Chevron Left
Retour à Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis par Université de Californie à Santa Cruz

4.6
étoiles
3,040 évaluations

À propos du cours

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

Meilleurs avis

GS

31 août 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JB

16 oct. 2020

An excellent course with some good hands on exercises in both R and excel. Not for the faint of heart mathematically speaking, assumes a competent understanding of statistics and probability going in

Filtrer par :

576 - 600 sur 780 Avis pour Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

par Jerry S

13 mars 2017

The lectures were good, but I hope more background materials can be released. Understanding the topics needs a relative solid mathematical background. Although having completed the course, I am still confused about some concepts in this course.

par Brian M

21 mai 2020

Really enjoyable.

My first free course, so this may be way off the mark in terms of norms, but I would have appreciated if supplementary material was either provided or suggested for doing more practice exercises, with worked through examples.

par Akshay N

4 sept. 2017

The course was excellent !...Giving a good overview of the basics needed to navigate through this topic. However, it would have been really great if some specific examples with respect to medicine and public health practice were incorporated

par Jakob W

15 mars 2018

I found it to be a solid course. It has given me better grasp of the basics. I also found it a bit dry, and significant time spent on equations rather than high-level understanding. This is fine, as long as you know what you are in for!

par zqin

7 janv. 2020

Overall the class is great, especially the first two weeks' content is simple and well-explained. But from the week 3 to the week 4, the professor only writes many formula and doesn't provide enough examples to explain those formula.

par P G

17 juin 2019

Very high quality course. Could use some modifications (e.g. few more applied examples for regression using specific priors, MCMC etc.) and implementing some simple metaphors to introduce some topics before jumping into the maths.

par Masoud A M

16 août 2020

The Course was concise and helpful to build a foundation for Bayesian statistics. However, it is not recommended for those who has weak or no background in statistics, as the explanation are not thoroughly explained by details.

par Curt J B

20 nov. 2020

The course is quite difficult to comprehend with a loose background on stats, but the lessons prove to be interesting especially when applied to sample experiments. Eager to try the next course on Bayesian Statistics.

par Yahia E

4 mai 2019

Very good course for beginning bayesian inference. The syllabus is easy to follow, but I also think one could benefit even more by complementing the lectures with other sources (books or other youtube explanation)

par Ran L

12 août 2021

The first 3 weeks are excerlent scheduled. I took statistical inference course in university, but still confuse the content. But for week 4, whtn includes more advance material, this course just skip many detail.

par Paul B

19 août 2020

The course provides a good explanation of a complex topic. I had trouble following some of the statistical mathematics but was able to understand the concepts and the different range of possible applications.

par Bojan B

9 avr. 2017

Short course that's actually mostly theoretical with a bit of R/Excel analysis. This fitted my needs perfectly. My only suggestion is that they should have released more comprehensive notes for the lectures.

par Raja G

11 déc. 2019

The course content is great and provides a good introduction to bayesian statistics. The assignments could be a little more challenging as a lot of the questions require just plugging numbers into formulae.

par Leszek B

15 janv. 2018

I could grab the concept of Bayesian statistics but did not find the course fully self-contained. I had to look elsewhere to fully understand details. More complete supplementary material could help a lot.

par Marc S

10 oct. 2018

Good use of R but maybe use the actual coefficient from the equations themselves rather than picking numbers pre-selected which may confuse.

Unable to look at discussion forum without posting myself.

par JIONG L

21 avr. 2021

This is a good course for reviewing basic concepts of statistics, and good for starting learning Bayesian, as introduced as a basic course. If you want to learn deeper, go and find another course!

par Michael D

19 févr. 2020

the notes for the lectures are missing.

In my opinion the notes, which includes the video materials could be very useful.

the course was good. I learnt some new concepts in bayesian thinking.

par Enrique D T

23 juin 2020

Good course. As a recommendation to improve it, it would have been very helpful if the lectures (PDF) given with each lesson included all the formulas and explanations given in the videos.

par Michael M

25 sept. 2019

Very clear and informative. Would like a more extensive and combined reference material (PDF, so less need to lookup e.g. definitions of effective sample size for various distributions).

par Danil G

9 déc. 2019

It was a good course for me to get familiar with the new perspective on statistics. Thank you!

Maybe, some extended practice exercise at the end of the course would make it even better)

par Gurpreet

26 nov. 2016

A good course but neither notes nor lectures were not in much details. But still it was worth my time. I strongly recommend it if you want a subtle introduction to Bayesian Statistics.

par Satish C S

28 août 2021

This course is vary helpful for the understanding of the basics of Bayesian analysis. The course material are fantastic as well as the teacher. Good introductory Course in My opinion.

par Steven S

7 juil. 2017

Great course (and teacher). Assumes some basic highschool level for math. With experience in frequentist statistics, but not all the distributions this course was "easy" to follow.

par Antonio H

20 févr. 2021

Great course in a difficult subject. Well structured. Requires some previous knowledge otherwise difficult to follow. Big thanks to professor Lee for bringing to us this content.

par Óscar S F

19 sept. 2017

Very straight-to-the-point course. Very dense, though, for a newbe in bayesian terms and concepts. But I definitely suggest it to undertand priors and posterior concepts. Thanks!