Chevron Left
Retour à Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Big Data Modeling and Management Systems par Université de Californie à San Diego

4.4
2,133 notes
347 avis

À propos du cours

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Meilleurs avis

MP

Oct 17, 2017

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG

Mar 28, 2017

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

Filtrer par :

201 - 225 sur 337 Examens pour Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

par Yogesh P

Mar 17, 2018

Good Course covering Modelling systems

par Aman S

Aug 04, 2018

No practical approach for BDMS

par Devon E

Aug 10, 2018

Another excellent course.

The only thing I would have liked (and maybe this comes later in the upcoming courses) is for the course to take a look inside the python and Lucence scripts so that we could be talked through how these are actually processing the data with guidance.

par Martin O

Jul 21, 2018

Troubles when it comes to the student reviwed tasks, sometimes the puntuation doesn't correspond and is very rare getting a right feedback .

par guarav y

Aug 26, 2018

Should have more and better explanations of various topic like vertica, astersikDB

par Snehal B

Sep 08, 2018

I would rate it 4/5.

First 4 weeks, we can still relate and keep up to pace with context. But week 5 onwards it becomes difficult to understand. Please come up with more real life scenarios to explain different BDMS models.

par Piero T

Nov 23, 2016

Peer Assignment is not too clear

par Olga T

Jul 05, 2017

There is a lot of useful information in the course but not enough practice to understand it better. And final peer-g

par Yaniv G

Oct 31, 2016

Overall relevant and clear presentations. Course material quite general, but I guess this is expected from an introductory-level course.

Peer-reviewed assignment's instructions can be clearer.

par mike d

May 11, 2018

labs could be improved. not all the python features were easily installed, if at all. A few more labs would have been nice to reinforce the points.

par Lukáš B

Dec 01, 2017

Too much abstract topic to perceive all things.

par Nicolas I

Nov 17, 2016

Great course! Although I think it would be a good idea to have all the HANDS ON instructions downloadable as a PDF to keep in personal files.

par Muhammad N K

Feb 14, 2017

Best course on Various Big Data models and management systems.

par Álvaro G C

Oct 31, 2016

So useful and focus on main basic aspects.

par Siphephelo B G

Jul 08, 2018

I loved how it built on knowledge obtained from the previous course and even had a recap video as a reminder of what was covered then. My only real gripe is how the felt like a bit of a curved ball - it was tricky to understand what was required of us. Overall, the course content is solid and I would recommend it to anyone

par David R D N

Nov 23, 2016

Pretty good overall, although some exercises are a bit difficult to understand from the descriptions and instructions given, some graphs and initial reference documentation for exercises might help

par Amol G

Oct 09, 2017

Lot of new information, excellent delivery. Given 4 as I feel real-use case flavor is inadequate -exercises could be more intensive, real case studies can be added.

par Hua W

Jan 02, 2018

Great material in this course. But the peer review assignment is a little bit weird...

par sachin d

Jun 28, 2017

Very nice explanation of different data models and Big Data software applications.

par Ismail A I

Feb 20, 2017

Very well explained

par Amr A

May 10, 2017

My only comment is that sometimes I feel that the speaker is talking quickly and the information is not clear

par Vidal A C L

Sep 18, 2017

The course provided me a good understanding of the tools and insights on how data could be modeled and managed. I feel confident that I can use the knowledge at work.

par Federico A G C

Sep 25, 2016

Very good material and overview. However, still a little bit too basic. Fundamental management systems hands on should be much more intensive.

par Sabarish S

Nov 28, 2016

Some concepts can be simplified by using comprehensive examples.

The course is overall great!

par Cecilia T

Mar 27, 2018

Great course! I got a very good general idea/concepts about BDMS