Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Contemporary Geopolitics

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Contemporary Geopolitics par Université nationale de recherche, École des hautes études en sciences économiques

4.8
étoiles
130 évaluations
53 avis

À propos du cours

This Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) will offer the participants an introduction into contemporary geopolitics, starting from the origins of classical geopolitics and continuing the discussion with the deep analysis of the examined country-cases, including the US, Russia, and China. Combined with small tests, based on the video’s and recommended readings, the participants will be encouraged to dive into the complex theories and phenomena and get familiar with the concepts that are still very relevant in the contemporary world....

Meilleurs avis

GS
10 juin 2020

I found this course very well organized, informative and knowledge enriching. I really enjoyed doing this course. Thank you very much to coursera and the college for providing this oppoetunity.

SI
10 juin 2020

The course is indubitably informative, and of great help in understanding the evolution of geopolitics as well has the historical context behind many of the present-day geopolitical equations.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 53 Avis pour Introduction to Contemporary Geopolitics

par Jaime R C C

15 avr. 2020

Por favor, ofrezcan mas cursos de Geopolitica y relaciones internacionales, ahora aplicados a logistica o geoeconomia

par George K T

3 mai 2020

Overall, this course is a highly recommended for an introduction into the realm of geopolitics.

Plus: Comprehensive review of key geopolitical theories and select case studies in contemporary world.

Minus: The orientation is overly Anglosaxon-centric. Russian worldview, in particular Chinese worldview, are interpreted mainly from the Anglosaxon lens which has inherent bias against other traditions unfamiliar to the narrow Anglosaxon mind.

par Luca O

19 nov. 2020

This course has been a HUGE contribution to my understanding of an extremely articulated and complex subject, despite maybe more than a few improvement opportunities. Professor Skriba is confronted with a very hard task here, and the final result is an enriching experience.

The course is heavy-load, compared to many other I have completed on Coursera. Completion times are largely underestimated. I've left many of the interesting proposed reading for a future fruition, otherwise the effort would exceed my time budget.

A certain degree of patience in overcoming some difficulties is also required. Be prepared for that:

1) Topics and key concepts are sometimes presented in a not very clear way, with nonlinear threads and broken logical sequences. If you're not discouraged, though, most of your doubts will normally be clarified in subsequent videos and lectures. In some cases, you'll have to wait 'till the final video.

2) The spoken and written English can be a bit of a challenge to someone not used to non-native English speakers and writers.

3) Slides are not available. and some quizzes require precise and exhaustive conformity to the language used in the explanation, which, given the previous problem, poses an additional challenge. The only way I found to pass the tests has been to write down detailed notes, if not handwrite copies of entire slides. I wonder if any student has ever got a 100% marks in any of the quizzes: if this matters to you, this is probably not the right course.

4) Moreover, in case of a wrong answer, it is virtually impossible to recover the exact point in the explanation where the right answer is explained (unless maybe if you have the time to review all the videos).

5) Some quizzes seem to contain small mistakes. Such mistakes are generally reported in the forums, but no feedback is provided by any moderator, and the problems are apparently not being fixed.

6) A few broken links are present in the recommended readings sections, and a couple of external contributions mentioned in the videos are actually not available.

7) Finally, although I understand this is questionable, a few explanations seem to reflect biased views of some topics. Generally speaking, however, a variety of theories and approaches is presented in a fair and critical way.

If you are ready to face the difficulties, however, the reward is worth the effort. Four stars are well deserved, and I will be happy to follow another course by Professor Skriba, hoping these comments are useful. Grateful.

par Jérôme P

1 août 2020

Thank you for this interesting course about geopolitics. The reading section was also very helpful in order to get a more profound understanding of the various notions adressed in the videos.

par Robert S

1 juin 2020

This course is an excellent introduction to geopolitics and the lecturer Andrei Skriba presents it very clearly.

It tends to be presented from a USA-European view, especially the reference material, but that probably reflects more the way the field has developed. I did really appreciate the section on China, as much of that was new to me and gave me a more solid insight into that country’s position and concerns.

Overall, a fantastic course, but I did wish there was engagement from students in the Forum.

par Toni H

23 juil. 2020

I came to this course knowing nothing about Geopolitics, Professor Skriba did a tremendous job to explain not only the origin of Geopolitics but also how historical events helped to shape and mature the different schools of Geopolitical thoughts that have developed throughout history. Although it is a 9 weeks course, it contains just enough information to keep one engaged and interested in the topic. I highly recommend this course!! Thank you Professor Skriba!

par Alejandro E J P

28 juin 2020

Thanks a lot for this unforgetable and interesting experience, really I learned a lot and the expositions were absolutely great, because even if I am historian, you need to manage the key terms in geopolitics to understand better the world because it changes constantly.

My suggestion is you should open more courses like this and promote because is a great tool for everybody.

Gretings from Lima, Peru and see you .

par Alice Z

26 juin 2020

Fascinating journey from the past through to the future.

Done academically, with-out overt partiality to any ideation/s.

Engaging professor, clear video highlights - explained in notes in alternative explanatory language.

The references are astounding.

Vast majority of txt was wonderfully amazingly accurate.

WORTHY OF TIME, especially if you are one who flourishes in the Activity of Thinking.

par Nicolas A C S

16 juin 2020

As an introduction to geopolitics is perfect, one can begin with no previous knowledge (basic historical knowledge would be advisable) and learn so much about the field and its development through history, to the approaches used actually and to the main geopolitical actors and conflicts in the current world.

par Daniel R

31 mai 2020

Very good presentation & introduction to 'Contemporary Geopolitics'.

What I would include more would be the regional & national level, e.g. how can 'small countries' like Malaysia, Jordan or Switzerland define their international politics considering the Geopolitics of the 'big powers' (USA, China, Russia).

par Yormis D A

17 oct. 2020

Excelente perspectiva de como ver la geopolítica mundial y bajo la mirada de los tres principales actores geopolíticos a nivel global; también el análisis del surgimiento de otras potencias que vienen a balancear el monopolio geopolítico que domina el sistema internacional.

par Marisa C G

27 nov. 2020

Uno de los cursos más completos que he tomado en la plataforma, exposiciones precisas e informativas, lecturas acordes a la lección, y acceso a libros imprescindibles. Lo recomiendo ampliamente, dado que es el recorrido histórico de la geopolítica.

par JB L

1 juin 2020

This is an eye-opener, not just for people who want to craft their own answer to the question, "What's happening in the world?", but for EVERYONE. As mentioned, in this day and age everyone should get into Geopolitics.

par Gyan K S

11 juin 2020

I found this course very well organized, informative and knowledge enriching. I really enjoyed doing this course. Thank you very much to coursera and the college for providing this oppoetunity.

par Samved I

11 juin 2020

The course is indubitably informative, and of great help in understanding the evolution of geopolitics as well has the historical context behind many of the present-day geopolitical equations.

par Mibin M

28 août 2020

It's the best course for anyone interested in International Politics and wants to know how one country positions itself in the world stage

par JeanLuc O

18 nov. 2020

Very good course to get started in geopolitics. Gives you the basic concepts and explain how you can do further study personally.

par Denis M

26 mai 2020

The course provides a useful introduction to global level Geo-politics. It does not cover the regional or sub-regional levels.

par Gabriel A P V

16 mai 2020

This MOOC is very well structured and explained. It is definitely a "must" for introducing yourself into Geopolitics.

par conan r

2 sept. 2020

Was an Extremely interesting and beneficial learning course that I enjoyed very much , Bravo!!!

par Pierre-Eric B

23 août 2020

Very interesting course welll built and accessible for all beginners interested in Geopolitics.

par Ismael H B

6 juil. 2020

Very happy to have joined the Course and I strongly recommend it! Great material an lectures

par Merry S

14 juin 2020

Well understanding what is geopolitics and that changed how to view the world around me!

par Andrea T

1 août 2020

Awsome course. The instructor was very good and his explanations were always clear.