Chevron Left
Retour à Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot par Université Wesleyenne

4.7
étoiles
3,788 évaluations
1,269 avis

À propos du cours

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

Meilleurs avis

SD
13 juil. 2020

It seems easy at the start; give it a week or two and you will be very surprised -- with yourself and your reaction to the feedback.\n\nThe instructions are easy to follow, the insights are priceless.

MM
30 nov. 2016

Great course to take as the first step in the sequence of the "Creative Writing" certification. Exercises are fun, professor provides useful methodology, load is manageable for someone with a day job.

Filtrer par :

1226 - 1247 sur 1,247 Avis pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

par Youssef A

10 juin 2020

What's most beneficial about this course are the assignments rather than the videos. I do wish though we got some feedback from the instructor himself.

par S. J W

27 févr. 2016

Someone needs to review/proofread the final part and assignment. Many students were/are confused about the final assignment. Revise the video too.

par Paul C

28 oct. 2018

Too many interviews without delving into the core of the subject. There were some good tips but left feeling disappointed.

par Jesica M E D B

22 août 2016

The course is nice and informative. Unfortunately one can not do any of the pear rated assignments or pear reviews.

par Nima Y Z

8 nov. 2020

The course was very practical and I learned very useful content and tips.

par Mariana C

28 mars 2020

Good morning. How can I unenroll? It is not what I expected. Thank you.

par Priya

21 déc. 2016

it would have been great if the final assignment had been grade

par ahmed i

17 janv. 2017

it seems good and hopefully will be valuable in my context

par Digant K

27 mars 2016

So overly simple with a lack of details in the steps.

par Zamzam A

19 mars 2020

I feel we need professional assignment reviews.

par Mohammed A

18 août 2016

Nice, informative, but basic and short.

par Juliana C

17 févr. 2021

The course is interesting, but the videos are not enough. The instructor is charismatic and friendly. I received very poor feedback from peers ('yes/no/good' answers without any useful information). I did get some useful feedback. And on the last assignment, the program algorithm doesn't match a reviewer which could force you to pay another month, just to get the last review and the certificate. The course is worth the $50, but the review/feedback system is terrible. I will not proceed with the remaining 4 courses (which would mean spending an additional $200). This is very sad, as I was excited about taking writing classes online. Maybe they can limit the number of participants and add a few TAs/mentors to give more valuable feedback.

par Sofía G M

6 août 2020

I feel like, even though it is a course about PLOT, they should give you suggestions and advice when it comes to developing other parts of your story (characters, for example). Also, I think there should be multiple SHORTER activities for us to practice more instead of just one HUGE assignment at the end of each lesson

par JENNIFER G

16 août 2020

The pre-recorded lessons were good, but the assignments were unhelpful, as the peer critique process is highly flawed. Students need opportunities for professional critiques and face-to-face encounters with a cohort or associate professor...someone with some credentials or skin in the game.

par Pawee S

29 mars 2016

I hope the instructions were cleary and not too vague that it was open to many interpretation. An example would have helped and the rubrics/criteria for grading should have been shown beforehand so students would be guided what points they would consider when making their piece.

par Akshat J

1 juil. 2020

Not all assignments were related to what was covered in the lectures, they were actually quite random. I enjoyed the course but I think I would have learned much more had this not just been about the very basics and discussing film plots! We already know that

par Rachel C

17 avr. 2021

Did not find this course engaging, definitely struggled to finish

par Kathleen B

27 juin 2019

I completed my four assignments...I reviewed the work of others. Every time I log in I get a message that tells me I can finish in another two hours.... Finish what? I think I am finished, and can't find what more is required. I contacted Coursera. I chatted...the lady told me I was finished and that I would get a grade. I haven't gotten a grade.

So I'm out of here. I loved the coursework. It was excellent. I absolutely hate the website. Udemy works!

par Song L

27 oct. 2020

I only wanted to try the course but was charged $49 and non refundable! as soon as I heard the instructor started to talk about Harry Potter I was not interested and wanted to quit. Why was I charged $49 and cannot unenroll, and found nowhere to contact Coursera for refund?! This is cheating.

par Natalia M O

13 avr. 2021

Me quiero dar de baja y no encuentro cómo hacerlo. Me pueden ayudar por favor.

par Prasad S J

11 mai 2021

please unrolling this courese