Chevron Left
Retour à Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Big Data Modeling and Management Systems par Université de Californie à San Diego

4.4
étoiles
2,242 évaluations
368 avis

À propos du cours

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Meilleurs avis

MP

Oct 17, 2017

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG

Mar 28, 2017

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

Filtrer par :

201 - 225 sur 357 Avis pour Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

par Federico A G C

Sep 25, 2016

Very good material and overview. However, still a little bit too basic. Fundamental management systems hands on should be much more intensive.

par Nicolas I

Nov 17, 2016

Great course! Although I think it would be a good idea to have all the HANDS ON instructions downloadable as a PDF to keep in personal files.

par Martin O

Jul 21, 2018

Troubles when it comes to the student reviwed tasks, sometimes the puntuation doesn't correspond and is very rare getting a right feedback .

par shreya k

Feb 15, 2019

Really nice course. Had a chance to rediscover my data modelling skills. Surely looking forward to more courses in this specialization.

par Dixit R

Dec 18, 2017

Great coverage on data models, however the online scenario was little too extreme for me - esp. not coming gaming or digital background.

par Andrea P

Jan 24, 2019

The final assignment is unclear in some passages, but it is a very good introduction to the modelling and management systems overall.

par Sayed M

Oct 28, 2019

Excellently designed course content and organized topics. I like very much the way Ilkay and Amarnath explains on various subjects.

par Viraj D

Aug 13, 2019

The explanation is very clear. More hands-on coding and practicing should have helped in learning the concept more profoundly.

par Remco W

Jul 30, 2017

Thx for this course. It helped me in preliminary understanding of the big data modelling world. Fascinating, and intriguing.

par Mujtaba A

Oct 20, 2019

It was a good course for beginners of big data modeling. I benefited much from it from the theoretical perspectives.

par Olga T

Jul 05, 2017

There is a lot of useful information in the course but not enough practice to understand it better. And final peer-g

par Kshitij V

Nov 20, 2016

Great course which gives you insights into Big Data Management and various product differentiation used for Big Data

par SONJA A

Aug 20, 2017

I felt the assignment was a bit confusing, however, it was good to see how others responded to the same questions.

par Anis R

Dec 07, 2017

Informative course where are you are introduced to

Data Models

Semi Structured Data

Data Lake

Data Streaming

etc.

par Amr A

May 10, 2017

My only comment is that sometimes I feel that the speaker is talking quickly and the information is not clear

par Lei M

Aug 18, 2016

it's pretty good. I learn a lot, but some information is not enough, for example TF-IDF, and vector model

par Rita P

Aug 13, 2017

Informative course and video lectures, but final peer graded assignment was lacking clear instructions.

par Marc-André S

Nov 30, 2017

Very Good course with rich content - I feel the final assignment could have been better structured.

par Sabarish S

Nov 28, 2016

Some concepts can be simplified by using comprehensive examples.

The course is overall great!

par Vladimir A

Feb 02, 2017

Course is very good, and highly recommended.

More practice on this course will be appreciated

par Swadish V

Dec 05, 2019

I am totally new to big data. This course give me an immense knowledge about modelling.

par Hua W

Jan 02, 2018

Great material in this course. But the peer review assignment is a little bit weird...

par Oscar J M T

Sep 23, 2018

I enjoyed this course, the topics was more clear and deep in contrast with level 1.

par guarav y

Aug 26, 2018

Should have more and better explanations of various topic like vertica, astersikDB

par sachin d

Jun 28, 2017

Very nice explanation of different data models and Big Data software applications.