Chevron Left
Retour à How to Win a Data Science Competition: Learn from Top Kagglers

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour How to Win a Data Science Competition: Learn from Top Kagglers par Université HSE

4.7
étoiles
1,113 évaluations
274 avis

À propos du cours

If you want to break into competitive data science, then this course is for you! Participating in predictive modelling competitions can help you gain practical experience, improve and harness your data modelling skills in various domains such as credit, insurance, marketing, natural language processing, sales’ forecasting and computer vision to name a few. At the same time you get to do it in a competitive context against thousands of participants where each one tries to build the most predictive algorithm. Pushing each other to the limit can result in better performance and smaller prediction errors. Being able to achieve high ranks consistently can help you accelerate your career in data science. In this course, you will learn to analyse and solve competitively such predictive modelling tasks. When you finish this class, you will: - Understand how to solve predictive modelling competitions efficiently and learn which of the skills obtained can be applicable to real-world tasks. - Learn how to preprocess the data and generate new features from various sources such as text and images. - Be taught advanced feature engineering techniques like generating mean-encodings, using aggregated statistical measures or finding nearest neighbors as a means to improve your predictions. - Be able to form reliable cross validation methodologies that help you benchmark your solutions and avoid overfitting or underfitting when tested with unobserved (test) data. - Gain experience of analysing and interpreting the data. You will become aware of inconsistencies, high noise levels, errors and other data-related issues such as leakages and you will learn how to overcome them. - Acquire knowledge of different algorithms and learn how to efficiently tune their hyperparameters and achieve top performance. - Master the art of combining different machine learning models and learn how to ensemble. - Get exposed to past (winning) solutions and codes and learn how to read them. Disclaimer : This is not a machine learning online course in the general sense. This course will teach you how to get high-rank solutions against thousands of competitors with focus on practical usage of machine learning methods rather than the theoretical underpinnings behind them. Prerequisites: - Python: work with DataFrames in pandas, plot figures in matplotlib, import and train models from scikit-learn, XGBoost, LightGBM. - Machine Learning: basic understanding of linear models, K-NN, random forest, gradient boosting and neural networks. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Meilleurs avis

MS
28 mars 2018

Top Kagglers gently introduce one to Data Science Competitions. One will have a great chance to learn various tips and tricks and apply them in practice throughout the course. Highly recommended!

MM
9 nov. 2017

This course is fantastic. It's chock full of practical information that is presented clearly and concisely. I would like to thank the team for sharing their knowledge so generously.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 273 Avis pour How to Win a Data Science Competition: Learn from Top Kagglers

par Alexandr S

25 févr. 2018

It's tough to pass this course tasks and the course itself not 100% polished, but it makes it very interesting in the practical aspect - I learned more. Also, I believe lectors gave us a lot of very helpful material.

par Olaf W

10 mai 2018

Really liked the class. Didn't expect to learn a whole lot of new things, but they have some great tips and tricks here and there that I hadn't come across yet which made it worthwhile.

The content is well structured.

par Chris M

24 juil. 2019

This was one of the better online courses I've taken in Machine Learning. There is so much content in this course, and I've learned a lot from the exercises and working on the Predicting Future Sales competition.

par Hulot

17 févr. 2019

A must for every data scientist, the courses are amazing and you learn a lot a tips.

If you have just started data science, you’ll be able to follow the course but you may not understand all the underlying ideas

par Joseph B

18 avr. 2019

Very nice course and final project is actually challenging and a great learning experience when learner attempts to do it completely on their own without reading forums or looking at examples on Kaggle.

par robert

1 janv. 2019

Challenging in a fun way, puts things I've learnt before in a different perspective. Overall very practical knowledge with lots of use-cases and not much theory. it's like an awesome lab in grad school.

par venkata y

4 mai 2020

the best course i did on coursera. it was amazing to learn from the winners of previous competitions.

definitely not from starters. you need to decent background. it is climbing a hill from the get-go

par Javier C D

21 déc. 2021

V​ery interesting course, touching on a lot of topics. It is on the hard side, especially the final project, but it is worth it. I would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in the topic.

par Marat S

29 mars 2018

Top Kagglers gently introduce one to Data Science Competitions. One will have a great chance to learn various tips and tricks and apply them in practice throughout the course. Highly recommended!

par Tay J

29 déc. 2021

It was really hard and comprehensive course but I completed it. And now I can say for sure that I have more knowledge than before and this is the most important thing about it.

par Pc T

16 mars 2020

The course is really excellent way of teaching the exploratory data analysis and ensembling concepts, i hope i will start a new life with the knowledge gained by this course

par Charlie d T

5 août 2018

Clear and challenging at the same time, perfect!

I did quite a few courses on Coursera now (Specialisation in Data Science and Deep Learning and this one is clearly in my top

par Darya L

20 août 2018

The course is very interesting. All topics are clearly explained. Helped me a lot with data preprocessing, metrics, hyperparameters optimization and stacking. Thanks a lot!

par nicole s

17 avr. 2018

Finally an advanced and comprehensive course in data science! Straight to the point with an extremely useful guidance on how to apply and analyse predictive models!

par MASSON

11 mars 2019

Great course.

Even if some lessons may seem too theorical, it all comes together during the final project which pushes you to look back and apply what you learned.

par Роман С

12 mai 2021

Great Course! I would recommend it if you want to improve your skills in Data Science and know a lot of new techniques! It may seem hard if you are beginner in DS

par Anna N

7 mars 2018

Very interesting course, it really covers material you will find nowhere! It is very practical, interesting topics and assignments!

I like this course very much.

par Quan T

18 févr. 2018

This is a good course. There are lots of useful tips and tricks to get more predictive power from data and model. I feel more confident in competing on Kaggle

par Ilya E

27 avr. 2018

Very practical course for those who are already good at ML. Not academical, not beginner-level. Once you get used to Russian accent it goes really well :)

par Saulo M d M

4 nov. 2019

Great course! You will learn very advanced modeling techniques that are not only useful for data competitions but also real machine learning applications.

par Anthony I

31 déc. 2017

Great course not just for competing in Kaggle, but also for giving a deeper understanding towards other things in machine learning besides the algorithms

par Tomaso V

3 sept. 2020

the course was really interesting, the teachers told their experience, and described in detail the various methods with perfect clarity. thanks to all!

par jagannadha R b

17 oct. 2019

One of the best course with the top kagglers sharing their experience of solving the most complex data science problems. ! Thanks to Courseera !

Jagan

par samip t

1 janv. 2021

Provides a solid foundation to those who have basic knowledge of machine learning algorithms and are interested to participate in kaggle competition.

par Diego S d B

18 déc. 2019

Excellent. One of the best courses I've ever done! I hope the other courses on the specialization are as awesome as this one. Unique content!