Chevron Left
Retour à The Truth About Cats and Dogs

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The Truth About Cats and Dogs par Université d'Édimbourg

4.8
étoiles
1,874 évaluations
534 avis

À propos du cours

What is your cat revealing to you when she purrs? What is your dog expressing when he yawns or wags his tail? Understanding your cat and dog’s behaviour and the way they communicate with you, will enable you to better understand their needs and strengthen your relationship with them. This MOOC is divided into five topics, the appliance of science; behaviour and body language, senses and perception; challenges for the human-animal relationship, including pet problem behaviour; and how to improve the quality of life for cats and dogs in our care. At the start of the course we ask you to consider what you feel is important to your cat/dog and what your cat/dog means to you? We explore the world of cats and dogs and how our relationships with them vary around the world and have changed over time. We ask if we can really know what our animals are thinking or trying to communicate through their facial expressions and behaviours. From our beloved pets to street dogs, shelter dogs/cats and welfare challenges, we explore the world from their perspective and examine how their genetic make-up may influence their behavioural responses and choices. We dispel common behavioural myths by looking through a scientific lens, asking questions about the function and development of their behaviour.. We explore how their senses help them to interact with their world and how they communicate with each other and us! Finally, we ask whether we impose unrealistic expectations on our cats and dogs and how this affects their ability to live alongside us. We ask, what can we do to be more responsible pet owners and to ensure the welfare of all cats and dogs in society? This MOOC explores different scientifically validated methods that can help you to better understand your pet, to enrich their lives and help you to be a more educated and confident pet owner. We hope you enjoy the course!...

Meilleurs avis

HR
26 mars 2020

I learned so much about how to decrease stress for my pets and increase their happiness. I also learned how to better communicate with them. Thank you for helping improve my pets quality of life!

AG
7 oct. 2020

This course is a very good overview for people beginning their studies of dogs and cats. Pertinent videos and additional resource suggestions provide further opportunities to study more details.

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 528 Avis pour The Truth About Cats and Dogs

par Loreta M

16 mai 2018

A brilliant course! Full of useful information - some already known and some new. The course talks a lot about our perception of our pets - dogs and cats, and gives us more understanding of what they're really about. Cat and dog natural behavior and welfare needs are discussed in more detail. Definitely recommend!

par Shelamay M

16 nov. 2020

My favorite course of all time! I learned so much from all of you! I'm a dog lover and here I am thinking I already know everything, but you proved me wrong. It's an amazing course to take for all animal care practitioners and pet lovers like myself. Thank you, University of Edinburgh for this opportunity!

par Kathryn T

14 juin 2020

I have utterly enjoyed the course and have learnt so much from the instructors. The course also corrected certain notions I had about the animals, most significantly that there is no "alpha dog". So much of what is being shared by the instructors, the trainers etc. make a lot of sense. Thank you so much!

par Aygul Y

27 janv. 2018

I think anyone who is a pet owner should complete this mooc. It will help anyone to be a better friend and a more responsible owner to your cat or dog. It will help you built a better and healthier relationshis with your pet. I highly recomend this course to those who have or considering to have a pet.

par Fabian M G P R

19 août 2020

This is an exceptional course, especially for those who are wondering whether they have been treating their pets well or not. There are some Mythbusters inside and additional tips of taking care of your pets in several conditions which will bring significant understanding towards your pets' behavior.

par Marianne T

13 août 2017

Without a doubt, a course for anyone with a cat and / or dog. Very professional, understandable, motivational and educational. One of the many rewards you get is a better friendship. Another better health. A third you will feel that you can communicate, understand, help and even learn from your pet.

par chryssa m

6 août 2020

Thanks for this very useful and interesting course. I am happy about what I have learned and sorry for learning all this so late. I hope I will correct certain things regarding correctly handling my puppy and kitten, I would like to believe my love and care can compensate for some misconceptions.

par Divya N

25 mars 2018

This course is a must for anyone who has pets , planning to adopt or would like to just enhance their knowledge of dogs and cats. I have learnt so much from every week and would highly recommend this to friends and family. From the course content to the teachers , learning was an absolute joy !

par Natalia M M C

7 juil. 2017

I think the course improved my knowledge about the pets, not only about the behavior, I learned about de signs of my cats.

The course is well designed but I think the part of " ask to the expert" had a long durection, this part will can be divided in small fragments.

Thank you for this course.

par Rijita M

8 nov. 2020

This is an essential course for all animal behaviorists, vets as well as pet owners. As a researcher in the field of human and animal dyad, I found this course very informative and would like to give my hearty thanks to Coursera and the wonder faculty from the University of Edinburgh

par Nat M

12 févr. 2021

Excellent course, it has increased my understanding of cat and dog behaviour, I have learnt new ideas on meeting my pets needs and the it raised ethical questions on how modern cats and dogs are bred and the ramifications/impacts on their welfare that should be discussed more often.

par Nicola J

2 juin 2019

A hugely enjoyable and informative course for anyone that owns a cat or dog, or is thinking of getting one. Even though I have been a pet owner for decades, I learnt many new things that will help me understand my pets even better. My thanks to the educators and course organisers.

par Dagmar K ( n B )

14 juin 2018

I was mainly a dog person and I am glad I'm starting understand cats more. I didn't know many things in cat's area which was confusing for both sides. I am giving 5 stars because I can easily use everything what was said here and apply it in every day encounters with feline friends.

par Lisa W

24 juin 2020

Loved it! Who doesn't love a good video!? Wide variety of material, easy to follow short videos and reading blocks. Instant note saver - great for not having to write everything out and quiz reviews. Presented by professional, knowlegeable, experienced, genuine and likable people.

par Alison W

5 mai 2020

A great course! Very interesting and informative about both cat and dog behaviour. I have learnt a lot about how my dog thinks and behaves which in tern will make me a much better owner.

I would recommend it for any cat or dog lover who would like to understand their pet better.

par Chiara A

18 juin 2020

Full of interesting information, lots of videos where you actually get to see what the instructors are talking about, useful information for pet owners or those thinking of getting a pet. Overall, a very interesting and engaging course for those interested in animal behavior.

par Jodie L K

12 mars 2018

What a wonderful way to learn about caring well for your cat or dog! This simple course is packed FULL of useful information. I was able to take this information and run with it - making use of it immediately. I will recommend this course to everyone who has a cat or dog!

par Ratanon H

18 avr. 2020

The course is fun to learn and has many facts about cats and dogs, what they need, what human expect them to be, common behavioral problem problems, root of the problems and how to manage it. And the quiz here is quite comphrehensive and catch up in the must-know contents.

par ADRIENNE H

9 août 2020

This is my second University of Edinburgh MOOC through Coursera and like the first it was excellent. I really enjoyed it and learned so much. I was astounded by the plight of the metro dogs and the survival techniques they had learned. Congratulations to all involved.

par Jennifer S

19 juil. 2017

Very insightful, especially the myths of the alpha dog theory. The lecturers were very engaging as well as the videos where we see examples and reinforces what you learn before taking the assessments. The resources were also really interesting and I checked out a few.

par Sarah R

31 mai 2018

Very interesting course with a lot of great insight into the world of our pet cats and dogs, and well as street cats and dogs that we should be responsible for within our communities. This is a great foundation class for anyone who owns or wants to own a pet.

par Marco M

17 août 2020

Really enjoyable mook, rich in notions and clarifying explanations of many common challenges and myths about cats and dogs. I truly recommend it to anyone who wants to broaden their way of thinking and bring his/her relationship with their pet to next level.

par Dr A H

30 avr. 2020

awesome learning course to know about canine and feline behavior. Before this course, I don't know anything about how to entertain a pet but after completing this course I have that much knowledge that I can easily understood the dog or cat body language.

par Ya H C L

24 mars 2019

I have great time while watching all the videos with very cute dogs / cats there, and surely i had 5 cats before, they were family, but i didn't know we should give each one food container and even spread apart, so now I learn and really very informative!

par Emily L R

25 mai 2020

really enjoyed this course, found out somethings I didn't know. this would be such a useful resource for someone thinking of getting a cat or dog as it provides the basic information on care and up to date research on the animals cognition and behaviour