Chevron Left
Retour à Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Big Data Modeling and Management Systems par Université de Californie à San Diego

4.4
étoiles
2,905 évaluations
494 avis

À propos du cours

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Meilleurs avis

MP
16 oct. 2017

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG
27 mars 2017

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 485 Avis pour Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

par Sarsiz C

13 mai 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. The content was good and it definitely needs some changes. You should explain according to me in more detail about how using a particular method of data structure you can structure the data. The exercise was easy. And please add some more exercise so that learners need to work little harder to pass the quiz.

par Sukanta M

15 nov. 2017

I was looking for this type of course of BigData. I have spent hours to read through different blogs and articles. But couldn't get better idea/direction how to start or where to start. This is ideal course for getting started on Big Data. I enjoyed all the slides and hands on very much. Thank you.

par Sita R P G

23 oct. 2016

Modeling is the start and gives an insight how to choose the correct model for a big data project. The correct choice of the model spells success for the project. Many data models were introduced and the hands-on exercises were helpful in better understanding of the concepts.

par Mohamad K

20 août 2019

Its extremely an important course to understand the different between DBMS and BIG data and why DBMS changed to BDMS. Its also give nice intro to unstructured data process such images and graph Nodes. Study this course will remove many questions in your mind.

par Misty S

28 août 2019

While the course content is very good, I feel this is not for beginners as one needs a basic knowledge of traditional relational databases for starters. The assignment helps clear the concepts and makes it understandable enough to work on it.

par John C

19 août 2018

A very nice introduction to the subject. Like in any other discipline one needs to practice in order to verify that you know the theory. Will continue signing up for more courses and specialitations. Very happy with the way things are going.

par Glenn B

5 févr. 2017

I thought this course was great. It gave a phenomenal overview of the tool sets out there and some good practical hands on with them. This series of course is a must for anyone wanting an overview and some hands on in the big data world

par Basil C

19 janv. 2020

This is a great crash course for beginners to get up to speed. Would be great to cover more modelling techniques and real-world case studies. Thank you - I've learned much from both Ilkay Altintas and Amarnath Gupta. Congratulations.

par Vincent R

5 févr. 2018

Great course for the beginner I am! The short video concept is a good and convenient learning tool. The final capstone exercise was challenging. Really enjoy it. I look forward to begin the next course of the specialization.

par Ali S

21 sept. 2019

The course was great I learned basics of different big data visualizations. Sources of big data and different tools introduced which can be very helpful. The quizes and assignments helped me to better understand the course.

par loveneet k

21 août 2017

Wonderful experience with you guys. Crisp overview about Big Data management. Decisions we should consider before taking Big data approaches. What are the available state of art exposure. It was great learning experience

par Nikola M

1 nov. 2021

​The course gives a great combination of: presentations (videos and readings), quizzes and hands-on exercises. It lays out a great theoretical base on top of which big data applications can be designed.

par MOTHUKURI S K P

17 oct. 2017

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

par Vikas G

28 mars 2017

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

par James w

8 mai 2019

I feel as though the assessment questions could have been more specific and the assessment criteria when marking could have been more precise. But other than that it was a great course.

par Mohammad M

30 sept. 2019

Big Data modeling is important consideration while designing big data solution. Most of other online courses lacks this module. Thanks to coursera for bringing this course. Five star.

par Ankit C

24 mars 2020

It's a good course to get an overview of different technologies that are out there. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to build a foundation for big data.

par Oguzhan B

6 oct. 2020

After the first course, I both refreshed and improved my knowledge. Thank you very much for bringing this course together with many examples, tutorials and a great narration.

par Routhana L

10 avr. 2019

As a undergraduate data analytics student, this course was an enlightening experience that complemented my more theoretical, less-applicational on campus course very well.

par Saju T M

13 avr. 2020

Gives us a very good understanding on Big data modeling and various data models like Graph Data model, Vector Space model (TF-IDF), Vertica, AsterixDB, Aerospike etc.

par Luis R

4 déc. 2019

Great course to learn and also practice how data can be visualized and how to model data, formats and how important is to choose appropriate data format and model

par Arindam B

13 mars 2018

Very well defined course curriculum and easy to follow.

All the different aspects of big data modeling has been well discussed and presented with examples.

par André G P

7 nov. 2018

The course presents a conceptual basis behind each of the tools demonstrated. It is important to know the best options when designing a project.

par Roque M G

14 déc. 2020

Excelent course! you will get the big picture about Big Data Modeling is a perfect start point for intermediate and advanced specific courses.

par Gowri A

30 sept. 2020

The delay of completion of course was due to do no review submission otherwise the course would have got completed as per the stipulated time.