Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Contemporary Geopolitics

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Contemporary Geopolitics par Université HSE

4.8
étoiles
257 évaluations
97 avis

À propos du cours

Geopolitics is all around us, it happens every day. The course shows the connection between geography and international relations, the origins of geopolitical concepts and ideas, how countries view the world around them, why their views are different and how space and distance determine economic ties and security concerns. Students, employees of public and private companies involved in international activity, as well as simply curious people can find this course basic, but interesting and useful. This course introduces geopolitics – one of the ways to interpret and explain international relations in the modern world. To do this, you will study the origins of this discipline, as well as its concepts that determined foreign policy decisions in the XX century. After that, we will look at the most recent versions of geopolitics and how some of them can be used for critical analysis. The main goal of the course is to understand the geopolitical approach to international relations and learn how to use it to explain and predict events taking place at the regional or global level. This includes studying theories, using them for case studies, passing tests to assess knowledge and correct understanding of the geopolitical approach. The course has no prerequisites, though it is desirable that the listeners have an interest in international politics, know the world map well and the changes that took place there in the XX century. The course "Political Geography and the Modern World", which is held at the HSE before studying Modern Geopolitics and which was created to prepare students for the study of theories of international relations, can help you with this. The course is for: • Those who are interested in international relations • Students in Politics, Regional Studies and Social Sciences • Those who want to find links and causalities between geography and international politics • Students who like history and who want to know the nature of major international events in the XX century • Those who prefer online format and a quick and basic explanation of international processes • For everyone who wants to know about the world around us The course consists of short video lectures from 6 to 11 minutes, in which invaluable questions are included. An estimated test of 10-15 questions will take place every week. In the end of the online course there is a final exam in the form of test. The course allows you to interpret international events in different ways, evaluate and predict them from perspective of different geopolitical approaches....

Meilleurs avis

GS
10 juin 2020

I found this course very well organized, informative and knowledge enriching. I really enjoyed doing this course. Thank you very much to coursera and the college for providing this oppoetunity.

SI
10 juin 2020

The course is indubitably informative, and of great help in understanding the evolution of geopolitics as well has the historical context behind many of the present-day geopolitical equations.

Filtrer par :

76 - 99 sur 99 Avis pour Introduction to Contemporary Geopolitics

par Rajat N

25 juin 2020

Great course. Detailed to the core..

par Marco G

20 nov. 2021

Excellent course, I learned a lot

par Alessandro S

17 juil. 2021

Great Course ! Great value !

par FRANK A

4 août 2020

A VERY INTERESTING COURSE

par Zhengyi X

6 sept. 2021

very interesting course!

par Francisco A G B

29 août 2020

Excelent profesor!!!

par Zaylobiddin T S u

18 oct. 2021

thanks for lecturer

par Md. M M

16 juil. 2020

It's tremendous

par SANTOSH K S

18 mai 2020

Good experience

par SIEVFONG O

21 avr. 2021

Great course!

par POLICHRONAKIS D

3 oct. 2021

fantastic!!!

par Roberto X J V

21 nov. 2021

E​xcelente

par Khaoula E

27 déc. 2021

excellent

par José L E T

6 nov. 2020

Excelent!

par Claudio C

2 juil. 2020

Very good course, very good introduction to geopolitics. It gave the theories, case studies and provided the students with good background materials (articles and books) as well as references to go deeper. It would be good if in the future students can get also, as they do in other MOOCs, the pdf of the slides. I appreciated it very much to be able to take the quizzes, which is not very common any longer as it used to be, unless one pays for the certificate. Thank you.

par Marc P G

24 mars 2021

Overall, a good course to get started in the field of geopolitics. It provides an overview of the history of geopolitics, from the imperialist era to our world today. The course is well-structured and follows a time-linear path, so it is quite easy to follow. Quizzes are a little bit challenging, but this course is definitely a must for those interested in the major current geopolitical actors.

par Toni S

11 août 2020

I found the course challenging since it's been many years since I had to study International Relations at this level. I noticed that some of the suggested readings were not available but taking thorough notes and using the Internet made up for the missing readings. I enjoyed the lectures and learned a great deal.

par Fernando P D

20 févr. 2021

Albeit a little repetitive at times (to be expected from an introductory course) all of its lessons were very interesting and rigorous, and the teacher mr. Skriba was clear and concise. I'd highly recommend this course to anybody interested in getting introduced in Geopolitics. Good job!

par German C

28 juin 2020

Engaging and informative course. Good introduction to the field which makes you feel like wanting more. In this sense the professor accomplished his goal. On the constructive side, the quizzes sometimes marked the correct answer as incorrect. Overall outstanding!

par Justin K

3 août 2020

Great course to explain goverment actions from 1850 to 2020.

HSE is a great school and I would take other online courses.

par Joshua A

28 déc. 2021

i​mpressed with the course content and the lay out of the course...............

par Catherine T

7 févr. 2021

This was an enjoyable course, particularly the majority of the course that dealt with the history and development of Geopolitics. The slides were really extensive and I ended up with a surprising amount of notes from taking this. The supplementary readings are also really great.

I ended up pretty bothered by the final few modules of the course that focused on geopolitical history and strategies of the US, Russian and China. It fairly transparently painted Russia and China in an overly favorable light despite those two regimes currently being dictatorships and kleptocracies, and the framing of China's Belt and Road initiative was actually shockingly dishonest. Anyone who carefully follows that will be really taken aback by how they present it. The anti-US rhetoric was also way over the top, painting the US and to a lesser extent Western Europe as being a bully of these two countries rather than acknowledging the more uncomfortable fact that the west is responding to unfavorable behavior from Russia and China. The presenter really lost credibility with me there as it seemed to lose objectivity and move to trying to impart a political message favorable to the Russia/China relationship specifically. The guest presenters in the China module, particularly the second guy, showed a very deep political bias. The earlier modules dealing with the history and development of geopolitics were much more objective and enjoyable.

I'm giving this 3 stars because while the historical portion of it has really flushed out the context for my understanding of current geopolitics and given me a lot of launching points to continue my own reading, I wasn't really able to get over the overt political bias of the last third of the course.

par Tudor U

28 févr. 2021

Had some problems understanding the lecturer due to his accent. Had different expectations regarding instructions on how to research what I want to know. However I got to keep some books and that is a good thing. Thank you

par Tan K

25 juin 2020

There are lectures missing and correct answers are marked incorrect. This course needs to be edited.