Chevron Left
Retour à Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions par Université de l'Alberta

4.9
étoiles
974 évaluations
429 avis

À propos du cours

Of all the animals on earth, which are the strongest for their size? What about the fastest? Who were the first animals to evolve flight? Insects take all of these titles and more! As the most abundant animals on the planet, insects and other arthropods affect our lives in so many ways. From beneficial interactions like pollination and biological pest control, to the transmission of life threatening diseases; this course will teach you about the big ways that these little arthropods impact our lives. In Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions, you will be plunged into the diverse (and sometimes alien) world of arthropods to learn how they work, what they do, and how insects and humans interact every day. After completing this course, you will be able to: Describe the evolutionary relationships between insects and their arthropod relatives Inventory major groups of insects and their diversity Demonstrate evolutionary adaptations that make insects successful Discuss insect biology and human-insect interactions Evaluate positive and negative interactions between insects and humans Propose practical and symbolic roles insects play in human societies...

Meilleurs avis

AB
7 juil. 2020

Very interesting and specially the anchors of this course are very enthusiastic and encouraging throughout the course so my focus is maintain for bugs and surly I will search more on insects further.

MH
19 nov. 2020

An absolutely fantastic course with logically set-out modules and enthusiastic, inspiring and engaging presenters. Very useful for anyone involved in Science outreach and/or widening participation.

Filtrer par :

401 - 425 sur 427 Avis pour Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions

par Annie L

28 août 2020

LOVE!!!!

par Maykapon P

5 juil. 2020

Love it!

par Javier L R

5 janv. 2021

Great!

par AAzeroual

1 juil. 2020

THANKS

par Diego D L F

14 janv. 2021

Cool!

par marpaung s

23 oct. 2020

good

par Mona A A

20 juin 2020

GOOD

par Sriskantharajah V

2 juin 2020

good

par Nandhini S

17 mai 2020

NICE

par Brian H

5 janv. 2021

Closed captioning was very helpful. Thank you. However, please consider having longer sentences in cc ( slightly smaller font) so that if I missed a word it wouldn't disappear so quickly.

The GLOSSARY was amazingly helpful. Wow. Thank you.! BRILLIANT!

Interviews were AWESOME and lent variety and interest to 'flesh-out' the course.

THEORIES without EXAMPLES were difficult to remember. For instance, Hector Caracamo gave many excellent theories that were hard to remember because there were no concrete examples provided.

Somewhere on the screen you should keep your names, the presenters, so that we can be reminded of who you are while you are presenting. We want to remember your names.

A couple of photo mistakes - when you were referring to light pollution affecting moths the picture is of a butterfly. And, a beautiful red butterfly pictured on a large green leaf - has a pin in it. Gotcha!

The reference to the Chipewayan tribe is a no-no. They prefer to be known as Dene. (Chipewayan is how the Cree refer to them, and is NOT complimentary)

Peter Heule is SUPERB in his interviews, convincing me to take my granddaughters to his museum.

par Sam B

15 oct. 2020

i thoroughly enjoyed this course. Very well done!!! I can see from the acknowledgements that many people were involved. Great content. I learned much even though I am a Board Certified Entomologist. in Urban Entomology. it is a vast subject of course.

i can only suggest for improvement that the clothing worn by one of the presenters seemed inappropriate to me. A bit distracting. Perhaps the producers should look at some standards of attire. It's not that there is an expectation of formal dress but perhaps a bit of reflection on attire could help.

one has to imagine the kind of values put on presentation in other educational programs.

Notwithstanding, this was a truly excellent course. Thank you very much. Sam

par Alyssa N S

9 août 2020

I love bugs and this course only solidified that! It's nice to be around other people who have the same interest and passion for these alien-like creatures all around us. My only complaint is that it is difficult if not impossible to contact anyone for questions. There is a discussion board but people have to decide to answer your questions... you can see how many people view your question and decide not to answer. Thank you for this adventure <3

par Krystal L

8 mars 2021

I'm in grade 7 and I followed along the course, I hit some bumps and at some points I was kind of boring, but I am very happy that I did the course. I've learned so much and by far my favorite module has to be about the bees! So the next time I dissect a beetle I'm sure to know what's inside!

par Jean M

6 oct. 2020

This course was very well composed. Each lecturer was very concise and well-spoken. I thoroughly enjoyed the lectures, the interviews and the visual materials. I would recommend this course to others.

par Catherina K

13 mai 2021

Each teaching video should be maximum up to 10 minutes to keep the focus of the students. This is according to the instructional design principles.

Videos that last to long are tiresome

par Sneha B

13 mai 2020

This was a great start to learning about insects. I got given a basic overview of all topics. Maybe you can have a part 2 on insect identification and research.

par Teddi T

29 juin 2020

I think the try it yourself sections were pretty interesting, however content felt to be really memory based which feells very overwhelming

par Joy S

22 nov. 2019

Excellent class full of great information. Very comprehensive. Would give 5 stars, but the whole bug thing is still kind of creepy.

par Konstantin B

5 oct. 2020

Good overall aspects of insects but some of the information is difficult to understand

par Adi N P

8 juil. 2020

The ILO for IPM was not fully playable. However, overall this a good course.

par Broseidon1273

13 mai 2020

Very informative, although boring at times.

par NANDA K S 1

28 avr. 2020

IT WAS A NICE COURSE

par Koustav M

12 juin 2020

Good

par Mary E

23 sept. 2020

Cancelled course due to low quality audio. Even at 100% speakers audio was often intelligible.