Chevron Left
Retour à The Truth About Cats and Dogs

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The Truth About Cats and Dogs par Université d'Édimbourg

4.8
étoiles
1,728 évaluations
502 avis

À propos du cours

What is your cat revealing to you when she purrs? What is your dog expressing when he yawns or wags his tail? Understanding your cat and dog’s behaviour and the way they communicate with you, will enable you to better understand their needs and strengthen your relationship with them. This MOOC is divided into five topics, the appliance of science; behaviour and body language, senses and perception; challenges for the human-animal relationship, including pet problem behaviour; and how to improve the quality of life for cats and dogs in our care. At the start of the course we ask you to consider what you feel is important to your cat/dog and what your cat/dog means to you? We explore the world of cats and dogs and how our relationships with them vary around the world and have changed over time. We ask if we can really know what our animals are thinking or trying to communicate through their facial expressions and behaviours. From our beloved pets to street dogs, shelter dogs/cats and welfare challenges, we explore the world from their perspective and examine how their genetic make-up may influence their behavioural responses and choices. We dispel common behavioural myths by looking through a scientific lens, asking questions about the function and development of their behaviour.. We explore how their senses help them to interact with their world and how they communicate with each other and us! Finally, we ask whether we impose unrealistic expectations on our cats and dogs and how this affects their ability to live alongside us. We ask, what can we do to be more responsible pet owners and to ensure the welfare of all cats and dogs in society? This MOOC explores different scientifically validated methods that can help you to better understand your pet, to enrich their lives and help you to be a more educated and confident pet owner. We hope you enjoy the course!...

Meilleurs avis

HR
26 mars 2020

I learned so much about how to decrease stress for my pets and increase their happiness. I also learned how to better communicate with them. Thank you for helping improve my pets quality of life!

JJ
1 mai 2020

I have had a variety of animal companions throughout my life, but this course has taught me that I could always benefit by staying up-to-date on the latest information related to animal welfare.

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 496 Avis pour The Truth About Cats and Dogs

par Divya N

25 mars 2018

This course is a must for anyone who has pets , planning to adopt or would like to just enhance their knowledge of dogs and cats. I have learnt so much from every week and would highly recommend this to friends and family. From the course content to the teachers , learning was an absolute joy !

par Natalia M M C

7 juil. 2017

I think the course improved my knowledge about the pets, not only about the behavior, I learned about de signs of my cats.

The course is well designed but I think the part of " ask to the expert" had a long durection, this part will can be divided in small fragments.

Thank you for this course.

par Rijita M

8 nov. 2020

This is an essential course for all animal behaviorists, vets as well as pet owners. As a researcher in the field of human and animal dyad, I found this course very informative and would like to give my hearty thanks to Coursera and the wonder faculty from the University of Edinburgh

par Nicola J

2 juin 2019

A hugely enjoyable and informative course for anyone that owns a cat or dog, or is thinking of getting one. Even though I have been a pet owner for decades, I learnt many new things that will help me understand my pets even better. My thanks to the educators and course organisers.

par Dagmar K ( n B )

14 juin 2018

I was mainly a dog person and I am glad I'm starting understand cats more. I didn't know many things in cat's area which was confusing for both sides. I am giving 5 stars because I can easily use everything what was said here and apply it in every day encounters with feline friends.

par Lisa W

24 juin 2020

Loved it! Who doesn't love a good video!? Wide variety of material, easy to follow short videos and reading blocks. Instant note saver - great for not having to write everything out and quiz reviews. Presented by professional, knowlegeable, experienced, genuine and likable people.

par Alison W

5 mai 2020

A great course! Very interesting and informative about both cat and dog behaviour. I have learnt a lot about how my dog thinks and behaves which in tern will make me a much better owner.

I would recommend it for any cat or dog lover who would like to understand their pet better.

par Chiara A

18 juin 2020

Full of interesting information, lots of videos where you actually get to see what the instructors are talking about, useful information for pet owners or those thinking of getting a pet. Overall, a very interesting and engaging course for those interested in animal behavior.

par Jodie L K

12 mars 2018

What a wonderful way to learn about caring well for your cat or dog! This simple course is packed FULL of useful information. I was able to take this information and run with it - making use of it immediately. I will recommend this course to everyone who has a cat or dog!

par Ratanon H

18 avr. 2020

The course is fun to learn and has many facts about cats and dogs, what they need, what human expect them to be, common behavioral problem problems, root of the problems and how to manage it. And the quiz here is quite comphrehensive and catch up in the must-know contents.

par ADRIENNE H

9 août 2020

This is my second University of Edinburgh MOOC through Coursera and like the first it was excellent. I really enjoyed it and learned so much. I was astounded by the plight of the metro dogs and the survival techniques they had learned. Congratulations to all involved.

par Jennifer S

19 juil. 2017

Very insightful, especially the myths of the alpha dog theory. The lecturers were very engaging as well as the videos where we see examples and reinforces what you learn before taking the assessments. The resources were also really interesting and I checked out a few.

par Sarah C R

31 mai 2018

Very interesting course with a lot of great insight into the world of our pet cats and dogs, and well as street cats and dogs that we should be responsible for within our communities. This is a great foundation class for anyone who owns or wants to own a pet.

par Marco M

17 août 2020

Really enjoyable mook, rich in notions and clarifying explanations of many common challenges and myths about cats and dogs. I truly recommend it to anyone who wants to broaden their way of thinking and bring his/her relationship with their pet to next level.

par AMEER H

30 avr. 2020

awesome learning course to know about canine and feline behavior. Before this course, I don't know anything about how to entertain a pet but after completing this course I have that much knowledge that I can easily understood the dog or cat body language.

par Ya H C L

24 mars 2019

I have great time while watching all the videos with very cute dogs / cats there, and surely i had 5 cats before, they were family, but i didn't know we should give each one food container and even spread apart, so now I learn and really very informative!

par Emily L R

25 mai 2020

really enjoyed this course, found out somethings I didn't know. this would be such a useful resource for someone thinking of getting a cat or dog as it provides the basic information on care and up to date research on the animals cognition and behaviour

par Gabriela M

30 mai 2020

Es un curso excelente que te da una visión bastante amplia para lo poco que dura sobre cómo podemos ser mejores humanos para nuestros perros y gatos y qué comportamientos y medidas podemos adoptar para mejorar la calidad de vida humana-canina-felina.

par LaTonia W

15 juil. 2019

This was a great course full of valuable information about cats and dogs. It includes lots of truth dispelling the myths about them. I'd recommend this course to anyone wanting to know more about these creatures we chose as our companion animals.

par Sophie P K

28 mai 2018

I loved The Truth About Cats and Dogs and I want to take this course again sometime! It was a very inspiring course and I can say my dog will now love my company! I highly recommend this course to people who want to improve their pets' welfare!

par Mrs L B

12 mai 2020

I found this course was really helpful in reinforcing some of the knowledge I already have but also I have learnt so much more. I would definitely recommend this course for anyone who is working with animals or looking to work with animals.

par Lucia G

1 déc. 2019

It is really helpful to learn and understand our dogs and cats physical and emotional needs, which often are different from ours, and understand their verbal and non verbal communication to build a healthy and happy relationship with them.

par Lyliah H

28 juin 2020

This was a very enjoyable MOOC. It was easy to understand and very engaging. I have had animals my entire life and I still learned a number of things. If this group was to do another MOOC I would certainly take it. Thank you to all.

par Cheryl H

11 août 2017

Really great course! I learned a lot and I feel like a lot of what I have learned can be used in my career. It was great to hear everything put into a clear and understandable way and the additional resources/websites were very helpful!

par Vanessa M C

8 oct. 2019

Excellent introductory course to learn more about ethology and continue learning. Updated, practical and very, very interesting, that has refreshed my previous knowledge and added others that I did not know (I love the acronym PETS!)