Chevron Left
Retour à Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot par Université Wesleyenne

4.7
étoiles
2,429 évaluations
813 avis

À propos du cours

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

Meilleurs avis

MM

Dec 01, 2016

Great course to take as the first step in the sequence of the "Creative Writing" certification. Exercises are fun, professor provides useful methodology, load is manageable for someone with a day job.

BM

Nov 05, 2019

The course was informative on how to build, structure and develop the plot of our own stories. It was also very helpful in guiding us through the editing process. A useful course for aspiring writers.

Filtrer par :

676 - 700 sur 791 Avis pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

par Cornelia M L

Mar 14, 2016

The course modules are helpful and easy to follow. I wish to give it 5 stars but because we, students, failed to experience the professor's feedback even in some of our thread, I think 4 stars are enough.

par Harsha V

Sep 27, 2016

I loved doing the course, and especially while doing each assignment of writing a story. The short guiding videos were to the point and interviews with personalities was engaging, Thanks for the course!!

par Naima M

Feb 16, 2016

Extremely innovative exercises and guidelines. Really opens one s brain to think creatively. The intructions for assignments need a bit more clarification.

A worthy ue of hard earned money.

Thanks Coursera

par Victoria C L

Oct 24, 2016

Love the clear direct explanations. Would have enjoyed more examples, more robust practice examples and a longer class overall, to l earn more plotting, but love the prof. Brandon knows how to teach!!

par Andrea E M

Apr 23, 2018

This course really allowed me to grow as a writer. The content was adjustable for a range of levels and the assignments challenged participants to put into practice that week's lectures. Thank you.

par Andrea R C

May 17, 2019

I enjoyed the lectures, but it can be challenging to peer-review others and to be peer-reviewed when there is such a huge range in terms of writing skill and/or English fluency in the class.

par Andreas J

Jul 25, 2017

It was rather good.

Delivered a lot of information on how to construct a plot, and some good basics on how to build a character.

Learning about the ABDCE structure in particular was helpful.

par David C

Feb 01, 2018

The content of the course is very informative; however, the reviews from peers were, at times, unhelpful. For example, I was told by one reviewer that he/she liked that I used paragraphs.

par Andreas W

Aug 03, 2016

I learned a lot about doing it the better way, than I did. What would have been cool: The essential graphics from the videos and some school material to print out and work with it.

THX!

par Abhinav T

Jan 19, 2017

A very good course on Plot by Brandon Skyhorse. Would have loved to go in more details into scene construction and structure. That is why gave it 4 stars, else it was a clear cut 5 star

par Laura V

Feb 28, 2019

A great, easy-to-follow course that will suit anyone with a tight schedule. Navigating the website wasn't always straight-forward but I found all the information I needed in the end,

par Ashlee S

Feb 27, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I would highly recommend it to new writers, old authors, editors, and anyone interested in stories. It was a great recap and refreshed the basics.

par Bernat R

Aug 08, 2017

Before the course had teachers to evaluate and give counsel to the pupils. Perhaps that should be brought back. Still I see a useful point in making us review our peer's work

par P. E K

Oct 06, 2018

Felt the student feedback was a little cursory and the lectures were a little too much watch and learn. But the content was wonderful and the professors were thoughtful.

par Kaitlyn B

Aug 01, 2019

I have been writing since I was twelve, and this is the first time I've been able to clearly see what I need to do with my plots. This is good for writers at any stage.

par Lena L

Sep 19, 2016

It makes you write a lot and that's the most important thing. However, there are some small inconsistencies in the materials, so additional reading might be recommended.

par Subash G

Mar 03, 2017

Very good introduction class and i really learned a thing or two: particularly about the ABDCE structure and the guidance around always starting a scene with an action.

par James D R

Feb 27, 2018

Great fun, with excellent and interesting video tutorials. I found the course to challenge me far more than I thought it would. It was a really rewarding experience.

par Andrea G G

Mar 18, 2020

O curso dá uma boa base para quem deseja iniciar a carreira de escritor ao ensinar os aspectos mais importantes na construção de uma boa história. Super recomendo!

par Ian B

Jun 21, 2017

Great course for establishing the common structure for fictional storytelling. Would recommend for the aspiring writer, or someone looking to sharpen their skills.

par Anudari Y

Dec 12, 2019

Very to the point and useful as a short starter set to plot. It was well presented and pleasant to listen through, with practical examples and interesting guests.

par Ozlem S

May 26, 2016

The instructor has done a good job with the structure and assignments for this course. He explains the course and the assignments very well. I enjoyed the course.

par Arun R

May 10, 2020

I think the scene vs plot vs story could be clearer. Each module described a plot or a scene but the assignment asked us to write a story. A little confusing.

par Sharon

Mar 15, 2016

Thank you for giving me some concrete guidelines. I enjoyed following along without doing the assignments. Grateful to be able to be a part of the learning.

par Becky D

May 27, 2019

I found the lectures to be useful. However, the assignments were not always clearly communicated, and the peer feedback was inconsistent at times.