Chevron Left
Retour à Terminologie clinique pour étudiants étrangers et américains

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Terminologie clinique pour étudiants étrangers et américains par Université de Pittsburgh

4.8
stars
554 évaluations
167 avis

À propos du cours

Understanding the clinical terms and abbreviations commonly used during verbal or written communication in U.S. hospitals is challenging. This course is designed for U.S. health care profession students and for international students and practitioners who want to become more familiar with the language of the U.S. clinical setting. Others, such as caregivers and medical interpreters, who wish to develop a better understanding of terms and abbreviations used by health care providers will find this course helpful. The course provides visual and auditory learning experiences to enhance the understanding of terms and abbreviations commonly encountered on a general U.S. hospital unit. All content including quizzes are available at no cost to the learner. If you need a certificate, you can apply for financial aid or pay the fee. To find out more, click Learn more and apply next to the information about Financial Aid. (Use a computer, not a mobile device, for this step.)...

Meilleurs avis

FB

Jan 02, 2018

This course was really helpful. I took notes and will review them often to keep abreast with the medical terms. These will also help me communicate clinically with my PCP. I truly enjoyed this course!

ER

Apr 16, 2019

The instructor's calm and clear explanations make this a joy to watch.\n\nThis course is very useful for me as a medical product translator to get an understanding of the actual clinical environment.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 167 Avis pour Terminologie clinique pour étudiants étrangers et américains

par Cristina S

Aug 13, 2019

It was a pleasure to take this course. I've learned that it is very important to understand the context in which an interaction occurs, I have improved my clinical language skills and now I can understand and use the abbreviations related to patient care, treatment, diagnosis.

As you've said, positive experience builds confidence! That is how I feel now! Thank you for this opportunity!

par Charliemagne B

Apr 05, 2019

This course is highly recommended not only for the beginner-medical students but also for the people who are non-medical student like me who has a husband currently on chemo therapy every other week for 6 months (ends on May 2019). I am now more familiar and knowledgeable enough with the clinical terms, mobile equipment, laboratory tests, diseases, understanding the abbreviations and route of administration and with the aid of Clinical Terminology Dictionary for Beginning

International and U.S. Health Care Providers and the Nursing Simulation Scenario Library,

that made me easy to comprehend with the course. Thank you Valerie Swigart, PhD, RN, CRNP and her team and thanks to University of Pittsburg!

par Amruta V V

Dec 13, 2018

Its really useful. I have learn many new abbreviations that I was not aware of. It's nice to have this course done.

par Omnia M

Oct 23, 2018

Great

par Gita E

Jun 16, 2019

While interning at UPMC Susquehanna Muncy for the summer, this course really helped me understand what was happening in the ER at any given moment. Even though not all of the terms were used, it was helpful to know when they'd be used and under what context.

I'm not a student at University of Pittsburgh, but I definitely recommend this course to anyone who wants to get more acquainted with medical terminology. The course is still worth the effort because even though I didn't buy a certificate, I feel more confident working in the ER than before. Plus, I was able to finish the course in 3.5 weeks, not 6.

The course is very manageable and definitely a great place for beginners to start.

par Marijeimi M

Apr 10, 2017

I have been trying to get a job at largest hospital here in PA. I went through an interview process and I let the parties involved know that I was taking a course on medical terminology from PITT. I believe this was a plus and I would like to thank you for such a wonderful course. It was very challenging since I am not familiarized with the healthcare vocabulary but you guys made it easy with the many resources that were provided. I had fun and spent lots of time researching the internet as well.

The good news is I got the job and I finished the course just in time because I will be starting my new job soon. Thank you Mrs. Swigart and Mr. Gold.

par Pierre R L

Aug 25, 2019

For the six weeks of class by Dr.Valerie Swigart along with Michael Gold & Zhang Liang, I have learned a lot regarding Medical Terminology. It was a great experience for me and I hope everyone enjoyed that class. Kudos to Dr. Valerie Swigart for her great desire to teach US and International Students during the six weeks. I do appreciate your method and people will continue learning from you. God bless you. Pierre R Lafond

par Rafael V d S C

Sep 25, 2019

It was a great opportunity to learn the basics on Clinical Terminology and really helped me through a clinical experience I had the chance to do after completing the course! It allowed me to have the first and important contact with most terms and abbreviations commonly used in different scenarios of healthcare professions. Great course instructors, easy to read and comprehensible materials. Highly recommendable.

par Yasmin S

Apr 21, 2019

This was a wonderful course which I will recommend to others. As a non-health care professional already familiar with some medical terminology, I learnt many new terms and clinical scenarios, while reinforcing and expanding on what I already knew. I also appreciated the resources that came with the course and I will be utilizing them in the future. Thanks to Coursera and their partners for this excellent course!

par josue v g

Mar 09, 2018

I am an IMG and recommend this course as preparation if you are going to do an observership, and English is your 2nd or 3rd language. s you may know all the medical stuff, but abbreviations are indeed a big part of the US clinical setting.

I also recommend the list of medical abbreviations published on ECFMG web page; I leave you the link https://www.ecfmg.org/echo/resources.html

par valerie s

Aug 18, 2017

Fabulous course. Emphasizes real clinical talk. Lots of audio. Clinical cases were so interesting and felt like a real patient experiences. The mini lectures focused on medical terminology are short and to the point. I am already using the PRS list as I am studying anatomy and physiology. This is a must for every nursing student about to start clinical.

par Epitacia C

Jul 04, 2018

Greetings from Colombia.This is a very good course. I learned a lot of medical terminology in English. The topics that correspond to the doctor were hard for me. Those that correspond to the nursing staff were very easy, because that is what I know how to do. Many thanks to the University of Pennsylvania for offering this free course to us.

par Maria A b

Apr 18, 2019

This course is very well organized in six weeks, the information learnt over these weeks was completely useful and rewarding for the student to acquire. The videos and activities were helpful to picture all the ideas and contents studied during the course. I'm very glad to have participated in this course. Thank you very much.

par Nathan E M

Oct 16, 2018

Very good course for learning how to speak with medical terms. I have had no real training in the health care field, but I work at a hospital and I want to get ahead in the administrative side of health care. This was a great course for the person taking his first health care baby steps. Next step is Intro to Human Anatomy.

par Shaburova N

Oct 13, 2017

The most interesting and useful course I have compleated so far! Now I can easily read medical notes and records, decypher some of analysis. Overall the course give you the perfect understanding of the main medical terms and diseases. Highly recomend!Thank you, dear teachers!

par Phillycia B

Oct 20, 2017

This course was a bit challenging but very informative. The experience and knowledge i have gained while doing this course is way beyond what i could have ever imagine. I must extend thanks to my lectures,and all who have aided in this course being a successful one for me.

par Masami Y

Jan 13, 2020

I appreciate very much for this course - I can review my knowledge with my own pace, and the exercises are very helpful for actual settings. This course is very helpful not only for students who would like to be an M.D. but also for any professionals working in a hospital.

par 朱婕

May 02, 2017

it is so an amazing and excellent course! i am honor to have the chance to learn this course. it is interesting and practical. it enriches my life. i am from China. it provides a new access to learn RN. i will always recommend this course to my friends and colleagues.

par Ricardo A B

Aug 31, 2017

Extremely useful to international students interested in healthcare in the U.S. and a nice review to U.S. students already employed in a clinical setting. Thank you for the time dedicated to assembling this course, especially the audio files recorded.

par Monica S

Nov 04, 2018

Medical terminology is the standardized means of communication within the healthcare industry. The importance of fluency in medical terminology, which applies to all hospital personnel, including allied healthcare professionals, cannot be overstated.

par Nguyễn V Q N

Dec 06, 2019

thank you your course! I have learnt huge amounts of mediacal terminology to apply for my career. it is also the motivation for me to continue to try to study and find more medical materials to improve my skills, and cure my illness people

par Dat T

Jul 24, 2019

Dear Teachers,

First of all, I'd like to appreciate it for your contributions. Even though I was struggling with it but finally I did it already. One of the most motivation is because your lesson is really useful, exciting. Thank a lot.

par Renelus P M

Apr 17, 2019

My name is Renelus I want to say you thank you for the classes. I am very satisfy honestly I learned so lots it was wonderful even sometimes hard but at the end I got success, I am proud of me . Might God bless you and Thank you again.

par Dang T V

Sep 15, 2019

This course is really helpful for my job. I have learned a lot of practical terminologies related to my practice in the hospital. Thank you so much the University of Pittsburgh for creating this course for students like us.

par Cheri R D

Dec 01, 2019

I was expecting to be drilled on a lot of new words but instead I learned them more naturally by seeing and hearing them in the context of the clinical field. I learned about clinical workflows along with terminology.