Chevron Left
Retour à Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions par Université de l'Alberta

4.9
étoiles
1,039 évaluations
456 avis

À propos du cours

Of all the animals on earth, which are the strongest for their size? What about the fastest? Who were the first animals to evolve flight? Insects take all of these titles and more! As the most abundant animals on the planet, insects and other arthropods affect our lives in so many ways. From beneficial interactions like pollination and biological pest control, to the transmission of life threatening diseases; this course will teach you about the big ways that these little arthropods impact our lives. In Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions, you will be plunged into the diverse (and sometimes alien) world of arthropods to learn how they work, what they do, and how insects and humans interact every day. After completing this course, you will be able to: Describe the evolutionary relationships between insects and their arthropod relatives Inventory major groups of insects and their diversity Demonstrate evolutionary adaptations that make insects successful Discuss insect biology and human-insect interactions Evaluate positive and negative interactions between insects and humans Propose practical and symbolic roles insects play in human societies...

Meilleurs avis

AB
7 juil. 2020

Very interesting and specially the anchors of this course are very enthusiastic and encouraging throughout the course so my focus is maintain for bugs and surly I will search more on insects further.

SM
4 févr. 2020

Excellent course! Content-rich and very informative both as a learning experience for the insect enthusiast or beginning entomologist as well as an excellent review for the practicing entomologist.

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 453 Avis pour Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions

par Marco R

8 déc. 2020

An incredibly well produced and extremely detailed course on insects, which goes from insect anatomy to their role in the ecosystem and influence in crop production as both pollinators and pests.

You don't have to be a specialist or even interested in entomology for this course, as it comes packed with very common knowledge that everyone should know to some degree.

As a side note I want to highlight the incredible passion on each one of the instructors, specially Valerie, whose smile brightened my day more than once during my time in this course.

par Lucas D A C

28 oct. 2020

I'm an undergraduate student in Biological Sciences at the University of Campinas, Brazil, and I have to say that's an amazing course. Even though I had some subjects of entomology, this one is extremelly complete, and was able to brought together all kinds of themes that involves insects and their relationship with the human society. Besides all that, it's good to reinforce that you don't need to be a biology student to take and enjoy this course. Congratulations to the University of Alberta and all the professionals involved in this course.

par Nicha K

28 avr. 2020

Learning about fascinating insect life is fun. Even before taking this course, I know that insect has hug impact on our life, but in the end I am more surprised that it could be linked to nearly everything ... more than we could imagine. This course provided the reason why we should cherish the bugs and learn to live and work with them through many interesting aspects. All speakers nicely explain things in simple manner, very easy to understand even the complex topics. I enjoy this course so much and would like to recommend to others.

par Macedonio R B T

1 juil. 2020

I found this course very entertainment and full of very qualified and talented instructors who most definitely love insects, the environment and the effects that they cause and favour our society.

Every single instructor showed passion for Entomology, which this days is hard to find, but when you find someone with that excitement it is hard to forget them.

I highly recommend this course as a refreshment and challenge for anyone, no matter your knowledge of Entomology, it is very well structure and done.

Thank you very much!

par Dianne A

27 mars 2021

A fun class that opened my eyes to a whole world going on around me that I had not noticed and really didn't appreciate as much as I should have. Every human needs to appreciate and have a basic understanding of how important these animals are to us and how conservation of these animals is not an option but essential.

A special thank you to the instructors of this class. You all are doing the world a wonderful service by offering this free of charge to the public. May you have many online students in the future!

par Jen H

7 févr. 2021

This course gives a great overview of what many Ent 101 courses in a bachelors degree may expect. With videos, in-depth readings, a helpful forum community, and quizzes, I really felt as though I got the a good experience. I would have liked to have had assignments and would have liked required posting in the forum, to further emulate the online learning experience, but I understand why that isn't always manageable in a MOOC setting. Still - GREAT TIME! Thanks for sharing about insects team, you rock!

par Denise M

26 mai 2020

Bugs 101 was just what I was looking and hoping for! A great introduction to the world of insects and their humans. I really enjoyed how the information was presented with videos, reviews, interviews, text, etc.. The instructors were engaging and enthusiastic. I look forward to using what I learned during this course in my job as a butterfly atrium associate to share the joys of the world of insects! On a personal level, I can't wait to find other courses on entomology so I can keep learning!

par Natalie L

5 mai 2020

A super fun and interesting course! As a beginning gardener, I learned lots of useful information about identifying and managing pests in my garden. Learning pest control methods and chemicals has given me a great amount of control over my vegetables. You can really tell the instructors are passionate about bugs and it made me excited for each new lesson. Definitely recommend this course to anyone interested in gardening, bee keeping, crime investigation, ecology, conservation, or collecting!

par Kylie M

13 août 2020

This course is amazing!

I'm an entomologist and mostly did the course for fun, but I learnt a lot. A broad range of important topics were covered, but they were covered in a good amount of detail, with plenty of additional reading available to help get a grasp on various concepts.

Thank you to everyone that contributed to the making of this online unit, it is very hard to access any entomological training in Australia, and having it here makes it accessible to so many people.

par Anne S

18 avr. 2021

My first on-line course and I thoroughly enjoyed every aspect and gaining a better understanding of arthropods. I look forward to furthering my knowledge. The instructors spoke clearly and made their videos informative and entertaining. The reading material was very beneficial. I only have one negative comments as two-thirds on in the course the videos would end before it was officially over. Not sure why. I was very glad it never happened during the quiz.

par Corinne F

7 mars 2021

I have always been interested in insects and other Arthropoda. This course was super interesting. I enjoyed every minute of it. For those that are indifferent or think insects are boring you really should give this course a go. If more people learned about these tiny (in most cases) animals and realize their extreme importance and contribution to our own lives we would be doing all that we can to maintain their diversity on our planet. Fascinating stuff!

par Pedro M P

9 janv. 2021

A very pleasant, informative and interesting introductory entomology course. The supplementary reading material is very useful.

I recommend this course to high school science teachers and to interested high school students. It is also a good course for naturalists and entomology enthusiasts who have not received formal entomology training. The syllabus helps put context and relations to knowledge acquired informally and through personal explorations.

par Muhammad F

26 juil. 2020

Amazing course that covers the whole basics of Entomology. It was quite insightful course. The most fascinating part for me was Cultural Entomology. I would like to acknowledge the presenting staff especially Ilan dominich who helped understand the course with his insightful replies in discussion forum. I would like to encourage the students of Entomology in particular and Biological Sciences in general to take this insightful course. Happy learning :)

par Mustakim M

27 déc. 2020

Though I study Entomology as part of my courses in Bachelor in Agriculture Science syllabus, I learnt a lot more through the journey of Bugs 101 course. Now I'm feeling very sad that, it ended! I have created an online local Entomology group to spread my gained knowledge among people who have negative thoughts about insects. Thank you so much, my beloved mentors, for this amazing course. You teach incredibly well & easy enough to catch & understand.

par Andrey P S

2 mai 2020

Verdaderamente ha sido un curso fantástico. Los insectos y muchos otros artrópodos son seres increíbles a los cuales deberíamos de prestar mucha más atención de la que les hemos brindado. Mediante este curso es posible comprender el rol que estos organismos desempeñan en nuestro planeta. Como seres humanos tenemos la responsabilidad de amar y cuidar a estos organismos que al igual que nosotros únicamente buscan sobrevivir y ser mejores como especie.

par Gil H

21 mai 2020

A very comprehensive course. I studied Entomology way back. This course was much more than a refresher, introducing aspects of human-insect relationships that I had never thought about. My attitude to insects has not changed but I am now much better equipped to influence other people and bring them around to appreciate these small creatures which are so important to all life on earth especially to humans and that we must promote their conservation.

par Karis D

25 juin 2020

Excellent introductory entomology course. The course title is somewhat misleading, since more than half of the modules are focussed on insect biology and behaviour rather than insect-human interactions; still, the modules are thoughtfully constructed, beautifully illustrated, and clearly explained.

Highly recommend for anyone with a keen interest in learning or brushing up on insect biology, physiology, or behaviour--this is a great resource!

par Ehsan S

1 juin 2020

I am an entomologist and at the end of my Ph.D. I would say that this course is fantastic! Cover all the details an amateur entomologist or a curious person might need to know. The language is very easy and the scientific content is highly accurate. I do really surprise that found lot of super interesting fact to learn as an entomologist. In the end, appreciate all the people who provide this valuable and easy to read the content.

par Vic Q H

22 sept. 2019

This was an awesome course. It was very well planned. The teachers were fantastic and I loved the interviews with the specialist in different field. I am sad that the course is now over. I would love to take more courses on insects or other arthropods with the University of Alberta. The material is amazing! Thank you so every single person who was involved in the planning and teaching of this course.

Vic Quesada Herrera

par JOHN P B

12 juin 2020

I have learned more about insects. When I was a child, I only knew a few - grasshoppers, dragonflies, butterflies, beetles, bees, cockroaches, mosquitoes, lice and fleas. They seem no importance to me before. Actually, I only see them as pests. But this course helps me a lot in understanding their way and impact to our lives. There is no regret of spending my lock-down time studying insects through this online course.

par Abigail E

23 juin 2020

An excellent course. Very detailed information covering so many different aspects of insect anatomy, behaviour, ecology, and interaction with humans and the environment. The lectures and other course materials are very interesting and well organised. The lecturers are great at explaining the information, and their passion for the subject is clear and compelling. I really enjoyed this course and have learnt a lot.

par Yohann T C B

20 juil. 2020

After finishing the course, I can only smile with a tear in my eye as I have never appreciated insects so much before. They are very complex and that's what makes them fun to learn. Thanks to this course I have found a new love for invertebrates in general. I am even considering changing my field of specialization because of how interesting and important arthropods are. Thank You University of Alberta!

par Freya F

15 juil. 2020

Amazing course!!! All the lecture videos, readings and other supplementary materials were easily accessible, effective and engaging. I learned quite a bit about a number of species I'd never heard of and a few applications of entomology I'd never thought of before. Each module brought more interesting facts with it about insects and everything else. Thank you, it was terrific and well worth the effort!

par Al G

18 juil. 2020

This course was amazing! Every lecture is engaging, the supplementary reading is fun, and it's all put together very well. I learned so much! I didn't even know how much I didn't know about bugs before starting this class, so each new topic was a delightful learning experience. I would recommend this course to literally everyone. We all live with and rely on bugs, so we should learn more about them!

par Steve M

15 juil. 2020

This was an exceptionally well presented course, one of the very best Coursera courses I have completed so far. The instructors were not only extremely knowledgeable, they were also very enthusiastic and capable presenters. The course programme was very well constructed and presented a wealth of information in a very accessible format. I learnt a lot and have rediscovered my love for entomology.