Chevron Left
Retour à Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis par Université de Californie à Santa Cruz

4.6
étoiles
2,919 évaluations
759 avis

À propos du cours

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

Meilleurs avis

GS

31 août 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JB

16 oct. 2020

An excellent course with some good hands on exercises in both R and excel. Not for the faint of heart mathematically speaking, assumes a competent understanding of statistics and probability going in

Filtrer par :

626 - 650 sur 752 Avis pour Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

par Sankar M

21 juin 2020

Excellent introductory course. Some of the concepts in the later part of the course are not explained well though.

par Robert G

3 juil. 2019

Overall great course, the last part (linear regression) seems somewhat disconnected from the rest of the course.

par lai p w

1 janv. 2018

I can learn the concept, but need to understand the details well in other ways. eg. reading, or searching online

par Jose a z r

28 août 2017

Very helpfull course. I will use the principles taugh for other topics like machine learning. Thans for sharing.

par Jan B

3 oct. 2020

Great course with a good theory/practice balance, but examples could be a bit more refreshing and less boring.

par Pranesh K

10 mars 2017

The course is excellent to learn all the basic stuff needed to master the technique of Bayesian Data Analysis.

par Guruprasad K

25 juin 2020

More assignments and live and truncky examples applying the principles would make course even more wonderful

par Somnath C

3 déc. 2016

I wish the last week were more explanatory. Although overall now I do have an idea. It's a good course. :-)

par Sarah D

4 août 2020

Could do with more exercises.

However, I found some elsewhere on the internet, so that was complementary

par Marco

30 juil. 2020

Pretty good introductory material overall. Only disappointing part was the section on linear regression.

par Sergio

30 sept. 2018

Very nice introductory course, practical and to the point. Good starting point for more detailed courses

par Mangmang Z

11 janv. 2018

A little hurry in the normal distribution part, otherwise a great course for Bayesian introduction.

par Vinicius M E M

22 juil. 2021

Excelente curso, porém acredito que uma implementação dos códigos também em Python seria perfeito.

par guangyuan l

7 mars 2019

a little bit difficult, I think you need to hold a solide background toward inferential statistics

par M D

16 mai 2018

I expected more examples to be solved or at least it could be provided as supplementary materials

par Jean-Jacques P

3 janv. 2020

The course is good but requires a lot of homework if you are rusty on probability/statistics...

par Seeun P

11 nov. 2017

Very Useful

It was little difficult to understand what the professor , but anyway it was good.

par Pierre-Nicolas J

31 oct. 2021

Very good! Many exercises - of an appropriate level - helping understand the content

par Raman K

8 avr. 2017

Steep learning curve. really taxed my thinking capacity. I enjoyed it thoroughly!

par LittleStone

12 nov. 2016

A very good course which enlights me the study of bayesian statistics, thank you.

par Luciano F R F

17 nov. 2016

Unfortunately I could not finish the course in due time. But it is very useful.

par cyndee f

26 janv. 2021

Would have liked more practice problems but all-in-all, a good crash course.

par Maria C B J A

22 févr. 2018

Good course , but contains some challenging material .Thank you Professor L

par Damien P

23 févr. 2017

Good course, but in my opinion misses of lectures/pdf to ease understanding.

par Gyuho S

28 juin 2018

It was a nice introduction course. Not too heavy. I really enjoyed it.