if person passed or failed at times because only partly completed.

par Arslan B

26 avr. 2020

Thanks, tons, Wesleyan University, and Professor Brando Skyhorse. I loved the first course, The Craft of Plot, in the Creative Writing Specialization. I learned from this course, and I hope to learn some more from the remaining courses in this series.

par Chiam Y W

17 juil. 2018

Very well broken down into bite sized and easily digested information on what a plot is to tips on drafting a plot. The assignments tied in directly with the content taught each week which really help to further deepen the understanding and learning.

par Mariana P

15 févr. 2017

Excellent way to start diving into the awesome adventure that is creative writing. The structure of the course is laid out nicely for all learners - both beginners and more advance. Highly recommend it if you want to start learning more about writing.