Chevron Left
Retour à Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Big Data Modeling and Management Systems par Université de Californie à San Diego

4.4
étoiles
2,684 évaluations
446 avis

À propos du cours

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Meilleurs avis

MP

Oct 17, 2017

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG

Mar 28, 2017

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

Filtrer par :

326 - 350 sur 435 Avis pour Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

par Jonnie

Jun 29, 2020

This had good information logically presented. However, there are two hands-on activities whose instructions have been out-of-date and incorrect since at least 2016. It is not possible to complete these hands-on activities by following the instructions, and no one on the discussion boards has been able to come up with a solution. The hands-on exercises are very important to allow a learner to reinforce and solidify in their own minds the lessons. Without them, the value of the entire lesson suffers. And if the hands-on exercises are not ever being updated nor corrected for errors, how do I know the other course material is still accurate and relevant? It seems updates to the courses are not made.

par Cyprien H

Dec 25, 2017

The course in itself is quite good, although there are many concepts presented in a few videos only.

The bug flaw is the final peer review assignment. Questions are unclear; It is a pain to complete. When reviewing your peers, expect the same issues: you are left alone to interpret if what was done corresponds to what is expected. I guess instructors intended to make something simple but it is definitely not.

And the most frustrating thing is that this has been a recurring complain (see the forum), and nothing has changed so far.

par Seyyed E S

Jan 23, 2017

1. The course is very general and high level introduction.

2. During the lectures there are some examples that in some cases are presented as very small images and briefly. I personally could not understand some examples presented in week 5.

3. I found the hands-on lectures very helpful. I wish there was more that would delve into more examples in more details.

4. The course was very overpriced given the amount of information offered compared to other courses I have taken at coursera.

Thanks.

par Richard W

Aug 21, 2017

The topics addressed in this course are very valuable and cover a wide range. The presentation of the material unfortunately often misses clarity and sufficient detail. Backup material with a concise treatment and optional readings would be helpful. In addition it would be good to have several guided exercises that train hands-on skills, show practical features and integrate topics. The final assignment fits in this category, it however comes late and as a hike.

par Juan P

Jul 30, 2016

A good course taking into account that it does not require previous knowledge. I am giving "only" 3 stars because for a basic (no previous requirements) course I would expect much more additional readings. On the other hand, if you have programming or database experience you will find some topics too "basic".

I have liked it more than the first course on the specialization but I would expect more details (I think general topics are well explained).

par David T

Oct 28, 2016

I really wish I could give this course more stars, the content is great and well delivered and at a perfect level for someone like me who last worked with big data sets when 20Mb was absolutely enormous and Windows 3.1 was cutting edge technology. But and this seems to run across the whole specialisation, support from the course team varies between very patchy and none at all. Technical questions aren't answered for days if at all.

par Mike D

Apr 13, 2017

Good information overall, but the "peer graded" assignment at the end is poorly designed and seems unnecessarily arbitrary. Not a clear value add over a "final exam" format to justify waiting days for someone to "grade" your work. Instructions for this assignment are poorly written and unclear - for example, completely NOT clear you are asking us to identify a primary key versus stating there is no primary key, etc.

par Genís T V

Sep 22, 2020

Though it contains useful concepts, the "hands on" assignments are not very instructive. I understand that the course is intended for general audience and programming or doing serious analysis might be out of its scope, but it falls short at providing a basic standing ground from which the learner could improve. Overall, it feels like the assignments and the lectures are intended for two disjoint target groups.

par Tamás-Marosi P

Sep 05, 2017

The course was okay, but the last Peer-graded Assignment was totally unclear. A lot of other students reported this problem on the discussion forum, but nobody handled this. Some students tried to ask questions, but any menthor answered back in merit. Of course if nobody understand the task then how can we rate each other? It is not fair. I think some examples can help on this problem.

par Shalaka M

Aug 31, 2017

I feel the assignments were a little vague and such assignments should be reviewed by mentors and not just fellow colleagues. Also, the concept on which the questions were based, were not covered that widely.

Additionally, if someone wants to refer to the slides in future they should be able to get the information they want from the slides itself, so they could be made more descriptive.

par Tamalika M

Nov 21, 2016

This course offers very useful high level overview of concepts and ideas which make you feel confident in the long run. However, the course is extremely basic and does not go deep beyond the high level concepts. The hands on exercises are boring and do not engage students. The course needs to be improved to make it more useful for students. This course is not very worthy of the money.

par Dan K

May 08, 2017

This is ok. There is some light theory and application of it, but even less hands-on. There is also too much of an emphasis on different big data systems and each brands specific uses. This is good information, but I think it could have been presented on a two page comparison chart. The next course is supposed to be more more hands-on, so I am looking forward to that

par Muhammad S

Sep 27, 2019

Thanks for offering this course. The course is not so good because most of the portion is theoretically based. We join the Coursera for hands-on courses. We study a lot of courses in our Homeland universities which are 90% theoretical. so I join Coursera to implement the concepts practically but this course is not so practical.

par Aniruddha J

May 20, 2018

Definitely could have used more hands on practices. The hands on practice examples could've delved deeper into 'how' instead of just giving you the command lines to run. Majority of the times were spent on lectures talking about abstract concepts. While useful, more of that time would've been better spend on hands-on examples.

par Srikanth C

Nov 26, 2017

Fairly superficial treatment of a wide variety of topics. There was only a loose connection between some of the hands-on exercises and the lectures. The final assignment questions were not clear and the marking scheme was vague, which led to quite a bit of confusion while answering and grading it.

par Naveen S

Aug 19, 2016

Although Content quality was good, the content is too much less and could have been easily integrated to first course or other course in specialisation.

Secondly Quiz were not challenging ,it was just too easy to pass, and this actually takes away the very reason they were employed in this course.

par David P

Aug 01, 2017

The course is great. The final peer-reviewed project is interesting, but very badly designed. The explanations are fairly confusing, and the peer-reviewed format really doesn't fit this assignement, as modeling can be performed in many different ways, that untrained peers might not recognize.

par Yanpei L

May 03, 2017

Expecting more hands on experience with big data frameworks like Hadoop or Spark. Instructions of the final assignment is very confusing, you don't actually know what it really want you to do until you go through all the Q&As in the discussion forum, which is really wasting time.

par Kivan I

Jul 05, 2017

I felt there was very little continuity between each of the 6 weeks of this course. Especially in week 1, where I noticed a significant jump in the level of the content and I found the lectures quite vague and ambiguous. But overall I am satisfied. Looking forward to course 3.

par Clemens W

Nov 20, 2016

The course takes a broad approach to the subject.

What I miss: the study material should provide more and better organized (theoretical) information (e.g. on topcis like database design, data structures, etc.)

What I like: presenting of current software projects around big data

par Henrique S C

Apr 26, 2018

The content is good, but the final assignment is ridiculous. The instructions are horrible, the peer reviewers are a joke (there are many people there with 0 experience with databases giving wrong feedback), and you don't get the answers for reviewing other people's works.

par Tariq A

Dec 27, 2019

Very well organized and conceived. By following the course, I was able to learn and build on the concepts with minimal questions or frustration. It taught me what I was looking to learn, was well organized, and well paced. I’m already applying what I learned at work.

par Nicolás J C

Sep 21, 2017

The course has a lot of information that is completely useful for BD, I feel that it needs more hand-on exercises. For example, all those BDMS they listed are very useful, but it would have been more practical and fun to teach with an exercise, rather than 50+ slides.

par Josep M

Nov 21, 2016

There has been very few on-hands training. It's still very very at an introductory level. At some points it goes very deep, for example with the vectors for a document, but with the rest stay at a very high level. Open an excel sheet can not be considered training ...

par Francisco J H

Oct 06, 2019

It was useful but I was expecting more specific exercies and practices with state of the art tools, instead of only a very high level conceptual resume of the frameworks and data types. I hope that in next specialization courses will go deeper into the specific uses.