Chevron Left
Retour à Stanford's Short Course on Breastfeeding

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Stanford's Short Course on Breastfeeding par Université de Stanford

4.7
402 notes
100 avis

À propos du cours

Stanford's Short Course on Breastfeeding was designed for new mothers and the people who support them. This engaging, one-week learning experience, provides participants with everything they need to know to more successfully establish breastfeeding – or support a new mother who has decided to breastfeed. We created the course because we recognize that there is a very small window in which successful, exclusive breastfeeding can be established, and that many new mothers are mastering this skill during a busy and sometimes stressful time. Brought to life by beautiful illustrations and interviews with international mothers, we hope to reach the broadest spectrum of mothers, helping them understand the current recommendations, challenges, benefits and practical considerations around breastfeeding - while simultaneously inspiring them to consider breastfeeding as the first choice for feeding their babies. And now for the legal stuff... Disclaimer of Warranty and Limitation of Liability THE INFORMATION IN THIS COURSE IS PROVIDED "AS IS" WITHOUT ANY REPRESENTATION, OR WARRANTIES, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED. DIGITAL MEDIC AND STANFORD MEDICINE ARE NOT LIABLE FOR ANY TYPE OF LOSS OR INJURY, OR ANY DAMAGES WHETHER DIRECT OR INDIRECT, ARISING FROM USE OF THIS COURSE. This course is not a substitute for the advice, diagnosis or treatment by an appropriately qualified and licensed physician or other health care provider. Copyright 2018 Stanford University. The course videos must be used according to the term of our Creative Commons License available at https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/4.0/: free distribution with attribution, no commercial use, no derivatives....

Meilleurs avis

LL

Mar 20, 2018

This course is very helpful to me to prepare for my baby's arrival. I have learned a lot from the benefits of breastfeeding and will absolutely choose this practice in raising my own child.

DM

Mar 20, 2018

It was very helpful, the reasons why breastfeeding is better for our babies were very clear. It definitely encourage me to give breastfeeding. Thank you so much for this course

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 100 Examens pour Stanford's Short Course on Breastfeeding

par Furqan A

Aug 06, 2019

Good info about breastfeeding i like this course.

par Janaki S D

Aug 10, 2019

Very well laid out course that introduces the beautiful concept of breastfeeding.

par Sarah L S

Sep 02, 2019

Great course. learnt alot. and amazing it was free!! Thank you very much

par WIVQIE H F

Sep 04, 2019

This is make me more confident to be breastfeeding mom

par Mahmoud E M A

Nov 13, 2019

Great coarse

par Christina X

Jan 07, 2019

Great practical course on breastfeeding for moms-to-be, new mothers and their support network (partner, family, employer). Can be repetitive at times. Nevertheless, def recommend it; better than spending another hour on (insert social media app here).

par Karla A N C

Mar 30, 2018

I liked the course, it's practical, however I expected to know about what to do to produce more milk and decrease colics to the baby.

par Sandra A A H

Apr 16, 2018

I know it says "short" but this course need more tips to achieve a good technique to a successful breastfeeding. Thank you for the information.

par Bhavik D

May 18, 2018

Not very detailed. I am not a lay-person, so perhaps my opinion is biased.

par Achraf J

Apr 11, 2018

.

par Sneha J

Mar 25, 2018

Very tastefully done & Wonderful graphics and was beautiful to see women share their breastfeeding journey. I felt that little more should have been highlighted in the practical side - latch, cluster feeds, self care for mother,etc.

par Jamie W

Mar 21, 2018

This course was very positive. I understand that is a short course, but it is a VERY short course. Perhaps in the description, there should be advice to expectant mothers to also take an in-person course, connect with La Leche League, and seek out other education to prepare for breastfeeding, and that this course is a brief introduction to the topic. That way expectant mothers don't expect this to be everything they need to know. Otherwise, I found the course to be a great overview and I loved all of the honest responses from women around the world. The artwork used in the course was also beautiful.

par Ashley F E

Jun 14, 2018

Good overview of breastfeeding benefits and basic challenges. The focus was on mothers' choices and beliefs regarding breastfeeding, rather than on structural barriers that may impact how successful mothers are in reaching their breastfeeding goals

par Łucja D

Sep 04, 2018

I like Maya Adam's courses very much! For me as a medical student this course was a bit less usefull comparing to others I have completed, but still worth compliting.

par Bettina S

Aug 21, 2018

Course is focused on healthcare aspects of breastfeeding rather than breastfeeding process. I alos found the course repetitive

par Maria S

Sep 13, 2018

It was very interesting and useful to know about benefits of a breastfeeding, but I hoped to see more practical tips for new mothers, such as how to overcome pain, how to put baby on the breast...etc.

par Irene T

Apr 17, 2019

I found the class to be really helpful but I wish there was a little more information too!

par SEHA-08179 S V

May 25, 2019

when completed course succesfully certificate also expected

par Maria N

Nov 01, 2019

helpful and basic information about breastfeeding that is suitable to all new mothers

par Mary C

May 16, 2018

This course will not help you know how to breastfeed, but will give you insight on why you should (and exclusively) and general safety guidelines if you need to use formula.

par Nina L

Jun 12, 2018

I didn't learn something new during this course. I think for people who have no experience at all with breastfeeding, or with the benefits of breastfeeding it is a good course. But if you already did breastfeeding before I don't think it adds a lot.

par Courtney K

Mar 24, 2018

Provided only basic information, but it was still helpful to get thinking about the topic. I was hoping to learn about techniques as I don't have a person to mentor me throughout the infant period.

par Jennifer B

Nov 07, 2019

I felt like the course had good information but I felt discriminated against as a white American woman.

par Edna G

Jan 21, 2019

There is nothing about the technique to breast feed and recommended times.

par Ekin E

Sep 03, 2019

The course is about 20% information, 15% repetition of information, and 65% breastfeeding propaganda. I personally agree that breastfeeding is preferable to formula feeding in an overwhelming majority of cases, but I do not see why presenting the scientific data in a concise, easy to understand manner was considered insufficient, and the authors felt the necessity to fluff up the content by opinions of apparently random people of different ethnicities from around the world. "People like us", I presume. So, should we be making such decisions based on opinions of others? And if you show people the opinions of only pro-breastfeeding mothers, that should be helpful in tipping the balance of opinions they receive and make them supporters of breastfeeding because... we assume that they cannot think for themselves based on facts alone, and need ready-made opinions to be bottle-fed to them, too? Is the case for breastfeeding so weak that it cannot be supported on facts alone?

Parts of the advice was well supported by reasons, but the rest was just offered as the best practice without any evidence as to why. Why is it best to keep breastfeeding until the child is 2 or older? Because this provides passive immunity for the child. OK. Perhaps we should keep it up till the child is 5? 7? 12? Maybe there is a critical cut-off point, considering the development of the child's immune system, around age 2, but we do not need to know. Opinions are all we need. It is stated that breastfeeding is the best option for an HIV positive mother to feed her child. Period. No alternative views are possible. It may well be the case. But I am not convinced. Please tell me why. Or maybe just have a random woman tell me that it is the best thing to do without indicating why, and I will become a believer.

The quizzes provide good examples but why was it necessary to give names to mothers in those scenarios? Is it a psychological aid? Would people not be able to empathize without it? Will the people in rural villages in Brazil, who may or may not have access to clean drinking water, but somehow have access to the internet, enroll in this MOOC, but might feel a bit alien so we help them out by making the protagonist of the case "Maria Eduarda, a 21-year-old woman living in a rural village in northern Brazil"?

The cause is good, the intention is good, but the course is not. I believe people are smarter than this. Yes, people outside of medical profession, too. Yes, people outside of first-world countries, too. So no need to patronise so much. Cheers.