Chevron Left
Retour à Communication Strategies for a Virtual Age

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Communication Strategies for a Virtual Age par Université de Toronto

4.8
étoiles
3,766 évaluations
1,211 avis

À propos du cours

Communication has changed! The traditional rules for speaking and presenting, meeting coordination, influencing people, negotiating and selling ideas no longer apply in a world of skype, messenger, video and teleconference. This course will act as an overview on several concepts each of which could be a course of their own and our goal is to give you tools that you can practice and perfect on your own. By the end of this course, you will be able to: • Apply communication principles and techniques for in-person and virtual teams • Use a science based approach to create impactful presentations • Refine your communication style to better persuade and influence others • Run more effective and impactful meetings • Incorporate strategies to have positive difficult conversations and make people feel valued and listened to *** This course will require you to record yourself speaking. Therefore you must have a phone/computer with a functional camera and microphone.*** WHO SHOULD TAKE THIS COURSE? Anyone looking for professional and/or leadership development. This class mainly uses examples from the professional, business environment. If you are looking to advance at your current organization or to enhancing your personal value for potential employers this course is for you. WHAT MAKES THIS COURSE EFFECTIVE? Many educational experiences describe and explain, but in this course we will apply and demonstrate. We teach practical and proven concepts, show you how to apply them and give you opportunities to practice them in a safe and supportive environment. This course is full of opportunities to put the ideas presented into practice and test their effectiveness for yourself. WHY SHOULD YOU TAKE THIS COURSE? We will challenge the preconceived ideas about what it means to be part of a virtual team, and support you to be a dynamic team contributor no matter where you work. In this course you can expect to be both energized and uncomfortable – like in most experiences that result in positive growth and change! This course is offered through the University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies (https://learn.utoronto.ca/)....

Meilleurs avis

GP

12 août 2020

I love this course. It's broken down to simple bits which makes it easy to understand. I didn't like the polls that pop up in the videos but that's just a small thing compared to the value I received.

AT

9 juin 2020

Communication Strategies transformation is going to be the backbone of all organizations and the pandemic has simply accelerated this shift. This is a MUST course for everyone. 5Star's for this... :)

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 1,218 Avis pour Communication Strategies for a Virtual Age

par Michal M

7 août 2020

The title of this course is not so catchy *my first impression was that this will be about using Slack/MS-Teams/Discord...*; but fortunately after reading the syllabus I've gave it a shot - and WOW! it is so good, that I'd make it mandatory for literally everybody who 'Talks to other people' - yes, you are reading it right. What is mentioned here applies to all types of communication forms: including offline-person2person & virtual-presentations/meetings/... as well.

10/10 Quality Course!

par Shibli A K

1 juin 2020

One of the best courses I have taken online particularly because of the skills of the instructor. However at times, the structure and content are not in harmony with the title of the course. For example, the title suggest online (virtual) communication, but the last section focuses on traditional presentation.

An excellent course nevertheless.

par SUNY L J A

5 mai 2020

Lovely!! The speaking pace, the dynamics of the topics and the importance of topics have really left a mark in me. When I alternated to a different course and the material was way more dense, it was hard for me to keep the pace, as I´m already used to the rhythm of this course and its lessons.

par Shamim A

11 avr. 2020

The course is precise and to the point. Ivan is a great instructor, whose style of teaching in this course may even positively influence your own dialogue delivery. By the end of this course, you will have the tools/weapons to master communication both virtually and in reality.

par Abiral R B C

10 juil. 2020

Fantastic & terrific course. I very much enjoyed this course.

I highly recommend this course. The time spent in this course will be worth your investment.

Happy learning!

Thank you and respect to instructor Ivan for creating such a wonderful course.

par G10 O L

9 oct. 2021

Well-explained strategies and interactive lessons! Gained new insights and knowledge about the different kinds of communicators, how to deal with the specific communicators and strategies on how to make a good and lasting impression.

par Md A H

15 avr. 2020

The Journey was amazing i was never thought about that things that i have learned would beneficial. i truly must say if anyone wants to learn something must start with this.

par Lok M T

20 avr. 2020

This is the best presentation course I took, and it provides a comprehensive set of useful tips how to doing Ace in presentation at a business setting. Love it!

par Suseela D

12 mai 2020

An interesting and fun ride to the road of effective communication...…..all cheers !

par Satya P R

11 juil. 2021

​I wish I could have rated it 5 out of 5. But I want improvement in a few cases, to the likes of peer assignments and review of peer assignments. Coursera should conduct a TEST, where 60-70 % of questions can be of objective type while 30% should be subjective, needing detailed writing covering all the topics. Why is this way necessary?

Because many learners don't get a certificate as they are unable to find someone to review their assignments. Not all enrolled students are serious or complete the course and very few of them submit the assignments. So peer review is a big problem. Sometimes you review their work and keep requesting them but they don't offer any help. So Coursera should think about this.

par Hassan S

6 mai 2020

It was a great course and I enjoyed it. Here are a two suggestions for improvement. First, the final assignment should be designed as a webinar or online meeting because most virtual communications are in this format. Most people don't stand and present with 'belly button rule' when they are communicating online. They are on their desk and sharing screens. Second, there should be less video footage of the speaker and more practice assignments for each module instead of simple MCQ quizzes.

par Lee A

11 mai 2021

This course was very beneficial and had very effective techniques that enhance communication in virtual environments. It has a more complicated final assignment than most Coursera homework. It definitely required more time to complete, but I think it was worthwhile and beneficial.

par Mustafa M

2 juin 2020

too long and the peer is very hard , i don't know why would i have to make such peer in order to get my certificate , however i finished the course , i will not mke the peer . Certificate can remain .. :)

par Dharmesh R

20 août 2020

It was very well explained, presented. A great work done by Ivan. The way he used smile, aha moment, topics presented into small videos , explaining each topic/goal was excellent.

par Sanal H V

30 août 2020

Assignment ratings are very subjective. Like other courses on Coursera, in this course too, the peer reviews should have been among at-least three members

par Wade M

8 juin 2020

Felt like we were largely just learning strategies to manipulate people into doing what we want.

par Noor A

23 août 2021

The course description/title was a bit misleading. I was expecting the course to be more theoretical with concrete examples of communication strategies that can be adapted and used in a digital age (e.g. how to enhance engagement across digital platforms). The course mainly touched on the psychology of communication and the different styles of communication, which may or may not be adapted to the virtual age but it definitely did not focus on the virtual age itself.

par Roshni S I

26 août 2020

If you're interesting in learning to communicate well virtually and in person, this course is a must-do. Ivan, who teaches the course, makes sure that the lessons are never dull. There are live examples. There are visual cues and little quizzes (easy to do) to help recall. The lessons teach us stuff that one can start using right away - they're critical to being a successful communicator. They cover different aspects (meetings, presentations, understanding motivations, communication styles and many more topics) and interesting, highly effective strategies for all of these.

I love how Ivan would constantly address issues both in the real world and the virtual world and teach strategies that work for each of these settings. The assignments are well-designed, especially the final assignment which really challenged me and made me look back at and apply everything I'd learnt over the past few weeks. Thank you, Ivan, for a phenomenal learning experience!

par Maria K

1 août 2019

This was an a very useful introductory lesson for learners working in business or educational field about developing core communicational skills in any professional environment.New basic strategies for communication were taught including necessary techniques for attracting audience's attention and curiosity as well as effective methods for organising groupwork and enhancing team members' interaction. The course was delivered in a dynamic and challenging way by an experienced and highly skilfull professor.The communication with professor for solving issues during the course was prompt and helpful while the professor was very suppotive.I would strongly recommend this lesson to anyone desiring to acquire fundamental communication skills in person and virtually in any scientific field!

par Dumebi A

16 août 2020

This is one of the best courses I have had on Coursera. I learnt a lot of communication and presentation skills. If you take this course, you would learn how to deliver mind blowing presentations, how to have effective meetings without time wasting, the best ways to have difficult conversations with different categories of colleagues and a whole lot of other communication strategies. Trust me, it works because I have tried it. The additional materials were also very enlightening.

The course requires learners to upload a youtube video of self. You can check out mine on my youtube channel. The video is titled 'Stop procrastinating, just do it now!'

par Jayzel F R G

9 sept. 2020

This online course has been helpful to me because I’m fresh graduate and licensed teacher. I’ve been thankful for this, it widen my knowledge. I hope University of Toronto will grant my hope to be one of them because, i’ve been dreaming of working abroad. Anyway, thank you so much especially Mr. Ivan who discussed, explained the topics, i’ve learned so much sir. I hope we get to meet soon to say Thank you to you personally. This online course, this is my new another success in life Thank you for granting it, I hope I can Go there at Canada, soon. Continue to help, expand knowledge University of Toronto. Thank you so much & God bless.

par Jacob N

12 mars 2021

I came into this class with very low expectations, both of the subject and what the goals were. But I was very much proven wrong and this is among the most useful classes I have ever taken on Coursera.

This isn't really a class on Communications in the academic sense. I took one of those on Coursera and it was not exactly useful or engaging. This is a class on how to get your point across and get people to do what you want. And it is obvious that the lecturer uses the techniques he is teaching in order to better get them across to others.

I am going to retake this class once I finish, just to refresh the information.

par Christopher P O

20 juil. 2020

This was my second Coursera course and was signficantly more enjoyable than the first. The initial course I took contained good information but this course lecturer practices what he preaches. These presentations/lectures were engaging and full of valuable insights on how to make better virtual presentations that are memorable and how to present them so your listeners will remember the information (at least your main point!). I highly recommend this course for anyone that wants to gain a better understanding of the psychology behind better presentations and tips to improve your presenting skills.

par Varsha V

18 avr. 2021

It was an amazing experience. I am proud of my decision to join this course. This course enabled me to improve my communication skills both in virtual and real world.

Also this course helped me learn many new skills, about making great presentations, how to talk in an effective way, how to attract the audience attention and to present my topic in the best way possible ever!

I am grateful to coursera for including this course in the list and to Ivan Sir for being such an amazing teacher, instructor and leading us through the course with enthusiasm and making awesome contents. Thank you Sir.

par Susanne M

3 nov. 2020

This is a very hands on course, immediately applicable in daily life. Whether you are a high level manager or a student, communication travels far and can make or break (work) relationships. it gives you tools, suggestions and opportunities to review what works when presenting, engaging or convincing teams.

Note it doesn't have sheets and is mostly explained which is done in a highly engaging way. Just watching Ruiz explain and take on different hats is already a benefit for yourself.

Recommended for anyone who wants to leave an impression, do better at negotiation or close a deal.