Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to the Biology of Cancer par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.8
étoiles
5,844 évaluations
1,170 avis

À propos du cours

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Meilleurs avis

AH
17 mars 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AK
31 juil. 2020

Excellent course for anyone interested in knowing more about the origin, diagnosis and treatment of cancer, even for beginners. Thanks to JHU for putting such an excellent course material together!

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 1,150 Avis pour Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

par Jyotirika Y

23 juin 2020

This course helped me to get in depth with what 'cancer' is. We get exposed to 'cancer' as something which is associated with negative ideologies and conditions; however, one is not bothered enough to look into what it actually is and how it affects the lives of people. I have always been curious as to how 'cancer' is formed and in what way it affects the human body in a more descriptive and biological way. It was really educational and informative.

par Babu Y

4 mai 2020

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for the wonderful course package provided by your Team of Members. I finished my certification at the earliest as the lectures and course content was very interesting. It was very lucid and was in brief. I thank the Course Coordinator Prof. Kenneth Pienta for the wonderful streamlining of the course content. Many congratulations to you and your team. It came as a free course for which am very indebted. Thank you all again.

par KAWTHAR A

9 nov. 2019

I am now able to Identify the major types of cancer

List and describe the hallmarks of cancer

I can differentitate that the contribution of genes to the risk and growth of cancer

Define metastasis and identify the major steps in the metastatic process

I can describe the role of imaging in the screening,diagnosis,staging,and treatment of cancer

And i can explain how cancer is treated

And importantly i can explain how cancer is treated

par Henita C

13 oct. 2019

The course was very informative and helpful. I had signed up for the certified course but still haven’t received the certificate even after completion, my mail I’d is correct because I’ve received all other mails and some link to verify my name for certification is also not opening. I hope you can look into my complaint and certify me as soon as possible. Thank you for considering. I also look forward to enroll into new courses soon.

par Nesterenko Y

20 sept. 2016

This course emphasis brief introduction to biology of cancer. Here by simple words and examples you can discover which risk factors can cause cancer and what prevention needs to be done to minimize chance of cancer occurrence etc. I will suggest this course to all my colleges. I am really pleased for passing this course.

I wish all group Introduction to the Biology of Cancer further inspiration to create new interesting courses.

par María J B C

8 mars 2021

First i would like to say that the course is an amazing key to open your mind about the biology of the cancer and brings us the basic information that we should know about it.

I really like the structure and explanation about the content of each week, and the way you involved every topic with others specially with the Hallmarks of cancer, allowing us to understand the molecular mechanisms and treatments of this complex disease

par divya

28 juin 2020

I an very thank full to johns Hopkins university, I learned so many things from this course i.e 10 cellular hallmarks and therapy...., especially this course is use full for those who wants to work in research and development and health care professions too and In last video they mentioned some web site -information on clinical trials and different cancers so we can easily access the information from those web site

par Ruchi T

28 avr. 2019

I would like to thank coursera to consider me eligible for the scholarship. I have completed the course with a cent percent result, hence proving my interest in the subject. The course was beautifully presented and explained by all the professors. It was brief and knowledgeable at the same time. The quizzes after each lecture have helped in clearing the main quiz. The course was all in all very knowledgeable. Thankyou

par Mrutyunjaya P

27 avr. 2020

This is one of the best courses I had taken on Cancer, to date. I acquired much new knowledge on the fundamentals and basics of Cancer Biology and would definitely use this knowledge as a baseline for my further academic pursuits and the lot many research works that I will do in my life. Thank You, Dr. Pienta and his wonderful team - Dr. Amend, Dr. Jelani, Dr. Valkenburg and Miss Reyes.

par Vignesh R

21 mai 2019

Thank you very much, Dr. Kenneth Pienta, for providing such an engaging course throughout 6 weeks, and I enjoyed every content of this course that is well structured especially Ten hallmarks of cancer, TNM staging, cancer imaging, and various types of cancer treatments. Overall, it is a comprehensive cancer biology course. Looking forward to having an intermediate level of this course.

par 黄婷婷

7 août 2018

I'm a project manager working in new drug discovery and IND-enalbling projects, mainly for anti-cancer filed. this course is easy to understand and involved a lot of useful knowledge to facilitate understanding of the rational of new drug, in which the mechanisms are ofter related to some of the hallmarks of cancer. Thanks you very much for making and sharing the course, very nice job.

par Kishan P

17 juin 2020

The course is really good & very informative. The course content is just perfect for any new born in the area. Apparently, the instructors provide to the point information about the topic.

Thanks to the instructors for making such a course; it really planted the basic biology of cancer in me & also deepened its understanding by providing an HONORS in it .

Great Work please keep going .

par Jorge M F

23 avr. 2021

Un curso magnífico! Me voy feliz de haber aprendido los conceptos básicos y fundamentales acerca de una enfermedad tan dolorosa y común como es el cáncer. Espero utilizar mis conocimientos en la vida diaria para tomar precauciones e incentivar a las personas a cuidarse y controlarse a menudo. Muchas gracias a todo el equipo desarrollador, me llevo un aprendizaje para la vida!

par Melisa E

5 oct. 2020

It was exactly what I would expect from an intermediate level course. It never lost my attention or made me feel like I was in over my head, while keeping me interested at all times through the quality and quantity of new relevant information about cancer. I'm glad I took this course and feel like I can distinguish myself from my peers with this insight! Thank you very much.

par Brita F

19 déc. 2016

An excellent course! Whoever is interested in the development and metastasis of cancer should take this course. The lectures are very well presented and structured, so they are quite easy to follow even for a layman. I found the part on the hallmarks of cancer particularly interesting - a course that would go into more detail here would be on my wish list for future courses.

par Markos V

22 juil. 2019

This is a great course! I do not have a medical background so it helped me understand several concepts. I liked the fact that after each session I had to answer quizzes to move on. On the improvement side, I would like to see the face of the person who is lecturing to make it more personal.

Thanks a lot for the amazing course, for sure I will come back to review it again!

par Kodagoda G I T

18 avr. 2021

I was waiting to learn about cancers because my mother died due to cancer when I was 15 years old. Thank you so much for giving me the opportunity to learn about this disease. I hope that everyone should know about this disease very well in order to prevent this disease. I would like to thank the lecturer and Coursera for providing a wonderful study environment for me.

par Afsana R M

9 août 2020

It's an amazing course! The pathophysiology of metastasis, all the hallmarks of cancer, various treatment options for each type of cancer- all these are taught here with great excellency in this course. As a medical student, I am greatly benefited by this course. Finally I am grateful to the course ordinator and all other members who have made this course so wonderful.

par Aravin k

26 juil. 2020

This course is very informative and the content is very easily grasped. It is a beginner level course whereby people without a basic understanding of biology are able to participate. Furthermore, the quizzes ensure that you follow the course well enough. All the professors in this course did a fantastic job of making the course content short and highly informative.

par BRAIZON Q G E A *

29 oct. 2020

Este curso contiene información muy precisa e interesante acerca de muchos aspectos moleculares del cáncer y como se tratan los diferentes tipos de canceres en la actualidad. considero que es un muy buen curso para aquellas personas que desean iniciar una carrera investigativa relacionada con el cáncer ya sea en el área de la salud o de las ciencias biológicas

par Letícia C C d S

18 juil. 2020

Um curso maravilhoso. Tive a oportunidade de revisar algumas informações e aprender bastante sobre o tema. Os professores que lecionam o curso são muito bons, tudo é dado de forma simples e direta, sendo fácil entender e não ficando cansativo. Adquiri um grande conhecimento e espero que isso possa fazer a diferença em minhas futuras pesquisas. Adorei.

par Sarah S

11 avr. 2017

I work for a worldwide cancer research charity and found the course to be an excellent, challenging introduction to cancer biology. I particularly liked the fact that the course pointed towards some of the major questions that researchers are working around the clock answer, and that core materials were supplemented with examples of current research.

par Lora M

2 mars 2021

An excellent introduction to cancer course for students who have a general understanding of science. Some concepts (names of drugs, cell types & cellular processes) can be challenging for those who do not have a science background. Overall- this course provided outstanding information about cancer as it relates to types, diagnosis, and treatment.

par Dipto K S

30 avr. 2020

This is an important topic now a days.In this course I have learned some types of cancer, which gene is responsible for cancer, how many people in the world are suffering from cancer, what is the treatment of cancer and known some chemotherapy. I hope this course will help me in future. And i thank to the instructor to help me in this course.

par laura r

15 déc. 2016

Great Course, was literally hooked as content was very informative and well structured. Not too overwhelming with massive information. This is a brief but effective intro to cancer - however if you are not from a medical background you do have to do some background reading to understand pathways and functions of sub cellular components.