Chevron Left
Retour à Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions par Université de l'Alberta

4.9
étoiles
875 évaluations
386 avis

À propos du cours

Of all the animals on earth, which are the strongest for their size? What about the fastest? Who were the first animals to evolve flight? Insects take all of these titles and more! As the most abundant animals on the planet, insects and other arthropods affect our lives in so many ways. From beneficial interactions like pollination and biological pest control, to the transmission of life threatening diseases; this course will teach you about the big ways that these little arthropods impact our lives. In Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions, you will be plunged into the diverse (and sometimes alien) world of arthropods to learn how they work, what they do, and how insects and humans interact every day. After completing this course, you will be able to: Describe the evolutionary relationships between insects and their arthropod relatives Inventory major groups of insects and their diversity Demonstrate evolutionary adaptations that make insects successful Discuss insect biology and human-insect interactions Evaluate positive and negative interactions between insects and humans Propose practical and symbolic roles insects play in human societies...

Meilleurs avis

AB
7 juil. 2020

Very interesting and specially the anchors of this course are very enthusiastic and encouraging throughout the course so my focus is maintain for bugs and surly I will search more on insects further.

SM
4 févr. 2020

Excellent course! Content-rich and very informative both as a learning experience for the insect enthusiast or beginning entomologist as well as an excellent review for the practicing entomologist.

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 387 Avis pour Bugs 101: Insect-Human Interactions

par Karis D

25 juin 2020

Excellent introductory entomology course. The course title is somewhat misleading, since more than half of the modules are focussed on insect biology and behaviour rather than insect-human interactions; still, the modules are thoughtfully constructed, beautifully illustrated, and clearly explained.

Highly recommend for anyone with a keen interest in learning or brushing up on insect biology, physiology, or behaviour--this is a great resource!

par Ehsan S

1 juin 2020

I am an entomologist and at the end of my Ph.D. I would say that this course is fantastic! Cover all the details an amateur entomologist or a curious person might need to know. The language is very easy and the scientific content is highly accurate. I do really surprise that found lot of super interesting fact to learn as an entomologist. In the end, appreciate all the people who provide this valuable and easy to read the content.

par Vic Q H

22 sept. 2019

This was an awesome course. It was very well planned. The teachers were fantastic and I loved the interviews with the specialist in different field. I am sad that the course is now over. I would love to take more courses on insects or other arthropods with the University of Alberta. The material is amazing! Thank you so every single person who was involved in the planning and teaching of this course.

Vic Quesada Herrera

par JOHN P B

12 juin 2020

I have learned more about insects. When I was a child, I only knew a few - grasshoppers, dragonflies, butterflies, beetles, bees, cockroaches, mosquitoes, lice and fleas. They seem no importance to me before. Actually, I only see them as pests. But this course helps me a lot in understanding their way and impact to our lives. There is no regret of spending my lock-down time studying insects through this online course.

par Abigail E

23 juin 2020

An excellent course. Very detailed information covering so many different aspects of insect anatomy, behaviour, ecology, and interaction with humans and the environment. The lectures and other course materials are very interesting and well organised. The lecturers are great at explaining the information, and their passion for the subject is clear and compelling. I really enjoyed this course and have learnt a lot.

par Yohann T C B

20 juil. 2020

After finishing the course, I can only smile with a tear in my eye as I have never appreciated insects so much before. They are very complex and that's what makes them fun to learn. Thanks to this course I have found a new love for invertebrates in general. I am even considering changing my field of specialization because of how interesting and important arthropods are. Thank You University of Alberta!

par Freya F

15 juil. 2020

Amazing course!!! All the lecture videos, readings and other supplementary materials were easily accessible, effective and engaging. I learned quite a bit about a number of species I'd never heard of and a few applications of entomology I'd never thought of before. Each module brought more interesting facts with it about insects and everything else. Thank you, it was terrific and well worth the effort!

par Al G

18 juil. 2020

This course was amazing! Every lecture is engaging, the supplementary reading is fun, and it's all put together very well. I learned so much! I didn't even know how much I didn't know about bugs before starting this class, so each new topic was a delightful learning experience. I would recommend this course to literally everyone. We all live with and rely on bugs, so we should learn more about them!

par Steve M

15 juil. 2020

This was an exceptionally well presented course, one of the very best Coursera courses I have completed so far. The instructors were not only extremely knowledgeable, they were also very enthusiastic and capable presenters. The course programme was very well constructed and presented a wealth of information in a very accessible format. I learnt a lot and have rediscovered my love for entomology.

par kate m

20 nov. 2019

I truly enjoyed this class. All of the instructors were very good & obviously quite passionate about the subject. Their lectures and the visual information were well presented and easy to understand. The individuals who were 'guest speakers' were knowledgeable and their information was always interesting. I take classes for the pleasure of learning new things and, boy, have I learned a lot!!

par Cynthia H

30 avr. 2020

This was the most comprehensive course! Not only did I get a very in-depth education about arthropods, but learning about Integrated Pest Management was enlightening and opened my eyes to the many ways in which we can avoid using chemical pesticides in favor of nature's pest control. Loved it. Planning on returning to the lectures many times in the future to cement this knowledge in my mind.

par Amy T

31 mai 2020

I have always had an interest in insects, and they appear in my job, but had limited knowledge. I found this course during the Covid-19 lockdown and thoroughly enjoyed doing it online. The mix of videos, course notes and interactive activities made the course so much more interesting, introduced me to a range of modules and the enthusiasm of the tutors has been contagious! Thank you :)

par Thomas J A

16 sept. 2019

I enjoyed this course and learned a lot -- I've had a lifelong interest in insects, but have never studied entomology and don't work in the sciences. Even in sections I thought I already knew a lot about -- the honeybee module, for instance -- I always ended up learning something. Also, when my kids were younger, they/we were big John Acorn fans -- glad to see he made an appearance!

par Diana W

24 juil. 2020

It was a very enjoyable course. The amount of information thought by this course is overwhelming but very interesting. I think that people should know about many of the modules in this class and it would be beneficial to have a shorter more basic version for public in general. The instructors presentation skills were very good, their way of talking was very clear and at a good pace.

par Madness

11 sept. 2019

I began the course with an interest in bugs but I had no idea just how fascinating they are. I can't pick any one module as my favourite since they were all well presented and really helped build on the course as a whole. I've never been a great student but the material and presentation made me excited to dive in. Special thanks to all of the instructors and experts interviews.

par Mathilde V

25 août 2020

Great course, very nice speakers. I missed a bit to hear about the amazing work and contribution of ants in society and environment, but that is just because I am working with ants myself, so I may be a little biased ^^ Though, it way very great to learn more about other insects and some that I do not usually hear about. Thank you for the course, University of Alberta.

par Joan L L

14 janv. 2020

I loved this course! I found the modules, instructors, and guests informative, fascinating, and fun. And, I love insects even more after completing this course. It took me awhile to finish due to other obligations, but, I'm so glad I persevered.

I can use this knowledge in nature courses and outings I offer as well as in insect photography, which is a passion of mine.

par Evelyn P A

27 mars 2020

Excellent course for beginners!!! It is a well-planned 13 weeks of information, with plenty of visual aids and up to date topics. I particularly enjoyed the interviews of professionals employed in different areas of entomology. To my surprise the week of “insects in human culture” was my favorite, with amazing myths and stories about insects and human begins.

par Jennifer T O

18 nov. 2019

Informative and engaging! Entomology is a hobby for me. Sadly there's not much interest about bugs in my area. I bought several books on the subject but found some of the terms to be too hard to understand. Being able to have instructors who can explain these terms and concepts is amazing! Thanks for making this course available for people like me!

par Wendi W

29 nov. 2020

I was sad when I got to the end because the program was well put together and I enjoyed learning about the subject. I liked that they interviewed experts in the field, included Indigenous views, showed scientists of different genders and cultural backgrounds, and taught many aspects about insects. It inspired me to learn more about entomology.

par RAJAT V M

14 juin 2020

It's very for the beginners and notes of each module is very good and give all types of information. Even in each notes there are some interesting facts which make more interesting. Instructor and other members are very good. Through this course learned many things and it created a different view toward insects or basically arthropods.

par Sahara A M

12 oct. 2019

I've always been fascinated by "bugs," so when I saw this course was available, I immediately knew I wanted to take it. There's a lot of neat information and I like how this course was put together. I hope it does help to give people a better perspective of insects! They are so beneficial and honestly, such cool little creatures!

par MARIA N C

23 nov. 2020

Excellente!!! sin palabras, muy organizado muy complementado el conocimiento que instruyeron, y muy facil de comprender me encantaria de favor poder seguir aprendiendo con ustedes, me especializo en entomologia forense, si podrian por favor enviarme cursos con respecto a biologia, entomologia, entomologia aplicada y forense.

gracias

par Jairo R

6 sept. 2020

I was very satisfied with the content and how this course was carried out.

A complete course, well structured and the most important thing carried out by true professionals who achieved what they were looking for: that we could all learn about this wonderful universe that insects represent in our daily lives and in the environment.

par Shawn T D

21 oct. 2019

OUTSTANDING So well put together, subject mattered varied but forming foundation of Entomology. I enjoyed the variety of instructors and it was a good mix. Some of the interviews were mehh and a few questions were a bit tricky only because I did not read carefully and select two instead of three or something along those tracks.