Chevron Left
Retour à Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Big Data Modeling and Management Systems par Université de Californie à San Diego

4.4
étoiles
2,793 évaluations
468 avis

À propos du cours

Once you’ve identified a big data issue to analyze, how do you collect, store and organize your data using Big Data solutions? In this course, you will experience various data genres and management tools appropriate for each. You will be able to describe the reasons behind the evolving plethora of new big data platforms from the perspective of big data management systems and analytical tools. Through guided hands-on tutorials, you will become familiar with techniques using real-time and semi-structured data examples. Systems and tools discussed include: AsterixDB, HP Vertica, Impala, Neo4j, Redis, SparkSQL. This course provides techniques to extract value from existing untapped data sources and discovering new data sources. At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Recognize different data elements in your own work and in everyday life problems * Explain why your team needs to design a Big Data Infrastructure Plan and Information System Design * Identify the frequent data operations required for various types of data * Select a data model to suit the characteristics of your data * Apply techniques to handle streaming data * Differentiate between a traditional Database Management System and a Big Data Management System * Appreciate why there are so many data management systems * Design a big data information system for an online game company This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Meilleurs avis

MP
16 oct. 2017

Good Explanations of Concepts and Nice Tests. I got a trilling experience in completing the peer Assignments with keen observation and Analyzing of Concepts learned.Thanq for your course very much.

VG
27 mars 2017

Nice course to describe the traditional data modeling (RDBMS) as well as various semi-structured and un-structured data modeling and management of the systems (Batch and Streaming data processing)

Filtrer par :

276 - 300 sur 457 Avis pour Big Data Modeling and Management Systems

par Siphephelo B G

8 juil. 2018

I loved how it built on knowledge obtained from the previous course and even had a recap video as a reminder of what was covered then. My only real gripe is how the felt like a bit of a curved ball - it was tricky to understand what was required of us. Overall, the course content is solid and I would recommend it to anyone

par Spencer

16 oct. 2017

The lectures and hands on material for this course deserve 5 stars. I did not like the peer review assignment as I thought it was unclear and that the review process is very inconsistent. That being said I have not liked peer review projects for any classes I have take on coursera so I would still recommend this class.

par Prospero-Martin R

24 mars 2018

I enjoyed the lectures and liked the topics. Although I would like little bit more hands-on quizes. The "Designing a Big Data Management System for an Online Game" questions where unclear, probably if we had had more hands-on exercises throughout we would not be as confused as gain confidence.

par Carsten K

26 août 2020

The course is great, but the peer review assignment at the end needs a lot of polishing, as the instructions are unclear and way to vague. Furthermore, the answers are not very specific, making grading difficult at best. Despite the peer review assignment, I can fully recommend the course.

par Koyel G

13 janv. 2017

This course captures the overview of Big data modelling concept in a very simple way. I found this course very useful. Instructors are good to explain the concepts. Though it would be good to add one or two (add-on or optional hands on exercises) handson for graph and tree data modelling.

par H J

2 août 2017

Excellent intro to the subject. The instructors explain the material well. I deducted one star for the grading treatment of the Peer-Graded Assignment (Catch the Pink Flamingo). It's understood that there is no one "right" answer, but peers should be given a range of possible answers.

par Devon E

10 août 2018

Another excellent course.

The only thing I would have liked (and maybe this comes later in the upcoming courses) is for the course to take a look inside the python and Lucence scripts so that we could be talked through how these are actually processing the data with guidance.

par Vinod S

18 janv. 2018

Great course on concepts of Big data modelling.

Great opportunity to learn from 2 people who are actually working on Big data issues in the Live world.

The assignment in week 6 can be improved in terms of more objective questions and the spaces provided to write the answers.

par Sarah L

25 sept. 2020

I believe some of the content is not easy to understand, although the course is great, I had to go online to check some of the concepts to fully understand them.

Still, I recommend the course for all of those initiating their careers with Big Data

par Dhairya T

28 juil. 2020

Pretty good course with deep learning methods and detailed hands on experience except the Gephi one where they could have mentioned better about the downloaded gephi icon on desktop wont work. But overall an excellent course ..worth your time

par Felipe A Z

7 déc. 2020

The course is better than the first one, which more real examples and tools that are used to model and manage big data. The concepts are getting more intersting because they are more related to the real activities with big data.

par Dennis N

19 mai 2017

I got excellent exposure to the various ways that big data is handled and structured and it was in detail as well. I highly recommend this course for anyone who is pursuing a career in being involved in the big data landscape.

par Snehal B

8 sept. 2018

I would rate it 4/5.

First 4 weeks, we can still relate and keep up to pace with context. But week 5 onwards it becomes difficult to understand. Please come up with more real life scenarios to explain different BDMS models.

par Apurva T

3 févr. 2019

Course was very good, some concepts were a little tough to understand, like the graph network and other topics of first 3 weeks. But on the whole a very good course to understand basics of data modeling and management.

par Xing Z

9 juil. 2018

The content is good overall, but the final project assignment is awful. It's not about whether the questions are too easy or too hard, it is the way in which the assignment is organized that seems confusing.

par Putcha L N R

7 mars 2018

Pretty good course. The peer corrected assignment is avoidable. Instead, a little bit of programming may be introduced! The course becomes extremely boring due to only theoretical aspects and quizzes.

par David R D N

23 nov. 2016

Pretty good overall, although some exercises are a bit difficult to understand from the descriptions and instructions given, some graphs and initial reference documentation for exercises might help

par Yaniv G

31 oct. 2016

Overall relevant and clear presentations. Course material quite general, but I guess this is expected from an introductory-level course.

Peer-reviewed assignment's instructions can be clearer.

par Bhola N R

11 oct. 2018

It was a difficult module, although trainer tried to convey but seems it is more complex it took time for me to understand the concept and apply the same while doing my assignment.

par CHANDAN J

4 févr. 2018

Great overview of a few databases and what they are good at. Would have liked actual hands-on like installing a database and demonstrating the key feature the database is good at.

par Ruben

17 oct. 2016

Interesting. Sometimes a little bit overwhelmed by a lot of information within a single video but it gives you an overview of what is big data modeling and management systems.

par piaoyang

15 mars 2020

If you have the fundamental knowledge of database and json, the only valuable videos for you are in week 5. As it says in next course(course 3), the course 2 is not required.

par Vidal A C L

18 sept. 2017

The course provided me a good understanding of the tools and insights on how data could be modeled and managed. I feel confident that I can use the knowledge at work.

par Amol G

8 oct. 2017

Lot of new information, excellent delivery. Given 4 as I feel real-use case flavor is inadequate -exercises could be more intensive, real case studies can be added.

par Priyadarshi V

19 nov. 2019

The content is really good and informative. More hands-on would be helpful. Extending the tree structure problem in the pink flamingo exercise was bit confusing.