Chevron Left
Retour à Biology Everywhere Foundations

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Biology Everywhere Foundations par Université du Colorado à Boulder

4.6
étoiles
119 évaluations
26 avis

À propos du cours

In this course, we will explore the nature of science and biology. We will discuss what the “biology everywhere” philosophy means and the history of the “biology everywhere” project. We will also discuss what science (and biology) are as a discipline of inquiry and how chemistry is foundational to understanding biology....

Meilleurs avis

DE
10 févr. 2021

This actually makes Biology fun. It's a great start to this Specialization, no doubt. The assignments are engaging and the reading material is really good.

MN
24 oct. 2020

It is very informative and interesting.Students interested in biology can opt this course.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 26 Avis pour Biology Everywhere Foundations

par zibo c

22 févr. 2021

I have to say this course is below my expectation: It requires too much peer-review tests while what I've learnt/the teacher taught was limited.

par Pasquale D S

31 oct. 2020

Definitely not what I expected. It was announced as a course to 'explore the nature of science and biology, to discuss what science and biology are as disciplines of inquiry and how chemistry is foundational to understanding biology'. I basically expected an innovative way yo teach and stimulate interest in 'biology for non-biology students'. Well, the biological content of this first four weeks of course reduces to five criteria to define life (homeostasis, organization, energy use, reproduction, evolution), introduced in 9 minutes in week 3. The chemical basis (week 4) is a reminder that 'chemicals' are not synonym of 'bad things' and a 5 minutes introduction to four classes of biological macromolecules (carbs, proteins, nucleid acids, fats). The rest is mostly a report on the teacher's experience with 'common misconceptions on science and the scientific method'. If you have a high-school basis in biology (or even less than that...), you learn nothing. If not, the course provides little more than a few names and examples that, in the bast case, give the illusion of understanding rather than true understanding. The ratio of peer-reviews assignments to quizzes is too high and does not assure that you learn the notions, it's a case of blind leading the blind. Maybe things change with the following courses, but I hesitate to take them, I found this one too boring and basic. Perhaps it is mostly useful for teachers when covering the 'common misconception' aspects; it also has a honours track that seems almost exclusively targeted to educators (not at college/university, though!), since you need to devise pedagogical strategies and the like. If you are paying for this course, think twice and be sure that it's what you're looking for.

par RAFAEL A O

8 nov. 2020

Too little information and a lot of quizzes to take

par Paula M R C

3 juin 2021

This course promises it is an introductory biology course. It is not. It will be helpful if you are in middle grade or if you are taking classes at University of Colorado Boulder. the content is very dull and basic. The professor makes the clases slow and not engaging. This course discouraged me from taking the full specialization because the content is so easy and unprepared. You waste a lot of time reviewing other's peer assignment and these assignments are not challenging but have questions like "Answer what is science and what are the dangers of people not knowing science". Don't waste your time on this course. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME ON THIS IF YOUR GOAL IS TO LEARN BIOLOGY.

par missy D

4 janv. 2021

If you are going to take a biology course for credits or you will be going into a field where biology is constantly used, take this course and the specialization! This specialization and course are both fantastic

par Alejandro V

8 sept. 2020

I learned, enjoyed and got inspired to continue with biology.

par tammy t

21 juin 2021

I really enjoyed the course content and structure. What I did not enjoy is the lack of feedback I received from my peer-reviewed assignments ... the grades they gave me felt arbitrary without any kind of comments to put them in context. As an example, I received a .5 score on my first assignment (an average of a 1 and 0 rating), which I felt was absurd. I resubmitted the same exact assignment and magically received a 3 that second time.

par Diego M E

10 févr. 2021

This actually makes Biology fun. It's a great start to this Specialization, no doubt. The assignments are engaging and the reading material is really good.

par Kevmor

21 sept. 2021

Annoying having to wait for others to review assignments, it can take quite awhile sometimes but otherwise good

par Akmullayeva A

12 oct. 2021

for me, this course was very useful. Thanks a lot for the valuable information .

par Andy W

14 avr. 2021

This course is very useful. I thank you for the tutor so much.

par DEEKSHITHA S

10 nov. 2020

It was amazing course with extraordinary information.

par T.

20 oct. 2020

Informative and easy to follow. Thank you very much!

par Yasmine S

21 mars 2021

Because I love everything about science and biology

par Sanjay b

24 juil. 2021

simple words Biology in a differenyt way

par Saleela K

21 oct. 2021

​good and educated stuff for students

par Dr. P M B

12 nov. 2021

wonderful course thank you

par Carlos N R P

9 oct. 2020

Was a very useful course.

par Shah Z K

18 oct. 2021

The course was fantastic

par Martínez G X J

8 mars 2021

muy completo el curso

par Dr. C M M

17 mai 2021

Its a good course

par 121910308046 V U S K

28 juil. 2021

nice content

par Dr M

25 sept. 2020

good

par MARIA E L R

3 oct. 2020

me gusto mucho el curso porque es muy interactivo, con los cuestionario sy las tareas para enviar.

par María E L B

6 oct. 2020

me gusto muchoo