Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to the Biology of Cancer par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.8
étoiles
6,023 évaluations
1,205 avis

À propos du cours

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Meilleurs avis

AH
17 mars 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AS
15 oct. 2021

A didática do curso é excelente, os docentes conseguem, em poucos minutos, explicar diversos assuntos de forma simples. Além disso, o conteúdo é super completo e corresponde a todas as expectativas.

Filtrer par :

1051 - 1075 sur 1,191 Avis pour Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

par 1813253

23 oct. 2019

Really an excellent course and course material and the way of teaching.Thank you very much for all the instructors and appreciating their effort in this work.I Learned lot about the screening, diagnosis, staging and treatment of Cancer.

Thanks a lot.

par Venkat R R

1 juil. 2020

The course is a good intro to cancer biology and a refresher to people with previous cancer knowledge. It covers the cancer cell hallmarks and the steps in metastasis. Also there is a session on cancer imaging and widely used treatment options.

par Nabajit B

3 juin 2016

So far it's a very good course. I always wanted to learn about cancer as it took two lives from my family. I would give it a FIVE STAR if the professors could explain more elaborately as I have very little experience in this field. Thanks a lot

par Mohit A

13 juin 2017

The course can include a little advanced training like showing some surgery videos and appropriate pictures and how treatment is actually given to the patients. This may help basic science researchers to understand more of the clinical part.

par Prejith S

5 mars 2019

I am a postgraduate student of Oral Medicine and Radiology. Cancer is part of our curriculum and I found the lesson on hallmarks of cancer interesting. This course is a good introduction before you leap into detailed books on the subject.

par Moral R

28 oct. 2020

I love the structure, organization, content and the teaching. Courses offered by the John Hopkins are very invigorating. However, I also believe, a guided project, or a practical experiment/assignment would make this course more valuable.

par Ayan B

30 mai 2020

Excellent course! I learned a lot of things from it. First 5 weeks were very good, but the last week was a little advanced. I think I would have understood better if I the videos had a little more explanation. But overall it was good.

par Shikhar v c

7 sept. 2021

This course was very informative and helped us understand the basic knowledge about cancer and how it has been a devastating diseases for everyone worlwide. This course is perfect for anyone who wants to know the etiology of cancer.

par Rae R

4 juin 2020

Although I completed all course material, very frustrating that I could not complete the course without paying for a certificate. Out of the 6 courses I am taking, this course is the only one requiring this. Disappointing.

par Eric S

3 sept. 2018

Very informational and a helpful introduction. Structured very well and is easy to complete assignments. However the quizzes sometimes ask for minute details that do not result in good retention of the information.

par Anna W C

1 juil. 2020

Pretty good, shorter than some other courses I've taken. I think it should be spiced up more because I almost fell asleep once and that the quizzes should be more difficult but other than that, great course.

par Nicole M

16 août 2016

I think this was a very good course and I definitely got out of it what I expected. I think anyone interested in advancing their knowledge on the general basics of cancer, this is a good place to start.

par Ishak Z

30 mai 2020

I benefited hugely from this course although I don't have background in clinical practice. The introduction to Medical imagery was a little bit challenging for me, It could've been further simplified.

par Rebal N

11 févr. 2020

i enjoyed the information gthat i have learned in this course. however, I already learnt the majority of these information i my university. hope that there is more detailed course about cancer

par Alaa H B E

21 mai 2020

Very interesting course for one have to be a good fighters against cancer ,first step and be strong , I hope in future give more about genetic of cancer.

Thank you very much.

par Martina S

18 oct. 2019

Thank you, it was a nice course, my first coursera. I find lectures quite general but definitely interesting. Good starting material. There is always space for improvement :)

par Amy C

13 avr. 2018

Good basic introduction to cancer biology, some of the information was a little dry but all in all worthwhile. Some prior knowledge of basic biological concepts needed.

par Jose A d A R

8 janv. 2021

Content is tailored to the general audience but a some lectures are spoken at a very high pace, which I though made it a bit difficult to catch all the information.

par Roberto L D

8 avr. 2017

It was a great course form my favorite university, thanks very much for giving us this types of courses, I would like to be tested as a free course, but I coudn't

par Dr. A B

22 oct. 2019

This is a great course for those interested in gaining more basic clarity on this topic. I would recommend it to all with a need for more information on Cancer.

par Helen L

31 juil. 2017

If there is a more detail description about that different kind of the six most common cancers that would be great. The 10 hallmarks of cancers are very useful.

par stephanie a

18 juin 2020

very good and insightful course.it has helped me a lot to gain understanding of basics in cancer biology even though i am an undergraduate biochemistry student.

par Matthew B

13 juil. 2020

The information in this course is great. I only wish the assessments were more comprehensive and challenging to test your true understanding of the material.

par Ranim A Z

13 mai 2020

screening and treatment parts were hard for me because I'm not a specialist, yet the course is a perfect introduction for non-specialized interested people

par James R

16 nov. 2020

This course is a great introduction to the disease of cancer. An update to this course would be wonderful as it was completed in 2016. Very interesting.