Chevron Left
Retour à Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis par Université de Californie à Santa Cruz

4.6
étoiles
2,801 évaluations
729 avis

À propos du cours

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

Meilleurs avis

GS
31 août 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JB
16 oct. 2020

An excellent course with some good hands on exercises in both R and excel. Not for the faint of heart mathematically speaking, assumes a competent understanding of statistics and probability going in

Filtrer par :

176 - 200 sur 721 Avis pour Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

par ENRICO S

17 août 2017

Great course. I was more confident in frequentist than Bayesian one so, I found this course very enlightening for me and topics' structure has never been boring.

par Pat B

1 août 2017

Necessary concepts are reviewed to the necessary depth. This is a rigorous yet light material that presents statistics on university intermediate/advanced level.

par Luca M

16 mai 2017

A concise and clear introduction to the Bayesian paradigm. Its conciseness make it suitable for frequentists wanting to get a quick overview of the Bayesian Way.

par BÙI T H

2 déc. 2017

Thank you so much, Herbert Lee. I really like the way you explain everything clearly and how you organizes the contents. I recommend this course for my friends.

par Elma J

11 mai 2020

excellent course to understand Bayesian approach. i have good idea bout prior and posterior probability, predictive distribution , maximum likelihood estimates

par Raj K

29 déc. 2019

The awesome course really liked the mathematically. If someone really want to understand the Bayesian statistics, they should definitely go through this once.

par Fabian S

18 janv. 2018

A great introduction to Bayesian Statistics for everyone who has some basic knowledge of calculus and is familiar with the fundamentals of probability theory.

par Antoine N

21 août 2017

Great introduction to the Bayesian framework! The exercises are relevant and I look forward to the second part (Bayesian Statistics: Techniques and Models).

par Isaac D

20 janv. 2017

A step by step course, designed to pay attention all the time with tons of practical examples and very clear explanations, I would definitely recommend it!!

par jl b

11 juin 2020

Herbert is clear, gives great examples, and is easy to follow. The question prompts are helpful, and the quizzes thoughtful and challenging. Great course.

par Naveen M N S

21 sept. 2017

Very good course for fundamentals of Bayesian statistics. Made me understand Monte Hall problem, conditional probability, etc. in a totally different way.

par Pawel R

3 oct. 2016

The course creates great foundations for digging deeper into more complex concepts and trying to run some Bayesian statistics on simple real life problems

par me m

1 déc. 2019

A mathematics course I really enjoyed because the instructor was actually teaching the material as best as one could without meeting the students. Great.

par Laure N

6 mars 2018

Thank you very much for sharing your knowledge with the public. Now I am no more afraid to face the book 'Bayesian Data Analysis' by A. Gelman et al.

par Allan V d C Q

7 mai 2020

I really enjoyed this course. Dr. Lee is a really good instructor. The materials and tests are good as well and will help you during the journey.

par Thadeu F

5 juil. 2017

Great course. Intermediate to advanced level (at least for me). You must have good foundation in probability. If so, you will learn a lot. Thanks

par Simiao R

20 juil. 2020

Good course about bayesian! I finally understand the relationship between frequentist idea and Bayesian approach and Beta gamma distributions

par Eben E

12 avr. 2020

This was a were educational course. I had trouble understanding R programming but with this topic, most of the programs became more clear to me.

par Cooper O

27 juin 2017

A Fantastic course. Detailed learning materials, Lots of opportunities to test your knowledge, and difficult enough to make you learn something!

par Nitin K

1 juin 2017

I loved everything about this course. It reminded me of my time in school. Papers and pencils. I look forward to attending the follow up course.

par Tiannan S

6 juil. 2020

As a computer science student, I feel Bayesian approach is much more intuitive and more computationally friendly than the frequentist paradigm.

par Fernando D L

11 mars 2019

It's a good course to know the principal concepts of Bayesian statistics. Also, the course has excellent examples to understand thew concepts.

par Orfeas K

2 mars 2018

I really appreciated the content, and the way it was taught by Prof. Lee. His explanations were intuitive, without loss of mathematical rigour.

par Giovanni G

29 juil. 2020

Consistent and mathematically dense. If you want to go through every passage this course gives you solid understanding of Bayesian statistics.

par RIcardo G M

15 déc. 2019

Very good course. Concepts are very well explained, and quizzes are really helpful to apply and further

understand the explanations provided.