Chevron Left
Retour à Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1 par Université de l'Illinois à Urbana-Champaign

4.4
étoiles
914 évaluations
228 avis

À propos du cours

Cloud computing systems today, whether open-source or used inside companies, are built using a common set of core techniques, algorithms, and design philosophies – all centered around distributed systems. Learn about such fundamental distributed computing "concepts" for cloud computing. Some of these concepts include: clouds, MapReduce, key-value/NoSQL stores, classical distributed algorithms, widely-used distributed algorithms, scalability, trending areas, and much, much more! Know how these systems work from the inside out. Get your hands dirty using these concepts with provided homework exercises. In the programming assignments, implement some of these concepts in template code (programs) provided in the C++ programming language. Prior experience with C++ is required. The course also features interviews with leading researchers and managers, from both industry and academia....

Meilleurs avis

VT

Aug 22, 2016

Very useful course. It built my Cloud Computing basis from scratch. Fisrt course gives me the enthusiasm to start the later ones. A good place for studying and sharing with course mates. Thank you!

MR

Jul 16, 2017

Great course, I would recommend to everyone who wants to understand the basics of cloud computing. The course material is excellent, the instructor Indy is phenomenal and the exams are marvelous.

Filtrer par :

126 - 150 sur 220 Avis pour Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1

par praveenprakalanathan

Aug 01, 2017

it's very great

par Vivek S

Mar 25, 2020

Great course

par Damien G P

Sep 20, 2016

Good course!

par Danielle C

Jul 03, 2016

mi favorita

par Arun P

Dec 09, 2019

Great!!!

par Gregory A W

Sep 29, 2017

Loved it

par vamsi v m

Oct 31, 2016

The best

par Dimas F

Jul 25, 2017

so cool

par Aniketh

Dec 22, 2019

Good

par Methaq S

Jun 17, 2018

good

par Felipe R P

May 04, 2017

V

par Luca P

Aug 27, 2020

Very interesting courses and topics. The course has nothing to envy to normal university courses and it is indeed a university course (from the online CS degree from U of I). I am really glad that this material is available to the public. Few points on which the course can be improved:

* On the slides there are different notations and formats that are used. Making all of them uniform would help better in the understanding of the contents.

* When providing topics and algorithm, please also provide also actual examples and explanation of what kind of problems we are trying to solve. For example it is not clear what problem we are trying to solve with the Multicast Problem, since some time ordering algorithm seems more appropriate.

* The code in the programming assignment is terrible. It needs a serious review. It is supposed to be C++ code, but in reality it uses many of the C-style programming paradigm that are very outdated. Also all the creation/handling of raw pointers are completely wrong, many times a simple reference could be used. Encoding messages have never been more complicated, like JSON or BER encoding never existed. You should thrive for improving the code quality so that students can have a good example of a very well written code.

par Anton M

Jun 07, 2020

It's hard to love this course. It deserves 3 stars, but as truly unique which gives you some in-depth understanding of how does cloud computing works underhood, I'm giving it 4 stars.

Pros:

-> Unique content about cloud computing internals

-> Really hard programming assignment. It includes local grader, so you're not that blind in how you work is graded on coursera side. It's a good way to use this grader to mark you progress.

-> Broad coverage of topics

Cons:

-> The programming assignment. It's not that hard as an exercise itself to learn gossip protocol, but the cumbersome C++ code written in C style can get you nuts. There are only one assignment about one particular topic, presumably to be done across all 5 weeks step by step. I did it at second week and once completed, i was pushed myself to complete the course after, I would prefer to have small medium difficulty exercises on each week subject.

-> Explanations and proofs. Some topics are poorly covered, most of the time you'll hear only sketch or overview of proof without going into details. Many times lector just say something like "you can figure this out by yourself". Only pseduo code will be shown (except Hadoop examples copy-pasted from official docs)

par David S

Mar 04, 2017

Overall I really enjoyed this course, and I think I learned a lot, so thank you!

However I think there were some things that could be improved.

Firstly the quality of the code provided for the programming assignment was very low. It contains a lot of things that are far from modern c++ best-practices (e.g. using raw arrays instead of std::vector, mixing malloc and new, using new where there is no reason to use it, using raw pointers when references would be fine, missing consts, macros, ...). There were also some relatively minor bugs: the first log message doesn't print with the correct prefix, and the grading script as provided doesn't run (IIRC it was because the #! isn't on the first line). Since this course could be some people's first introduction to C++ I feel that it's important to set a good example, and to keep the code simple and safe.

Secondly the symbols used for things were often inconsistent between slides, which was occasionally confusing but should be easy to fix.

Despite these issues I still think this is a great course, it just could be a little bit better.

par Lucas L C

Jul 21, 2020

While I understand that C++ had EmulNet, which must have been pretty handy when designing the assignment, it's really far from ideal to learn this sort of thing with such a low abstraction level language. I would have very much preferred to spend my time learning the algorithms more deeply, but I actually spent most of it remembering pointer arithmetic and memory management.

What I'm saying is C++ is fine, but it would have been better if we could use a language on which we can actually focus on the logic (which is not simple to start with), not data representation, memory management and what not.

Other than that, I loved the lectures. The examples are a bit outdated, but the concepts are solid, which is what really matters. Thank you very much!

par Austin Z

Dec 21, 2018

The content of this course is great and the video lectures are of good quality. If you are looking for a university quality distributed systems course this is the best course i've found. Where this course lacks is in the outdated and tedious programming project and some quiz's that have questions not covered in lecture. The programming project will have you using c-style c++ code so be prepared. It has inconsistent use of data structures and types in its template code that you cannot modify and you will spent a significant amount of time doing memcpy to encode and decode data for char buffers. The quiz's have questions not covered in lecture like Chandy-Lamport questions around process state recordings. BEWARE THIS IS NOT A COURSE FOR BEGINNERS

par Dheeraj R

Jul 23, 2018

The coverage is good and there is a clear linkage of the concepts included in the beginning with the rest of the contents as they flow in - not just throughout this course, but also for the entire specialization. It would really help if the instructor would speak a little slowly (a bunch of words get garbled) and if the slides have lesser content (have more slides and redesign). That way, the instructor might not feel forced to talk so much per slide and the listening might be a little easy on the ear.

However, that does not take anything away from how that content is organized - that is good and takes you the flow rather well.

par Svilen S

Aug 25, 2019

I generally like the course because it expanded my horizon and taught me new concepts which are important in my work. However I think the presentation can be improved. I also miss a more in-depth comparison between the various related concepts. The programming assignment is not designed in the most test-friendly way. It contains some snippets that are half-baked and unclear instructions to provide the missing code. It required some reverse engineering to understand the template code. This can be seen by some as a fair requirement but I expected a more structured and unambiguous approach.

par Quan Z

May 14, 2017

1. Need more tutors to answer the question

Some of the questions in the quiz are badly written and some of us did not understand and tried to ask. And almost no one responds the questions in the "discussion forum" when you reach the end of the course.

2. C++ project assignment

The project claims to use C++, but mixed the C and C++ and doesn't follow C++ best practices. It is very bad for people who have to learn C++ to finish this project since they will get confused by plenty of C code in C++.

par Chuxing C

Aug 25, 2016

I enjoyed the contents and homeworks. Overall the delivery was very good, and I have grasped a lot.

The main reason that I won't give 5 stars is the program assignment. I have spent and wasted 3 weeks to work on the tools, yes, tools, not the subject matter. Course should clearly indicate that the assignment only works in Linux/UNIX environment, and need to further test the scripts in most popular Linux OS platforms, different c++ versions, and different python versions.

par Rafael L F S

Jun 08, 2018

I think the course content is very rich and useful. The topics are well explained and have examples. I'm really happy with the course content. The only part of the course I think it needs to be improved is the programming assignment. I think there should be more options of languages, like Java, for example. And the C++ code should be reviewed because it's very confusing and those who don't have familiarity with C++ will certainly have difficulty.

par Michał M

Apr 02, 2017

Very interesting course if you want to learn about inner workings of distributed systems. Lecturer was very knowledgeable and provided good examples. Exams and quizes were pretty challenging and fun. I love that there was a practical programming assignment. I would only suggest to tweak the template for programming assignment as it was a little bit limiting. And maybe allowing for different programming languages other than C++.

par Joshua S

Oct 15, 2017

A solid introduction into the field of distributed systems. I especially liked the material on distributed hashing. The Quiz questions, in particular section 5 could use a bit of clarification, as I sometimes found it difficult to understand exactly what was being asked. That said the lecture slides, and organization of the material was quite good, and I recommend the course.

par Coherence

Aug 17, 2020

Actually I wanna give it 3.5 star. This course is released a few years ago so it might not be maintained very well. Also the assignments are a bit of uncovered by the slides. The code assignment is not well code styled. The c code are integreted with c++ which makes me feel not good.

par gaurav

Dec 27, 2018

It was a good course for the start. The concepts were taught with ease examples were there for more understanding. The programming assignment could be made more finesse, as there was a lot of issue like windows incompatibility, 64 bit incompatibility, memcpy passing vector in ENSend.