Chevron Left
Retour à Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis par Université de Californie à Santa Cruz

4.6
étoiles
2,817 évaluations
734 avis

À propos du cours

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

Meilleurs avis

GS
31 août 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JB
16 oct. 2020

An excellent course with some good hands on exercises in both R and excel. Not for the faint of heart mathematically speaking, assumes a competent understanding of statistics and probability going in

Filtrer par :

226 - 250 sur 726 Avis pour Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

par Zhirui W

26 sept. 2017

Become very clear about all the formula and derivation of Bayesian Statistics after taking this course. Strongly recommended.

par Eduardo M

4 janv. 2019

Very good material! The Prof explains very easily the contents of the course. Great course! I recommend. E. Martins, Brazil

par 王颖亮

5 août 2018

The video content is not too much. However, students can learn and practise a lot from supplementary materials and quizzes.

par Salaheldin G

26 déc. 2017

Very useful crash course in Bayesian Statistics. It requires some basic knowledge in statistics and probability as stated.

par Miles D R

15 août 2019

This course was dense, concise, and yet easy to follow for individuals that are fairly comfortable with basic statistics.

par Francisco J S G

26 août 2018

A really hard course but useful for those who want to know more about statistics and how it is related to Bayes' theorem.

par Álvaro C Q A

27 mars 2018

It's a good introductory course to Bayesian statistics, a second part with Gibbs Sampling, Markov and MCMC would be nice.

par Jack

17 mai 2018

The teacher is excellent and charming and the course is also easy to follow. However, with more exercise will be better!

par Georgios P

24 févr. 2017

Very good introduction to baysian concepts and very helpful in understanding the difference with frequentist statistics.

par Shakir B

3 août 2020

Initially I was a bit put off. But what a compilation of well thought set of lectures and quizzes! Thoroughly enjoyed.

par Бызов А

27 mai 2018

Marvellous course! Thank you very much! I would really appreciate, if you'll create an advanced version of this course

par Flavio P

10 août 2017

Very interesting. It can help taking notes during the course... to avoid going again through it and take them ex-post.

par kacl780tr

6 juil. 2017

Excellent course, although it would have been nice to get more content on uninformative priors and Fisher information.

par 张宁

24 sept. 2016

This course are excellent and Thanks for Prof for offering the course. I've learned a lot from the course. Thank you.

par 郭冰

10 mars 2017

I have learned a lot from this course. As there is not course like this one in my univeristy, I really appreiate it.

par M J H

22 août 2021

Great starting point to study bayesian statistics, though it requires some previous knowledge on basic statistics.

par Zach K

3 août 2020

I learned a ton about statistics and probability distributions. It was great prep for my machine learning classes.

par Xilu W

19 nov. 2016

I'm a graduate student in mechanical engineering. Thanks for the open course, it is really convenient and helpful!

par Artur A B

21 août 2019

Very useful course, described a basic understanding behind Bayesian theory and sequential updating of posteriors.

par Harsh V D

6 août 2017

A very well designed and productive course for anyone looking to brush up his/her concepts on Bayesian Statistics

par Andrew N

22 oct. 2016

wrote in my comment.

The course is extremely well presented and the difficulty level of the excercises is perfect.

par Stephen H

17 mars 2019

A very nice introduction to Bayesian Statistics in a couple of hours. The course is quite intuitive and concise.

par Travis J M

27 déc. 2020

4.6 Stars. Thank you Dr. Lee for taking the time to provide this class for the World for free, I learned a lot.

par Erkan

17 déc. 2019

A very nice brief overview of the concept. Good for beginners and for people who want to refresh their memory.

par Maojie T

2 déc. 2019

A good course, even it's not very deep, it still can teach people something fresh and comprehensive knowledge.