Chevron Left
Retour à Comparaison de gènes, protéines et génomes (bioinformatique III)

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Comparaison de gènes, protéines et génomes (bioinformatique III) par Université de Californie à San Diego

4.7
95 notes
20 avis

À propos du cours

Once we have sequenced genomes in the previous course, we would like to compare them to determine how species have evolved and what makes them different. In the first half of the course, we will compare two short biological sequences, such as genes (i.e., short sequences of DNA) or proteins. We will encounter a powerful algorithmic tool called dynamic programming that will help us determine the number of mutations that have separated the two genes/proteins. In the second half of the course, we will "zoom out" to compare entire genomes, where we see large scale mutations called genome rearrangements, seismic events that have heaved around large blocks of DNA over millions of years of evolution. Looking at the human and mouse genomes, we will ask ourselves: just as earthquakes are much more likely to occur along fault lines, are there locations in our genome that are "fragile" and more susceptible to be broken as part of genome rearrangements? We will see how combinatorial algorithms will help us answer this question. Finally, you will learn how to apply popular bioinformatics software tools to solve problems in sequence alignment, including BLAST....

Meilleurs avis

AH

Aug 19, 2016

A very well taught course that gives you the ins and outs of sequence comparision and introduces chromosme rearrangement analysis in a succint manner. This was

ZX

Jul 21, 2019

In depth and comprehensive coverage of the topics in genetic data analysis.

Filtrer par :

1 - 20 sur 20 Examens pour Comparaison de gènes, protéines et génomes (bioinformatique III)

par Ricardo S

Nov 11, 2016

One of the most difficult courses so far, but working hard you made it.

par Ayaan H

Aug 19, 2016

A very well taught course that gives you the ins and outs of sequence comparision and introduces chromosme rearrangement analysis in a succint manner. This was

par Tobi F

Dec 25, 2016

Take your time, this course is harder than the others. Very worth it though, learned a lot and it was a lot of fun!

par chenhyde628

Dec 13, 2016

Good coursera.

par Simon O

May 24, 2018

One of the most challenging courses that I have done.

par Luis F R C

Nov 13, 2017

Very challenging but excellent walk through

par Paolo B

Nov 30, 2017

This course was harder than the previous one, I am happy to have made it to the end!

par Robert K

Oct 19, 2017

This was intensive, time-consuming, thought-provoking ... pleasure! I really enjoyed it, it took me more time than the schedule proposed, but it was worth it. I liked exploring things on my own, and tampering with the code/algorithms. This part of the course now assumes that you can think intelligently and will do so. Although this is a course in bioinformatics I often found myself laying on the bed with a piece of paper drawing graphs in order to fully grasp what I need to do so my code would be more efficient.

Excellent work! I'll start the next part now.

par José M P F

Aug 09, 2016

Muy bueno.

par Mohamed T

Jun 19, 2018

Excellent course

par Yulan W

Oct 02, 2016

this course is easy understandable and interesting for the beginners!

par Weidong X

Sep 18, 2016

a very good course!

par Hercules P N

Jun 22, 2017

I have taken courses I, II and III. They were consistently excellent. I plan to go for the next one.

par clearclouds

Sep 12, 2018

Good class

par Zack X

Jul 21, 2019

In depth and comprehensive coverage of the topics in genetic data analysis.

par Daniel D

Oct 24, 2019

It's simply astounding to see how clearly the authors managed to explain the concepts presented in the course (and in the entire series, for that matter). I always had a hunch that this was an excellent course, but only after reading other bioinformatics materials did it become clear to me how much effort the authors put into making this course the best that it can be.

My only criticism is that the peer reviewed final challenge doesn't work very well because there are not that many participants to do the peer reviews. It took me about 1 week to finish the course, including al programming challenges, and it's been 6 weeks since I am waiting to get my work graded. A better option would be to use an auto-grader.

par ZIHAN X

Apr 10, 2019

Some content in Stepik might be erroneous...

par Linbo Z

Jul 10, 2017

I think Week 4 and 5 should be explained more. Pseudo-code can be more detailed.

par Yudi,Tian

May 20, 2019

I think I will need some pseudocode in stepik interactive material to complete the code challenge. some part still too confused to me

par Christiane A

Aug 06, 2017

for me this was a very intresting courde where I learined a lot about the research behind genetics especially how difficult it is to interprete the experiemntal data. I also like the mathematical background in graph theory.

Not being a boilogist I miss some extra inforamtion about the biological relevance and would like more pratical exemples before doing the final challenge which I found rather diffucult: only after reviewing my peers I really startd to onderstand the challenge.

What I also miss is the community building aspect. Therre is a forum on every page but the comment are usually very old (3 of more years) so you can't expect to have a dialogue anymore. Problems reported years ago are sill open. I also woud like to know how many learners are currently following this course.