Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to the Biology of Cancer par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.8
étoiles
2,439 évaluations
520 avis

À propos du cours

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Meilleurs avis

AH

Mar 18, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

SS

Apr 12, 2019

Thanks a lot, Dr. Kenneth; the course has been very informative and mind-opening--it has also whetted my appetite to learn more about the topic.\n\nThanks and best of regards in your endeavours!

Filtrer par :

126 - 150 sur 504 Avis pour Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

par Priyanka R

Feb 07, 2019

Being a medical graduate I can say that the topic was explained in a very effective manner, with an organized flow of information.

par Deleted A

Aug 20, 2017

I especially enjoyed learning about the treatment of cancer (week 6) and the statistics related to cancer occurrence and death.

par Chung M C

Jan 01, 2017

It is my first on line coursera course and I liked it very much. Its a very good opportunity to review and learn about cancer.

par Kaunda W

Feb 16, 2020

Terrific overview! Great for individuals who are interested in the science of cancer, it’s biology and possible treatments.

par Feather I

Oct 01, 2016

Great information. Excellent course that has left me wanting to know more and be a part of expanding treatments. Thank you!

par NKOSINGIPHILE T

Jul 25, 2019

Good course indeed. I enjoyed the learning. I have learned so much in the course. Thanks a lot Coursera and Prof Pienta.

par Akemi H S M

Aug 29, 2018

Muy bueno para adquirir un panorama general. Y tiene puntos que despiertan el interés para investigar de forma individual.

par Jia B

Oct 16, 2019

This course gave me a whole understanding of cancer and I can’t wait to explore more specific fields related to cancer!

par Fahimehsadat S

Jul 23, 2017

I just want to say thanks a million, the course has been well designed and taught. all modules are really informative.

par Nana F

Sep 19, 2019

Very good introductory course about cancer. Very well done. Looking forward to the next course.

Thank you very much.

par Sampreet R

Jun 18, 2019

Excellent Introduction to Cancer Biology. The language and teaching style is so easy to follow. Excellent material.

par Marcelo

Jun 10, 2018

Muy buen curso, muy nutrido. Los profesores explicaron todo de manera muy profunda. Lo volvería a hacer si pudiera.

par Ornela B

Jan 25, 2018

The materials, the structure and the pace of the program was excellent. A great introduction course about cancer.

par Febiana R D

Jan 10, 2018

I'm biologist but I never scrutinize the cancer things. This course make me understand basic knowledge of cancer.

par Piyush S

Aug 29, 2018

This course is very good for beginners and generating interest in this field. Would love to recommend to others.

par Vincent E A

Jul 10, 2017

Excellent course, It will be very hard for them to outdo themselves on another course. Honestly, wonderful job.

par Kathy Z

Aug 14, 2018

Very helpful introduction to major cancers in the US and across the world. Easy to understand and follow.

par Ashley D

Jan 15, 2020

Excellent course! Very well presented and easy to absorb. I love that you can complete on your own time.

par Emmanuel G I

Nov 15, 2019

The course has taught me great deal about cancer biology and has improved my career as I am a researcher

par Bhoomika S

Jan 07, 2018

Very good course for students interested in cell Biology. The lecture are simple and easy to understand.

par Sofia M

Jan 04, 2017

Very interesting for those that are not specialists and cancer and want to understand better it biology.

par Lamia K

Aug 06, 2016

Great course, thank you very much! I hope to become a scientist and join you in the fight against cancer

par Arturo S

Nov 12, 2017

Fantastic course, even as a licensed clinician, learned quite a few things we hadn't covered in school.

par Emiel d J

Apr 11, 2016

until now very informational. the lecturers are very good and share the information in a enjoyable way.

par Ricardo A T Z

Jul 19, 2016

A very complete journey into the knowledge and outcomes of cancer. Perfect for everyone starting out.