Chevron Left
Retour à The Truth About Cats and Dogs

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The Truth About Cats and Dogs par Université d'Édimbourg

4.7
étoiles
774 évaluations
217 avis

À propos du cours

What is your cat revealing to you when she purrs? What is your dog expressing when he yawns or wags his tail? Understanding your cat and dog’s behaviour and the way they communicate with you, will enable you to better understand their needs and strengthen your relationship with them. This MOOC is divided into five topics, the appliance of science; behaviour and body language, senses and perception; challenges for the human-animal relationship, including pet problem behaviour; and how to improve the quality of life for cats and dogs in our care. At the start of the course we ask you to consider what you feel is important to your cat/dog and what your cat/dog means to you? We explore the world of cats and dogs and how our relationships with them vary around the world and have changed over time. We ask if we can really know what our animals are thinking or trying to communicate through their facial expressions and behaviours. From our beloved pets to street dogs, shelter dogs/cats and welfare challenges, we explore the world from their perspective and examine how their genetic make-up may influence their behavioural responses and choices. We dispel common behavioural myths by looking through a scientific lens, asking questions about the function and development of their behaviour.. We explore how their senses help them to interact with their world and how they communicate with each other and us! Finally, we ask whether we impose unrealistic expectations on our cats and dogs and how this affects their ability to live alongside us. We ask, what can we do to be more responsible pet owners and to ensure the welfare of all cats and dogs in society? This MOOC explores different scientifically validated methods that can help you to better understand your pet, to enrich their lives and help you to be a more educated and confident pet owner. We hope you enjoy the course!...

Meilleurs avis

MB

Dec 07, 2019

I am enjoying this course and am learning quite a bit. Behavior is one of my main interests as a trainer as I think understanding it helps to design training and living programs for the animal.

CN

Mar 04, 2018

This is a very informative, interesting and well prepared on-line course with lots of documentation that one can read later on in order to get more knowledgeable about dogs and cats. Thanks!

Filtrer par :

176 - 200 sur 212 Avis pour The Truth About Cats and Dogs

par Isabelle V

Jul 24, 2017

E

par Tammy P

Nov 14, 2018

I enjoyed this course. If I had any suggestions, it would be to have separate courses for Cats and Dogs as I think all of the topics covered can go into grave more detail. Especially behavioral traits. Ie) Why when you play fetch the dog hides with the ball or stick after retrieving it? Why does dogs like being crated? Why do some dogs have tails that are up in the air and some that never move and hang down? A class in First Aid and/or CPR would be great. Why do some dogs have allergies to chicken or turkey? Why do dogs eat less and/or tend to loose weight as they grown older. Is there any benefit to vitamins or Glucosamine Sulfate? Etc and etc. Anyhow, thank you for what you have provided.

par Mary O

Sep 14, 2018

,Thank you for the useful course. It provided me with valuable information about cat and dog behaviors and practical ideas for catering for my own cats. My experience with dogs is limited so it was a good opportunity to get some education on dogs. The only thing that I would have liked to see more of is a bit more focus on cat outdoor behavior, like how to train cats to take them for walks ( if possible) and whether it is a good idea or not, training cats to be more fearless. I just think that there was more focus on dogs in this area.

Thanks again for the excellent course!

par Ange R

Jun 11, 2017

A little stronger slant regarding dogs than cats, but still very educational about both. Great review of the basics as well as lots more details (and amazing resources) to learn a lot more! I'm a little embarrassed that I didn't know nearly as much about my cats as I thought I did when beginning this class. It's a fun and light course that provides solid information on exactly what it says: cats and dogs.

par Sam H

Oct 14, 2019

Overall the course was great. I gave it 4 stars because although I am not in the animal field, I do have quite the extensive knowledge. A lot presented I was already aware of but I did learn a few new things which is great. This course is great for anyone wishing to learn more about the common pets of dogs and cats and hopefully they can teach others.

par David S Y C

Oct 05, 2017

Good, I had not finished it and am excite of finish it, the only problem is the language because I don't know some words but equal is good and interesant,

Thanks Edimburg´s University and Coursera for giving this opportunity to increase our knowledge

par Douglas M

Jan 10, 2018

I enjoyed this course very much. It was very informative and I learned a great deal about how both cats and dogs behave and I have applied much of what I learned successfully to the way I handle my pet cat. Excellent and informative instructors.

par Timothy S

Jul 10, 2017

This course has a lot of information about cats and dogs. I learned a lot of different things in this course I didn't know about cats. I learned all about the three different 'areas' a cat has around the yard, why cats like

par Natalia V

Oct 10, 2017

I found it helpful, entertaining and easy to understand.

I would have loved to have found more information about cats (interaction, adaptation, health problems...) since information about dogs is much more widely spread.

par Laura L

Sep 26, 2019

Much of the information in this course is specific to either dogs or to cats. Since my interest is only in dogs, I would have liked to be able to skip the other.

par Luli

Dec 14, 2019

This course is good. now I know about the cats and dogs better. I know how I can take care of my Pets and what is the best things I can do for them.

par Dmytro O

Jan 06, 2020

Some links to additional materials are broken. Anyway, this is good course. Hope it will help me to keep my pet happy.

par Rene A P R

Sep 01, 2019

good design of the course. Former professionals and technicians involved good!!

sound of videos can be improve

par Ruba K O

Jan 29, 2020

I have learned a lot from this course. I hope to see more of MOOC with some specialisations for cats.

par Christian C

Oct 01, 2017

Very good basic overview of the best ways to socialize and best raise your cat or dog!

par Mary L B

Apr 17, 2018

This was a fun course, and my little dog and 2 cats hope that I learned something.

par Vyachaslav G

Sep 03, 2017

Nice. But I still think that there is a lot of extra info in this course

par DESMOND O

Dec 13, 2018

Very interesting course and well informed and enthusiastic tutors.

par Megan Y

Apr 30, 2017

This course was good. It was great to refresh knowledge.

par Maria L

Apr 25, 2017

Very good course, especially for the (new) pet owner!

par Richard K

May 26, 2017

Nice overview

par Anne b

Jun 26, 2018

Interesting

par Julio C N P

May 23, 2017

thanks

par HARSHIT S

Mar 19, 2018

i came here after putting aside my firm belief in the alpha theory as far the dogs are concerned, totally fresh minded, zero ground. And i have to say i do agree on a lot of things discussed here. I knew nothing about cats, so this was a largely beneficial course in that field. There is a lot of information in this course on the nature of cats (loved those portions). Dog portion of the course is good, but not the best. Thanks a bundle for this!