Chevron Left
Retour à Managing Big Data in Clusters and Cloud Storage

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Managing Big Data in Clusters and Cloud Storage par Cloudera

4.7
étoiles
112 évaluations
26 avis

À propos du cours

In this course, you'll learn how to manage big datasets, how to load them into clusters and cloud storage, and how to apply structure to the data so that you can run queries on it using distributed SQL engines like Apache Hive and Apache Impala. You’ll learn how to choose the right data types, storage systems, and file formats based on which tools you’ll use and what performance you need. By the end of the course, you will be able to • use different tools to browse existing databases and tables in big data systems; • use different tools to explore files in distributed big data filesystems and cloud storage; • create and manage big data databases and tables using Apache Hive and Apache Impala; and • describe and choose among different data types and file formats for big data systems. To use the hands-on environment for this course, you need to download and install a virtual machine and the software on which to run it. Before continuing, be sure that you have access to a computer that meets the following hardware and software requirements: • Windows, macOS, or Linux operating system (iPads and Android tablets will not work) • 64-bit operating system (32-bit operating systems will not work) • 8 GB RAM or more • 25GB free disk space or more • Intel VT-x or AMD-V virtualization support enabled (on Mac computers with Intel processors, this is always enabled; on Windows and Linux computers, you might need to enable it in the BIOS) • For Windows XP computers only: You must have an unzip utility such as 7-Zip or WinZip installed (Windows XP’s built-in unzip utility will not work)...

Meilleurs avis

SY

Mar 01, 2020

This is Very good course for a beginners, it gives you lots of exercises to practice in vm and course material is Really really good but only thing is you have to read a lot ,

AM

Dec 16, 2019

It would have been nice if videos would have been present instead of reading. Also a more deep diving would have been done in concepts like bucketing and indexing.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 27 Avis pour Managing Big Data in Clusters and Cloud Storage

par Fabiola S

Jan 05, 2020

Coursera Team,

This course has been the absolute best experience I have had with online learning. I've taken other courses on Coursera but this course is exemplary because of it structure, focus, and skilled instructors.

Each course is well organized and stays on topic. However, if there are any related topics students should explore, the instructors have provided links for students to have a semi-guided self-taught journey on their own time. Other courses don't do that.

The focused lessons keep data neophytes like myself feel less overwhelmed by the information taught in the course. Modern Big Data Analysis using SQL is a very broad yet important topic. However, the instructors on this course really ameliorate that overwhelming feeling with clear and focused lectures.

The instructors come across as not only subject matter experts but as seasoned teaching professionals. They can explain the concepts in the courses in a clear and succinct manner without oversimplifying. Other instructors on Coursera, while skilled in their field, don't have the teaching finesse as Ian and Glynn do. If more courses on Coursera were taught by Ian and Glynn and others like them, I would pursue even more studies with Coursera.

I hope this feedback is heard.

P.S. - please release the Advanced SQL Course, I'm eager to pursue that.

Thank you,

Fabiola

par Hemanth G

Aug 15, 2019

While the courses covers a lot of relevant and useful topics, it relies too much on the reading material. I would have liked more videos than reading material. My sense is that it would have allowed the instructors to delve deeper and also helps students understand better.

.

par Muller H

Sep 27, 2019

Personally, I prefer video

Too much reading material

But overall, it is still good course, try to cover all the things we should know

par Shahab a s

Jan 02, 2020

I enjoyed course 1 and course 2 better. This course was cramming a lot of information. I enjoy studying through video lessons. This course lacked many video lessons.

par Abhilash M

Dec 16, 2019

It would have been nice if videos would have been present instead of reading. Also a more deep diving would have been done in concepts like bucketing and indexing.

par yavuz k

Oct 04, 2019

Unlike the previous two courses in the speacialization, in this course involves more reading and video lessons.

par Saras A

Aug 03, 2020

Good course with lots of info, mostly higher level, for HIVE, IMPALA and interactions with HDFS, and cool "honors" (a little advanced) material. Complex Data Types were cool. I wonder if there any python interaction with Complex Data types (Arrays, and Dictionary equivalents) that would make sense with Hive (Just curious).

All course structure, and content was well thought out for a online course. And best of all both of them spoke clear English and very good delivery.

I am also very happy they covered Amazon S3. I already have much SQL background so it was a bit faster for me. Good, fun course!

par Shrinidhi A V

Jun 25, 2020

Amazing course. Both instructors have motivated me to learn more and utilize this platform more than I did ever before. I would like to have some more courses under them. I would like to implement the skills that I learnt in this course in some project. Thank you to my instructors, peers and the reviewing staff who made my learning experience better. I will recommend others to take up this course to dive into the field of Big data.

par Nisar H

Apr 30, 2020

It is a highly valueable course which nicely elabortes the essential skills of data management and analytics. Particularly, I appreciate the teaching methodologies and skills of the instructors. Really impressed and benefited from the knowledege of the instructors.

par Saikumar Y

Mar 01, 2020

This is Very good course for a beginners, it gives you lots of exercises to practice in vm and course material is Really really good but only thing is you have to read a lot ,

par Andriy Z

May 04, 2020

Although more reading than video, I found readings to be more convenient when you need to get back to a particular lesson and recap something.

par Mohammad A

Apr 14, 2020

This is one of the systematic specializations which makes the harder and otherwise overwhelming subject so easy to navigate, follow and learn.

par Carlos M

Mar 14, 2020

Great course, it would be great to have the Analysis course yo implement All the learned in the previous ones!

par Cheikh B

Mar 19, 2020

This is a very good course if you want to understand how big data works and how to use big data in clusters

par alexander n

Apr 16, 2020

This is one of the best courses I've attended on Coursera! Kudos to the course organizers and instructors.

par Shrikant R S

Aug 03, 2020

The courses provided in this specialization are very good and gave more than expectations.

par Gregory K

Feb 10, 2020

Very good material and the labs using the VM are wonderful hands-on experience.

par Minh N

Aug 08, 2020

Absolutely amazing! Have learnt a lot from this course!

par Bechir B D

Mar 23, 2020

A very high educational level

par Hamza a

Jan 15, 2020

Very good course

par Jose M N F

Dec 13, 2019

Excellent course

par Nyam-Ochir B

Dec 06, 2019

Nice course

par ITHA A K

Jun 06, 2020

Excellent

par NAMITA S

May 23, 2020

Nice

par Tichaona M

Mar 05, 2020

Great practical applications learned in this course-this course is demanding but I loved it!