Chevron Left
Retour à Big Data Integration and Processing

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Big Data Integration and Processing par Université de Californie à San Diego

4.4
étoiles
2,212 évaluations
475 avis

À propos du cours

At the end of the course, you will be able to: *Retrieve data from example database and big data management systems *Describe the connections between data management operations and the big data processing patterns needed to utilize them in large-scale analytical applications *Identify when a big data problem needs data integration *Execute simple big data integration and processing on Hadoop and Spark platforms This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Meilleurs avis

SB
21 oct. 2020

Hello Gentlemen,\n\nThis course was very helpful foe me. It enhanced my knowledge about Big Data Integration. Thank you so much for providing me such important knowledge. Thank you once again.

AA
5 mars 2018

It was a good course, it could have been better if some examples of Spark were also provided in other Languages like Java, people without having background of python may find it difficult.

Filtrer par :

351 - 375 sur 461 Avis pour Big Data Integration and Processing

par ZHE C

7 mai 2017

the course content is critical and as it appears in many interviews, and the fundamental understanding is important for beginners to learn this new area. however I think the software (spark or mongoDB) can be taught in a more systematic way (at least point out some resources that can help people learn them based on individual needs). I understand this course is for beginners and people supposed to learn deeper on themselves. but a road map will be helpful and reduce the pain finishing the tests.

par Lomiarz

4 févr. 2017

The course was good enough...but exercises were very simple. Only the final course was little bit challenging. For a guy that sits in IT business for a while it's rather too simple. Besides, I've learned spark basics which is super cool...so thanks for that

Maybe you could consider to build docker image instead of using virtual machines. VM is ok, but I think that docker can simplify all the stuff without necessary downloading, installations etc.

Looking forward to the next spark challenges :)

par To P H

24 déc. 2018

Too many software issues/installation bugs hampering the learning process. The setup procedures for every quiz takes up around 80% of the time and only 20% actually answering the quiz. Please reduce the number of quiz or consolidate them for learners do that we only need to do setup once. Mentor/Instructor presence in various discussions in which students encounter setup/installation issues are next to full absence and many sudents are left figuring out the problems themselves

par Gustavo V

12 oct. 2020

This course gives an introductory overview in Bigdata processing and explain a variety of tools with little depth, concepts are well explained but the workshops take extra effort to complete due to the fact that the tools versions are outdated, some questionnaires don’t match python workbooks and some assignments for the final project don’t have practical examples in the lessons, so you have to use other learning resources.

par Bojan N

11 mai 2020

Good content, good instructors - they have a nice way of conveying a message, making it easy to follow. I'm rating this course as 3 stars as the content is not kept up to date at all: materials, files, technical dependencies, versioning of the tools - it consumes MUCH, MUCH more time to get the tools setup in place correctly (so that you are able to run the hands-on exercises) compared to the actual time spent studying

par Tomas M

27 juil. 2017

While the contents are very interesting and the lectures very thorough the practical side has many draw backs. For instance: Connections to PostgresSql did not work even reading the FAQs, same with streaming data in spark. There are not enough examples on syntax and coding to correctly do the assignments. Overall I am happy with the course but it needs some improvements.

par Mauricio H

8 sept. 2019

So, in general, the course provides you with significant knowledge about big data integration processing, however there were simple exercises that could be done faster if there were no problems executing the commands. This problem leads students to quit the course.

I request the staff correct those errors in order to increase the approval rate.

par David T

23 oct. 2016

Good experience of using the big data tools but a total lack of engagement in the forums by the instructors and community mentors make it hard going if anything goes wrong. The final quiz took me over 8 hours mostly because there was no one to ask for hints when I was totally stuck and confused!

par Joren Z

5 juil. 2017

The course covers interesting materials and seems thorough. It's mostly lectures and reading, and not so much actually working with the technology. Since the latter tends to be the hardest part, the overall difficulty remains on the low end of the scale.

par Rashmi U

28 nov. 2016

I feel the contents of this course were great, no second thought on it. It makes your concepts crystal clear. But faced lots of issues during practicing the hands on exercises and did not get proper feedback or response on any of the queries.

par Shruthi R

7 juil. 2019

The hands on dataset installation had lots of problems while installing and spark and mongodb hardly worked even after multiple installations and i had tried many ways to get it to work but there was no benifit.

par Ken C

15 oct. 2017

Lots of technical issues with assignments. Spent a lot of time troubleshooting issues that have been around for 9 months or more and never addressed. Seems like this course has been abandoned by creators.

par Ahmed R

19 sept. 2019

Content was up to date but practice exercises are limited to Cloudera platform as well as too old. Need to be updated with more use cases and more exercises.

Thanks Coursera :)

par Francesca S

6 mai 2018

the explanation for the hands on exercises are poor. Had to waste a lot of tie and consult forum discussions as well as other inline tutorial a lot.

par Rahul R

8 juin 2017

The course material is not sufficient to work out the exercises. For the Spark final quiz you will have to take up another course to pass this one.

par prashant

15 janv. 2021

Assignments related to quiz could have been better explained as there was less explanation w.r.t some spark related quiz and MongoDB related quiz

par Mihai-Bogdan Z

15 août 2020

There were a lot of problems with the hands-on... a lot of bugs. You can rewrite / update the scripts. This would help a lot.

par Brandon S

12 janv. 2017

Programming instructions were not clear, and the version of Python that was installed on my machine did not support the Jupy

par Shalaka M

16 oct. 2017

I wish that the Spark programming should have been covered in more details as was the MongoDB and Splunk covered.

par leonardo l

10 août 2020

the instructions to the final test are insufficient and the forums cant fullfill the students questions.

par Venkateswara P S

2 sept. 2020

One of the tools mentioned tin the course do not work with Cloudera any more. So my labs became tough.

par Tatiana M

28 févr. 2017

A little slower than the last ones, not my favorite but great use of hands-on projects and enagagement

par SU C G

23 oct. 2016

Needs more depth. Instructors should reference more external readings since the lectures are brief.

par Anirudh

25 déc. 2016

some of the stuff was not mentioned properly, like for last quiz how to expoert data from mongodb

par Pablo A L Z

28 juil. 2020

THERE ARE MANY PROBLEMS WITH ANACONDA INSTALLATION AND PYSPARK NOT RUNING CORRECTLY