Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to the Biology of Cancer par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.8
étoiles
5,415 évaluations
1,096 avis

À propos du cours

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Meilleurs avis

AH
17 mars 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AK
31 juil. 2020

Excellent course for anyone interested in knowing more about the origin, diagnosis and treatment of cancer, even for beginners. Thanks to JHU for putting such an excellent course material together!

Filtrer par :

226 - 250 sur 1,072 Avis pour Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

par JAYENDRA V

26 sept. 2019

it was most amazing way of studying and I thank you Prof. K Pienta and all my teachers for making this course the most unique and informative.

par Natasha D S

25 août 2018

Good course to give an over all view of cancer. Talks about how cancer cells are formed, how they spread, how cancer is diagnosed and treated.

par Ximena T V

26 mai 2020

Es un excelente curso en donde se puede tener conceptos claros de cada tema que se revisa, los profesores son muy claros en las explicaciones

par Dario M

22 avr. 2019

really nice. every doctor should talk slowly as mr Pienza does because some of us are foreigners and it would be easier for us to understand.

par Hina A R

5 juil. 2020

Absolutely loved this course. It includes all the basics of cancer studies and I am very grateful to Dr. Ken Pienta and his team :D Cheers!

par Hadeel A

14 oct. 2019

Great Course! I am glad that I learned about Biology in Cancer in Coursera! it is more convenience and less stress than learning in school!

par Levan C

7 juil. 2017

Very nice introduction reviwing all common theories of cancer development, metastasis. All common cancers and therapies were also reviewed.

par Jinia R

31 mai 2020

Thank you so much all the doctors. This course has been very beneficial for me and also encouraged me to look into this field more deeply.

par Giovanna O L

29 juil. 2020

Very excellent course!! I loved and appreciated it so much! Congratulations for making and disponibilizing this content around the world!

par Jelizaveta T

14 janv. 2021

Thank you! It was my favorite course. The information was provided in the most interesting and understandable way. Everything was clear.

par Aashley K N M

23 août 2020

I enjoyed this course . It will serve as a good foundation as i tackle my pathology unit , particularly the topic of cancer. thank you !

par Lucy P

3 mars 2018

Very informative on the basics of cancer biology and treatment. If you already know about cell biology most of this course will be easy.

par Pau G R

21 févr. 2020

Me ha parecido muy didáctico y muy útil para comprender mejor lo que es el cáncer, la metástasis y como podemos tratar esta enfermedad.

par Joanna K

6 févr. 2017

Great explanation of basics of cancer biology. It helped me a lot in understanding of the process of metastasis and cancer development.

par Alvina L

27 août 2017

Informative, in-depth and engaging. I enjoyed the use of a visual presentation as it allowed me to process the new information easily.

par Lalita K

6 juil. 2017

I enjoyed the course. I wish it had been more in-depth in certain areas but I understand that there are extensions to various topics.

par Antonius B

16 juil. 2017

Very very interesting and well explained. I can recommend this course to everybody who wants to get an easy introduction to oncology!

par Salasiah B A

18 juin 2020

Thank you Coursera & to all the lecturers involved. Very informative and I definitely will appreciate my certificate of this course.

par Amritha M V

27 févr. 2019

Loved it! I learned a lot more regarding this field and it has totally encouraged me to continue with my passion of cancer research.

par sumer s

19 juin 2020

this course is very helpful to understand the depth and basic knowledge about lethal cancer disease.

thank you too much to all team.

par Teton A

20 oct. 2019

Truly academic, very suitable for newcomers to oncology research. Provide necessary background knowledge for the field of research.

par 이소희

9 oct. 2019

The course was very nice and I get information about the cancer very easily. I really recommend this course to someone who wants to

par Lakshmi V

12 mars 2020

This course was truly amazing and i enjoyed learning every minute of it. The concepts were very intriguing and beautifully taught.

par Priyanka R

7 févr. 2019

Being a medical graduate I can say that the topic was explained in a very effective manner, with an organized flow of information.

par Vishnu V N

1 sept. 2020

The course was informative and the lecturers are knowedgable too. After completing this course I have learned a lot about cancer.