Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to the Biology of Cancer par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.8
étoiles
5,761 évaluations
1,158 avis

À propos du cours

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Meilleurs avis

AH
17 mars 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AK
31 juil. 2020

Excellent course for anyone interested in knowing more about the origin, diagnosis and treatment of cancer, even for beginners. Thanks to JHU for putting such an excellent course material together!

Filtrer par :

176 - 200 sur 1,136 Avis pour Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

par Aditi S

27 déc. 2016

This course was put very simply and understandably. The information was useful in my projects and I am now able to understand terminology used in medical journals. Thank you Dr. Pienta!

par Vikram

14 mai 2020

This is very amazing. This course give me more knowledge about cancer. And the all teacher are very very amazing. This give me more information and a new platform for my good career.

par Jim H

20 mars 2017

Excellent class. I learned a lot. I like how they delivered the information into clear comprehensible segments. It was easy for follow the class, as it was well organized and clear.

par Okan M

28 févr. 2021

Bu güzel kurs için, Coursera ve Johns Hopkins University olmak üzere emeği geçen; Kenneth Pienta, Sarah Amend, Jelani Zarif, Ken Valkenburg ve Diana Reyes'a teşekkerlerimi sunarım.

par Emmanuel A C D

15 oct. 2019

It was a very good course. It help me very much to understand and have a much better idea of the different types of Cancer. I can most certainly take advantage from this knowledge.

par Jan M B

3 juil. 2019

Very interesting course. Important information to understand the development of cancer and its treatments and to be able to follow the medical developments of cancer in the future.

par Abhijit P

27 avr. 2018

Extremely simplified explanation such that a non-bio background Computer Science Engineer can even understand the causes. (By the way I am learning to apply AI to cancer detection)

par Caroline S d A

8 juin 2020

I learned a lot in this course, it was better than I expected. It will help me in my study area and I hope I can improve my skills at university with these knowledge I've earned.

par Aishik S

28 juil. 2020

In this course I learned many things about cancer like cancer treatment and prevention process like therapies and chemical agent, surgery and clinical trials and Many more thing

par Abdullah A S

28 sept. 2019

Very informative, absolutely loved it. Strongly Recommended to anyone interested in Biochemistry, Cancer research or to anyone looking to learn more about this particular field.

par EDEN J A

14 nov. 2020

I was able to gain the necessary knowledge and skills in identifying common cancers, their diagnosis, progression and treatment. This course is very relevant and helpful to me.

par Luiz A R C

1 août 2020

Excellent course, clear and complete lectures, accessible language, actual and scientific information based on robust evidences, connected to practice. Completely recommend!!!

par Nivedha M S

27 juin 2020

The course was amazing. l got to learn and appreciate the different types of cancer and the various concepts associated with it. It was a very satisfying experience. Thank you

par Abykhair M

17 août 2020

It is a very useful course for beginner. It can act as a stepping-stone for someone who wants to start learning about cancer or pursuing a profession in cancer-related fields

par Aryesh A

8 janv. 2020

A very good course to understand cancer and what are the possibilities in future to fight against it.I enjoyed this course very much.Thank you for letting me do this course.

par Usama A K

1 juin 2017

I found this course very fruitful for me . I got extra knowledge by that. Coursera is doing well to help the students to increase their extra knowledge. very Appreciable (Y)

par ALEJANDRO E F O

3 août 2020

I liked this course because give the basic principles to understand the biology of cancer, I like the points of view of researchers, doctors and nurses, it helped me a lot.

par Lena N

22 janv. 2018

It was a comprehensive review of the development of cancer. I only wish we had more time to go into the specific genetics of the genes related to the development of cancer.

par Nafisa N I

18 mai 2020

What an amazing story-teller the course-creators are! I have learned and enjoyed a lot. Highly Recommended for anyone who wants to further their career in Cancer Research.

par Pierre G

21 mars 2020

It is very useful , simple , and I am looking forward to take more courses , and I think it gives a proper introduction for whoever wants to start learning about cancer .

par Angela V M S M

5 mars 2021

Loved it, really easy to understand everything and the teachers were really nice and explained everything very well. I'm happy I took this course, I really learned a lot

par Dmitri V

17 nov. 2020

Easy to follow, maximally informative and professional. All lectures connected to each other finding the balance between simplicity and specificity. Thank you very much.

par James M

21 févr. 2017

Wonderful course. Very informative and exceptionally well designed. I have learnt so much that will help me with my work in Integrative oncology and botanical medicine.

par 文迪 黄

7 avr. 2021

Very informative lecture. From my personal perspective as a high school student it is a well-designed and a little challenging course. I enjoy this learning experience.

par Ramana M S

25 janv. 2020

Course was grea!!!. Crisp, well framed, well presented covering every basic aspect to understand the cancer biology. I would recommend this to my friends and colleagues