Chevron Left
Retour à Climate Change Mitigation in Developing Countries

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Climate Change Mitigation in Developing Countries par Université du Cap

4.7
étoiles
450 évaluations
150 avis

À propos du cours

This course challenges you to consider how one might lift societies out of poverty while also mitigating greenhouse gas emissions. We explore the inherent complexity of developing country governments wanting to grow their economies in a climate friendly way. You will be introduced to an approach with which to address this challenge. The approach consists of a facilitated process whereby academic researchers and high-level influential actors within society co-produce knowledge. You will track this process in four Latin American countries - Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Peru, and South Africa. You will hear from various professionals about their contexts and the different challenges and opportunities the process includes. This course will cover topics such as facilitation process techniques, energy modeling, scenario building, innovation and policy making. You will have the opportunity to respond to these topics with ideas and reflection from your own context. Whether you are a climate change practitioner, work in development or are simply curious about how climate mitigation is understood, this course will give you insights into the complexity of how countries from the South pursue development goals while addressing climate mitigation. The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion, which you become eligible for if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

Meilleurs avis

MG

3 oct. 2016

Super-awesome course that taught me about the super-wicked problem of our time and how to effectively achieve climate change mitigation and development objectives from developing countries context

CO

9 nov. 2017

The course has been very insightful to me as a climate change scientist. It has been very detailed and it has given me input that from a perspective that i had not thought of before. Thank you.

Filtrer par :

126 - 150 sur 151 Avis pour Climate Change Mitigation in Developing Countries

par Faith C C

8 janv. 2022

It was my first but certainly will not be my last course. So grateful to Harald and the entire MAPS team for taking time out of their busy schedule to share their knowledge and skills with us! It was informative and well presented throughout. I especially appreciated ng able to interact with my peers as we would in a classroom.. Fantastic!

par Josaia U

1 avr. 2019

This course puts into perspective the correlation between the co-production of knowledge, innovation, technology, community towards the development and establishment of a country's policy towards climate change and its effect on developments. I definitely have learnt a lot from other context especially other developing countries.

par Hiba J J J

14 juil. 2016

It explains the issue of how developing countries are facing climate change and on that aspect it presents the information not only the way they deal with it but the obstacles they encounter in the process. It also introduced very interesting concepts that could be used outside of this course.

par Livia W

10 juil. 2021

W​hat I particularly liked were the essays we wrote, as wording a write-up on a specific topic brings the relevant topic this way much closer.

W​hat I would have liked more that there are presentation materials, that can be saved and later re-read. Unfortunately there were none.

par Arjun P

3 nov. 2021

I find the course very useful to those who are working in climate change field. Topics and the processes included in the course will help provide a guide to the students, bureaucrats and development practitioners engaged in environmental management and climate change.

par Crystal H G

14 juin 2021

Este curso me ayudo a comprender de una mejor manera como podemos reducir la huella de carbono en diferentes aspectos sociales y personales.

This course helped me to better understand how we can reduce our carbon footprint in different social and personal aspects.

par Carlos E M R

5 juil. 2017

Es un gran curso para comprender los retos que enfrentamos para lograr mitigar el cambio climático, así mismo brinda una visión de las herramientas necesarias para lograr una mayor divulgación de conocimientos relacionados con el tema.

par Sroeurng L

14 juin 2016

If people can mitigation a climate change the world will be solve the problems . I hope this course can make me clear about climate change in the world . why's climate change ? what's the problems ?

par SANJEEV K K

3 sept. 2021

Thank you for the course. In order to improve it further I suggest- 1. Session wise summary of the lectures 2. To keep sessions in flow . These help in better grasping and minimize the redundancy

par Sreelatha V

3 sept. 2019

Very practical course that explains the ground-level reality about climate change and how research organizations cope with government, society and industries to get policies implemented.

par Andre D

20 juil. 2020

I learned a lot! What prevent me from giving 5 stars is that the last data mentioned are from 2017 and we are now, 3 years later, in a deeply changed world....

par Carlos R C G

22 déc. 2020

Excellent course, however this needs more practical videos like activities in the field that is why I only watch speakers explaining about the process.

par Juan M F L

1 juin 2022

Muy interesante!!!, me ayudó mucho para poder integrar conceptos y a generar ideas acerca de la mitigación climática

par Bla Y A

27 mai 2021

r​eally interesting course, i learned so much. I feel much more equipped to work in a climate change related field

par Martins O

6 juin 2017

It bridged the gap between conceptions about adverse effect of climate change and practical mitigation.

par Fébé P

21 juil. 2019

Course very useful for an introduction to climate change issues and policy.

par Zumrad S

28 juil. 2020

Gives a good idea of what is MAPS through various country experiences.

par Rahul W

4 avr. 2022

EXTREMELY ENRICHING AND WONDERFUL COURSE TO LEARN .

par Katya V C S

14 juil. 2021

Interesting

par HIMANSHU K S

6 août 2020

good

par Edyth M

15 févr. 2018

G

par Legakwa M

18 juin 2016

g

par Grace A M R

15 févr. 2016

Sugiero que las clases sean mas visuales, es decir que puedan tener mayor contenido visual, ya que es bueno escuchar las experiencias, pero hay escasas presentaciones y videos, lo cual haría mas ameno el curso

par Lucía V I

8 oct. 2020

Their experience on MAPS is interesting to learn but the way of communicating with just interviews makes it tedious

par Adrien P

10 janv. 2021

Hello,

I would like to draw the attention to the fact that the title of the course is misleading. By readinf its title, one could reasonably infer, at least I do, that the course deals with how mitigation must be different between developed and devoloping countries as well as among developing courses, taking into account local contexts such as resources, sociall demands, different climates, etc.

Actually, the course is about a defining a "super-wiked" problem and the building different models scenarios. The authors of the course have implemented these tools in some developing countries but they could be applied just the same way in developed countries.

Best regards,

Adrien Poisson