Chevron Left
Retour à Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot par Université Wesleyenne

4.7
étoiles
4,286 évaluations
1,446 avis

À propos du cours

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

Meilleurs avis

LB

15 nov. 2018

Great information about plot and scene structure. The information about revision was entirely new to me - thank you! The exercises were good and difficult in a good way that helped me hone my writing.

SD

13 juil. 2020

It seems easy at the start; give it a week or two and you will be very surprised -- with yourself and your reaction to the feedback.\n\nThe instructions are easy to follow, the insights are priceless.

Filtrer par :

1401 - 1425 sur 1,446 Avis pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

par Mike Z

9 avr. 2020

I enjoyed the course and found it useful. The majority of the students don't seem to speak good english. That isn't a problem for their writing, but I feel like they have a hard time usefully evaluating my work due to the language barrier.

par Allison R C

15 sept. 2020

I got the most out of listening to the modules. I wish that there was some feedback from the instructor on the writing assignments. Everything is peer-reviewed only, and the quality of the feedback is quite poor.

par Noah S

30 juil. 2019

The course was a good motivator to start writing and keep writing every week. The lectures were short and generic. Nothing other than the very basics. The peer review system works okay but it certainly isn't great.

par FeetForBrains

15 nov. 2021

The course provides some opportunities to learn. That said, there doesn't seem to be much of a bar to pass to get into it and the student grading of assignments often falls short of providing any useful feedback.

par Lisa G

13 oct. 2016

I understand the importance of reviewing other classmates work however with the time constraints of today's world, I believe it takes away from precious time that could be spent developing the craft of writing .

par SANCHEZ C M P

8 oct. 2020

La verdad es muy difícil aprender algo ya que nunca hay retroalimentación aparte de la que dan los compañeros del curso. Solo son videos muy abiertos para explicaciones que deberían ser concretas.

par Marc E S

27 avr. 2017

I was hoping the lectures would be more dense. My previous coursera courses where on data science, machine learning, etc. I somewhat feel that the content on those courses is twice or thrice more.

par nathan g

28 sept. 2020

Some of the instructions didn't seem to match the assignment and I think a lot of learners were confused. Needs more moderation. I did learn and found the challenges in the course useful.

par Sharon A D

8 janv. 2021

The instruction is clear and quite good, but what good is feedback if you cannot read it. I can see my grade but there is nowhere to see what my peers had to say about my work.

par Justin S

9 sept. 2020

the grading system could improve star selection process such as grammar; clarity; congruency; originality; captivation may broaden the critque of the story

par katherine l

2 avr. 2018

Materials were engaging. Some assignment direction was a little vague. Some professional interaction or review would help to supplement the peer review.

par Youssef A

10 juin 2020

What's most beneficial about this course are the assignments rather than the videos. I do wish though we got some feedback from the instructor himself.

par S. J W

27 févr. 2016

Someone needs to review/proofread the final part and assignment. Many students were/are confused about the final assignment. Revise the video too.

par Paul C

28 oct. 2018

Too many interviews without delving into the core of the subject. There were some good tips but left feeling disappointed.

par Jesica M E D B

22 août 2016

The course is nice and informative. Unfortunately one can not do any of the pear rated assignments or pear reviews.

par Fatema R

25 déc. 2021

Very basic overview of plot, great for giving amateur writers a push in developing their stories.

par Nima Y Z

8 nov. 2020

The course was very practical and I learned very useful content and tips.

par Mariana C

28 mars 2020

Good morning. How can I unenroll? It is not what I expected. Thank you.

par priya v

21 déc. 2016

it would have been great if the final assignment had been grade

par ahmed i

17 janv. 2017

it seems good and hopefully will be valuable in my context

par Digant K

27 mars 2016

So overly simple with a lack of details in the steps.

par Michael K H

26 mai 2021

Very very good assignments. Peer grading was poor.

par Zamzam A

19 mars 2020

I feel we need professional assignment reviews.

par Mohammed A

18 août 2016

Nice, informative, but basic and short.