Chevron Left
Retour à Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Big Data Modeling and Management Systems par Université de Californie à San Diego

4.4
2,184 notes
357 avis

À propos du cours

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Meilleurs avis

MP

Oct 17, 2017

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG

Mar 28, 2017

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

Filtrer par :

201 - 225 sur 348 Examens pour Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

par Irsan K

Jun 19, 2017

Great course where I was introduced to lots of new technologies, would like to apply them in practice. Would be nice if there were more hands-on exercises.

par Dennis N

May 19, 2017

I got excellent exposure to the various ways that big data is handled and structured and it was in detail as well. I highly recommend this course for anyone who is pursuing a career in being involved in the big data landscape.

par CHANDAN J

Feb 04, 2018

Great overview of a few databases and what they are good at. Would have liked actual hands-on like installing a database and demonstrating the key feature the database is good at.

par Remco W

Jul 30, 2017

Thx for this course. It helped me in preliminary understanding of the big data modelling world. Fascinating, and intriguing.

par Mehul P

Dec 31, 2017

Nice overview to get into it.

par Prospero-Martin R

Mar 24, 2018

I enjoyed the lectures and liked the topics. Although I would like little bit more hands-on quizes. The "Designing a Big Data Management System for an Online Game" questions where unclear, probably if we had had more hands-on exercises throughout we would not be as confused as gain confidence.

par Aleksandar R

Jul 02, 2017

Not as good as the first course in the big data specialization. The big data modeling part of the course was excellent in my opinion because it contained both theory and practice. However, the management systems were not covered adequately, with only one week in the course allocated to cover those topics. I remember how a few management systems are called and what they're good for, but I wouldn't feel confident to perform any practical tasks with big data management systems after finishing this course.

Still, I'd say it's worth taking the course if you want an overview of the most common big data models and management systems.

par sachin d

Jun 28, 2017

Very nice explanation of different data models and Big Data software applications.

par Sabarish S

Nov 28, 2016

Some concepts can be simplified by using comprehensive examples.

The course is overall great!

par Cecilia T

Mar 27, 2018

Great course! I got a very good general idea/concepts about BDMS

par Kshitij V

Nov 20, 2016

Great course which gives you insights into Big Data Management and various product differentiation used for Big Data

par Putcha L N R

Mar 07, 2018

Pretty good course. The peer corrected assignment is avoidable. Instead, a little bit of programming may be introduced! The course becomes extremely boring due to only theoretical aspects and quizzes.

par Lei M

Aug 18, 2016

it's pretty good. I learn a lot, but some information is not enough, for example TF-IDF, and vector model

par KRISHNA T M

Nov 21, 2016

Assum lectures! Cant except better than that challenging assignments.

par Anis R

Dec 07, 2017

Informative course where are you are introduced to

Data Models

Semi Structured Data

Data Lake

Data Streaming

etc.

par Jyothi k

Mar 19, 2017

good cource

par Nitesh T

Oct 12, 2016

The course was very informative. One suggestion would be to include more practical exercises as it would help in internalizing the concepts better.

par Ismail A I

Feb 20, 2017

Very well explained

par Koyel G

Jan 13, 2017

This course captures the overview of Big data modelling concept in a very simple way. I found this course very useful. Instructors are good to explain the concepts. Though it would be good to add one or two (add-on or optional hands on exercises) handson for graph and tree data modelling.

par Wentao Z

Aug 18, 2016

Not too much useful and practical knowledge. full of basic concepts

par Don M

Oct 10, 2016

This course is a valuable introduction to Big Data Models and Management Systems for a variety of data types. The hands on exercises and company use case examples provide helpful context and application of the concepts. This knowledge also provides the learner with more confidence in navigating big data conversations in a professional environment.

par leila M

Aug 27, 2016

it was nice but a bit complicated for beginner though i like it

par Ruben

Oct 17, 2016

Interesting. Sometimes a little bit overwhelmed by a lot of information within a single video but it gives you an overview of what is big data modeling and management systems.

par Harshan J

Aug 02, 2017

Excellent intro to the subject. The instructors explain the material well. I deducted one star for the grading treatment of the Peer-Graded Assignment (Catch the Pink Flamingo). It's understood that there is no one "right" answer, but peers should be given a range of possible answers.

par Spencer

Oct 16, 2017

The lectures and hands on material for this course deserve 5 stars. I did not like the peer review assignment as I thought it was unclear and that the review process is very inconsistent. That being said I have not liked peer review projects for any classes I have take on coursera so I would still recommend this class.