Chevron Left
Retour à Blockchain Basics

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Blockchain Basics par Université de Buffalo

4.6
étoiles
6,118 évaluations
1,533 avis

À propos du cours

This first course of the Blockchain specialization provides a broad overview of the essential concepts of blockchain technology – by initially exploring the Bitcoin protocol followed by the Ethereum protocol – to lay the foundation necessary for developing applications and programming. You will be equipped with the knowledge needed to create nodes on your personal Ethereum blockchain, create accounts, unlock accounts, mine, transact, transfer Ethers, and check balances. You will learn about the decentralized peer-to-peer network, an immutable distributed ledger and the trust model that defines a blockchain. This course enables you to explain basic components of a blockchain (transaction, block, block header, and the chain) its operations (verification, validation, and consensus model) underlying algorithms, and essentials of trust (hard fork and soft fork). Content includes the hashing and cryptography foundations indispensable to blockchain programming, which is the focus of two subsequent specialization courses, Smart Contracts and Decentralized Applications (Dapps). You will work on a virtual machine image, specifically created for this course, to build an Ethereum test chain and operate on the chain. This hands-on activity will help you understand the workings of a blockchain, its transactions, blocks and mining. Main concepts are delivered through videos, demos and hands-on exercises....

Meilleurs avis

TT
18 nov. 2018

This is an introductory course to Blockchain. The supplemented material (in other words self-study) is excellent and in my opinion is the only way to master the concepts and details of this discipline

SS
27 juil. 2018

I find this course helpful to absolute beginner and for one who wants to grasp the basic concepts of Blockchain . The tutor tried to explain most part with simplicity and good and sufficient details.

Filtrer par :

1076 - 1100 sur 1,553 Avis pour Blockchain Basics

par 19cs119 J k

10 juil. 2020

Nice

par Nimmagadda P 1

26 juin 2020

goog

par Priyanka

22 juin 2020

good

par YOGESH K S

30 mai 2020

Good

par tanuj y

18 mai 2020

nice

par SANGEETHA A

11 mai 2020

nice

par DR. M E

30 avr. 2020

good

par Joy S

28 avr. 2020

nice

par THOMAS J

30 mars 2020

Good

par Shubham T

16 mars 2020

good

par Chan C H

19 août 2018

good

par Thien N

19 juil. 2018

Good

par Lanre A

15 juin 2021

A+

par Vallandas R

28 juil. 2021

par Sahar G

1 juin 2021

.

par Anshul b (

29 mars 2021

.

par Anjani N

30 déc. 2019

.

par Randhir N

4 juin 2019

t

par Parinita P

3 mai 2019

g

par Patrick C K

19 févr. 2021

I used this course as a refresher, so it was not hard to follow. However, I think a beginner could have trouble imagining some of the presented concepts. I would have hoped for more mnemonic aids (like "can you make potatoes out of mashed potatoes") and practical examples (like message transfer between Buffalo and Kathmandu). This would really help memorizing these concepts.

Also, the final project is super easy, but can really cause headaches because of software problems. The troubleshooting provided by the instructors only covers an infinitesimal portion of the issues that users run into. This can also be seen in the course's forum. Hopefully, the instructors will make a more extensive guide or provide an alternative to the virtual disk image (e.g. a Docker image).

Last but not least, I would wish for updates on the course material, since the crypto world is changing very fast. I don't mean recording the videos all over again, but e.g. adding a list of notes after each week like "Ethereum moved from ProofOfWork to ProofOfStake". This prevents the course from becoming too outdated.

Despite all this criticism, I can recommend the course in general. It gives a good overview over Decentralization, Bitcoin and Ethereum.

par Basem A

18 mars 2021

Some might argue that the video content is too brief and not worth it, but in my opinion they really help succinctly explain the concepts that are covered within the external resources mentioned for each week. Those resources do tend to take a lot more time to cover, but what worked very well for me was the approach of watching the lectures, going over all of the resources provided for a given week, and then re-watching the lecture to completely retain all of the information that was provided. The course served it's purpose for covering the contents of the Blockchain basics and so I would recommend it to any individual that may be interested in the field.

par Yifei H

20 juin 2018

This is a good introduction to the basic concepts of blockchain focusing on BTC and ETH. Quiz sessions are well designed and final project is nicely setup and designed. I got nice return on my time spent in this course.The reason that I gave 4/5 stars instead of 5/5 is because I feel the materials can be a little bit more concrete and technical to convey more useful information. For example, there could be more information about mining, to the extent that student can understand Selfish Mining in bitcoin at a high level. While this course is meant to be basics, but we can add some advanced or extension sessions after each week.

par Rajat G

23 janv. 2019

Overall the course was very well designed & well paced and the concepts were introduced well. The only gripe I would have is that the final assignment required grappling with setting up VirtualBox and getting the VM started. Not everyone is aware of virtualization so specific primers on how to set this up on Windows etc would be helpful as the current setup pdf / trouble shooting pdfs gloss over some of the common steps or errors.

I faced a couple of issues that got solved only after several tries and restarts and some of this time could have been avoided if only the tips provided were better explained.

par SRUJAN S 2

6 nov. 2021

Good course, but I think the explanations could've been a bit more "sequential". But I get its point of figuring out stuff on your own and tying it up to whatever's being taught currently in a module; so it's not that big of a deal. The quizzes could've been more difficult and it always turned out being way too easy and underwhelming (even for someone who doesn't know a thing about crypto). But ultimately it does a good job of introducing you to the world of crypto and, despite some unusual bumps in the sequence of teaching, it does what it has to do well. Very informative overall. :)

par SAMPATH P

4 déc. 2018

The course is good basic foundation for Blockchain concepts.

1) I think few of the concepts can be elaborated bit more by the instructor instead of directing to reading material. Honestly, I have googled lot of material on blockchain and felt like I was doing the same in this course.

2) There is some confusion on the project and the instructions should be clear to download the ova file from resources and also the naming is not the same as listed in the instruction document

3) Couple of more quizzes on complete course will be good.

Overall enjoyed the course and the project.