Chevron Left
Retour à Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot par Université Wesleyenne

4.7
étoiles
4,318 évaluations

À propos du cours

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

Meilleurs avis

DA

30 nov. 2016

Great course to take as the first step in the sequence of the "Creative Writing" certification. Exercises are fun, professor provides useful methodology, load is manageable for someone with a day job.

SD

13 juil. 2020

It seems easy at the start; give it a week or two and you will be very surprised -- with yourself and your reaction to the feedback.

The instructions are easy to follow, the insights are priceless.

Filtrer par :

1226 - 1250 sur 1,459 Avis pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

par Abhishek T

17 juil. 2018

Gives an idea of structure.

Assignments provide challenging and restrictive setups that compel creative forces to find their rhythm in all scenarios.

Feedback is really morale boosting as well as useful critique, some angles come up that the author never looked into.

par Michelle Y

21 déc. 2020

An easy-to-follow course that is great for anyone, whether you're a beginner or experienced and in need for revisiting the fundamentals of creative writing. I especially enjoyed listening to the interviews of other authors and hearing their advice for this craft.

par April W

12 janv. 2022

T​he course was very helpful.

O​ne HUGE problem: I was given a certificate without having an opportunity to review notes from my final submission where we asked for specific feedback. If that is Coursera's policy for how things work, I find it very troubling.

par Sophie S

18 août 2018

I really liked the writing exercises...they were a good challenge and the peer review was a great feature....I didn't find the videos extremely helpful though. There were a couple good ideas in them, but overall not too interesting for an experienced writer.

par Michael H

24 mai 2016

A good introductory course to the craft of plot. Covers the basics, though I would appreciate some more complex assignments. Perhaps offer some more advanced course in the future? Maybe an advanced fiction specialization? Either way, good introductory course.

par Faith E

10 nov. 2017

I really enjoyed this course. It re-freshed a lot of my knowledge on the writing process/vocabulary while challenging me to write in a new way. Sharing my writing with peers and learning to give thoughtful, helpful feedback was also a great learning tool!

par Scott M

21 mai 2020

Interviews were well done. Reviewing the work of other students was marginally useful. Many students would have benefited from grammar and spelling check as mistakes in those elements were distracting. This might be that English is a second language.

par abrar a

11 mars 2018

I loved the course as it got me back to writing with agenda and a goal. the words limit was a good challenge and the time to fit in the deadline were a bit difficult as I work full time on demanding job.. but i truly enjoyed the course and the lectures

par John F

19 nov. 2020

The instructors offered good insights and perspectives on plot-making. However, I didn't like the peer reviews since some students were strict with the instructions and didn't leave room for artistic creativity, which I often employ in my exercises.

par Emma H

1 oct. 2021

This course is great and has definitely helped with my confidence - the only downside is the peer review system doesn't work when you get a lazy reviewer who only 'oks' everything - other than that it is really good and I would highly recommend!

par Cat B

21 févr. 2018

This is a well-structured and engaging set of videos and writing exercises that serves as a great introduction to the basic practice of writing fiction. The assignments were challenging but fun and increased my confidence in being able to write.

par Kirsty R

24 oct. 2019

This course has been really helpful in thinking about the way I shape my stories and my narratives. Easy to follow lectures and relevant assignments, it is definitely a useful tool for those of us who are looking to improve our writing skills.

par Laura D

10 janv. 2020

Good course, I enjoyed it. Would have liked to have seen more reading with the class that illustrated more of the concepts. Also, the concept of "rising action" was not sufficiently explained and one of the assignments was a little lame.

par James B

15 mars 2016

It's a good course. The explanations of plot and scene have made me understand for the first time what writing fiction is all about, and for the first time I was bale to write fiction that is better than anything I had ever written before.

par Eric W

8 oct. 2020

While Peer Review is a great tool, and for the most part is implemented well in this course, it would also be nice if at least one assignment received instructor feedback of some kind. Otherwise, the class was very helpful and concise!

par Dominique S

26 avr. 2019

This was a decent class. There was a lot of interviews with other writers which I felt took up a lot of the class and was a little unhelpful. But it was a pretty decent class. I learned from it the sequence of what belongs in a scene.

par aditi c

30 août 2020

I really enjoyed the course and it was really helpful to learn the basics of plot. I especially liked all the assignments. One thing that I would like to suggest is that maybe one final assignment should be graded by an instructor.

par Kristie C

26 déc. 2020

lecture and interview videos were helpful and informative. but since the class is entirely based on peer reviews, people who post one-word reviews on other people's hard work should be banned/have their grade impacted accordingly.

par Jillian F

22 févr. 2021

The videos were packed with technical strategies for creating plot and moving characters through their stories and assignments gave the opportunity to practice the new skills. The feedback forums were not as helpful as I hoped.

par Ben T

2 mars 2022

I​ liked the different writing challenges presented as they made me think of how to write in new ways. I do wish more of them had larger word count allowances however. I definitely added some new tools to my writing toolbox.

par Khushi A M S

22 avr. 2020

I really do love this course, it has taught me so many different things about writing. Being able to understand certain things from the point of view of an actual real-time author has helped me grow as an amateur writer.

par Mogeeb A R M

26 déc. 2019

Very useful. Very simple, with a very warm atmosphere throughout the sessions videos, and the way of grading, and it gives a great importance for sharing grades, stories and ideas which is very nice. I really enjoyed it.

par Nicole B

13 janv. 2021

It would be nice to get feedback from professors or graduate students or real writers vs peer since I'm not 100% sure I'm doing the assignments correctly. But the videos/actual lessons are great and super insightful.

par Alexandra L

24 juin 2018

I enjoyed it very much. Having tried my hand at writing, this was very helpful to see my mistakes and where I needed to pay more attention to my own writing. And SHOW! don't tell. OMGoodness, makes such a difference.

par Katrina C

2 oct. 2019

I have enjoyed the course and liked the weekly flow of assignments. i have also enjoyed the tasks each session. i would have liked to receive at least one or maybe two professional reviews, instead of just peers.