Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to the Biology of Cancer par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.8
étoiles
5,836 évaluations
1,170 avis

À propos du cours

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Meilleurs avis

AH
17 mars 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AK
31 juil. 2020

Excellent course for anyone interested in knowing more about the origin, diagnosis and treatment of cancer, even for beginners. Thanks to JHU for putting such an excellent course material together!

Filtrer par :

1126 - 1149 sur 1,149 Avis pour Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

par Aarjvi J

28 nov. 2020

Well explained and a good one if you are just starting with MOOCs

par Charandeep J

18 nov. 2018

Videos could be better, too short and narrated robotically

par Abhi B

18 juil. 2020

There is a problem with receiving the honors certificate.

par Keith L

11 nov. 2019

Nice introduction. Statistics could do with an update.

par Deleted A

23 juin 2016

I would prefer to see the speaker during the lecture.

par Ivan S

21 févr. 2019

Too simple for that price. For very beginners.

par Lev R S

23 mai 2017

excellent course for beginners and biologists.

par Esraa M A M n

6 sept. 2020

it was a good experiment and I learn a lot

par Shivani M

3 juil. 2018

The lectures can be more interactive

par ARIJIT A

14 déc. 2020

excellent basics concept of cancer.

par Ijaz A

16 avr. 2020

realistic and advanced knowledge

par Sufia B

30 mai 2020

good course. i enjoyed so much.

par Nur A A P

26 mai 2020

Neither best nor worst!

par Jade B

4 sept. 2016

Not done... All 5?

par Sakina S S

16 août 2020

very informative

par Ken S

27 juin 2021

There are many courses that raise your opinion of an institution. This is to be expected; think about why a university might offer an online class for free. But to my surprise, my opinion of Johns Hopkins went down - way down - as a result of completing this course. Why? "Experts" who couldn't pronounce words ("genome", "radionuclide") used in their own area of expertise. Factually incorrect information, like "both copies of a gene must have a mutation for cancer to occur", which is not true for many genes. Also, a strong tendency to use words, abbreviations, and acronyms that have never been defined, which is not appropriate for an "introduction" to something. I'm not saying there wasn't any good information - there was some - but overall, this class was disappointing.

par Mariya L

19 mars 2017

Too basic knowledge, not enough information about targeted therapy, everything is explained without going into any details

par A A

24 nov. 2020

Not engaging at all. Did not enjoy and I don't think I will retain much information due to how it was presented.

par MORAD S A

15 avr. 2021

thx

par Dr. B

16 sept. 2016

Hello all. I'm glad I took this course successfully. However, I have some notes. As a 4th year medical student, I see that the information is superficial. I finished the course in around 3 weeks, so medical students wouldn't get so much benefit out of the course. I wanted to learn more details, specially in depth about each type of the 5 cancers from the basics to clinical. Secondly, there was no interaction between the students and the doctor supervising the course in the discussion blogs. Thirdly, I believe that the assessment was too easy. I suggest a 60% passing grade with a more challenging assessment. Finally, this is my personal opinion. I enjoyed the course and I would like to see more improvement in the future.

par Yusuf M A

1 août 2020

I don't think its for beginners. I didn't understand a lot of biological terms.

par Hamza k

27 déc. 2020

please don`t choose it coz it cost a lot of money for their certificates.

par Shravani L

21 sept. 2020

Iam unable to get my completion certificate

par 张峰

13 mars 2018

念课件