Chevron Left
Retour à Astro 101: Black Holes

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Astro 101: Black Holes par Université de l'Alberta

4.8
étoiles
519 évaluations
172 avis

À propos du cours

What is a black hole? Do they really exist? How do they form? How are they related to stars? What would happen if you fell into one? How do you see a black hole if they emit no light? What’s the difference between a black hole and a really dark star? Could a particle accelerator create a black hole? Can a black hole also be a worm hole or a time machine? In Astro 101: Black Holes, you will explore the concepts behind black holes. Using the theme of black holes, you will learn the basic ideas of astronomy, relativity, and quantum physics. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe the essential properties of black holes. • Explain recent black hole research using plain language and appropriate analogies. • Compare black holes in popular culture to modern physics to distinguish science fact from science fiction. • Describe the application of fundamental physical concepts including gravity, special and general relativity, and quantum mechanics to reported scientific observations. • Recognize different types of stars and distinguish which stars can potentially become black holes. • Differentiate types of black holes and classify each type as observed or theoretical. • Characterize formation theories associated with each type of black hole. • Identify different ways of detecting black holes, and appropriate technologies associated with each detection method. • Summarize the puzzles facing black hole researchers in modern science....

Meilleurs avis

SK

Jul 31, 2020

i love this course, everything from knowledge to the visual and scientific data, this course amazed me.\n\ni thanking to all the person in this course to sharing this knowledge in such an amazing way

DB

Jul 27, 2020

It is an Excellent course , with no math assignments, if you want to learn Black holes Definitely, this is the course for you , i am looking for another course from same team. Excellent Team Effort.

Filtrer par :

151 - 172 sur 172 Avis pour Astro 101: Black Holes

par p v k

Mar 02, 2019

With professors who can shrink astronomical distances and explain concepts in time, space and cosmology with such lucidity and more importantly joy, this course was bound to be one ,which in literal sense, has transformed the black hole into a living vibrant entity. The team has rekindled the joy of learning in me and am sure in all students. Heartfelt thanks .

par Amanda S

Feb 11, 2020

I took this course mainly as a refresher course for myself. I learned some new things that I enjoyed! I know this was a beginner course but I would have preferred the instructors showing how to calculate the few equations that they talked about at least. I feel a lot of information was spoken about briefly and not depthfully enough to fully grasp.

par Manish K

Jul 30, 2020

This course is pretty good. It helps in developing intrest about black holes. One drawback about this course is that If you want to understand all the mathematics including black holes and general relativity then this course is not for you. Otherwise this course is fantastic as they teaches using computer graphics and images.

par John B

Mar 22, 2019

Great pace and great teachers! Would have loved more math-based problems to practice the formulas and calculations, but that's just me. A must-take course if you're starting out on your quest to understand the Universe.

par Steven G

Jul 10, 2019

An excellent introductory course into the physics of black holes. I only gave it four stars since I felt it could have had more mathematics content for students that want to dig a little deeper into the material.

par Shivanshu K

Jul 05, 2020

This is a pretty good course give you a really good insight into the Black holes. The only problem I had was that most of the queries are unanswered, which is a little problematic in cementing the foundation.

par Kirubarani.T

May 16, 2020

Super course...there are many informations about black holes are presented. and their communication language was easily understand to all..thank you so much for offer the course

par Lionel L R Q

Jul 05, 2020

Pretty decent course for an introductory level. However, the teaching assistants aren't that responsive so you got to wait a little longer. Overall a satisfactory course.

par Harry B

Sep 05, 2020

Lots of interesting information about black holes and ongoing research about them. Only very rudimentary math needed for the course.

par Mikaeel S

Sep 16, 2019

It was a fun course, however it would have been more fun if there was more interactive stuff to do.

par keith b

Jul 02, 2019

taught me the latest theories on black holes and some physical principles of related science

par Vincent W L

Jul 26, 2020

Prof. Morsink and team, very educational and easy to understand course.

par Abdessamad M

May 10, 2019

Good course, it introduced me to the black hole theory in a easy way.

par Joy S

Sep 03, 2018

Fascinating. Plus they get into Star Trek. Pretty technical, though

par Pattadon N

Jun 15, 2020

I think the lecture should have pictures and colors.

par KAUSTUV L

May 28, 2020

Could involve a little more mathematics.

par Oleksandra O

May 10, 2020

All movies were cool.

par Marc B

Jan 26, 2019

This course is very well produced and interesting. However, it is not challenging enough. It should at least propose a weekly set of problems (possibly on a voluntary basis) requiring a modicum of physics and math skills. As it stands, it tells a pretty story but does not allow a student to grasp how the story was put together. I gained much information about BHs and other celestial objects, but zero new skill. In addition, I find that lecturers reading prompters make for lifeless presentations that are not clearly superior to being assigned to read a transcript or book chapter. I thought that the staff engaged very effectively with the students on the forum.

par Jessie A

Aug 14, 2020

Im convinced some of the questions have all wrong answers regardless. Its a very detailed course which is good but found myself getting bored often.

par Salman A N

Dec 23, 2018

A good course, with satisfactory content, good for physics undergraduate students and others fascinated by the beauties of the cosmos.