Chevron Left
Retour à Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis par Université de Californie à Santa Cruz

4.6
étoiles
2,853 évaluations
743 avis

À propos du cours

This course introduces the Bayesian approach to statistics, starting with the concept of probability and moving to the analysis of data. We will learn about the philosophy of the Bayesian approach as well as how to implement it for common types of data. We will compare the Bayesian approach to the more commonly-taught Frequentist approach, and see some of the benefits of the Bayesian approach. In particular, the Bayesian approach allows for better accounting of uncertainty, results that have more intuitive and interpretable meaning, and more explicit statements of assumptions. This course combines lecture videos, computer demonstrations, readings, exercises, and discussion boards to create an active learning experience. For computing, you have the choice of using Microsoft Excel or the open-source, freely available statistical package R, with equivalent content for both options. The lectures provide some of the basic mathematical development as well as explanations of philosophy and interpretation. Completion of this course will give you an understanding of the concepts of the Bayesian approach, understanding the key differences between Bayesian and Frequentist approaches, and the ability to do basic data analyses....

Meilleurs avis

GS
31 août 2017

Good intro to Bayesian Statistics. Covers the basic concepts. Workload is reasonable and quizzes/exercises are helpful. Could include more exercises and additional backgroung/future reading materials.

JB
16 oct. 2020

An excellent course with some good hands on exercises in both R and excel. Not for the faint of heart mathematically speaking, assumes a competent understanding of statistics and probability going in

Filtrer par :

526 - 550 sur 736 Avis pour Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis

par Thierry C

30 sept. 2019

The course was well explained and there were several exercises pushing the learner to understand the logic behind the mathematical concept. I think it is a suitable class for people with already a certain level of statistics knowledge, even though all concepts are well explained.

par Jose N d l R

17 avr. 2017

I think that, besides lesson 11 and 12, everything was very well explained. I was a bit confused with lessons 11 and 12 since I am not new to econometrics. Perhaps I found it confusing the theory background related to the lessons themselves. Just my opinion, very good course.

par Praveen K

1 juin 2020

The course was very well designed, I got to learn about a lot of new things in statistics that I had to understand. But for a Data Analyst working on large data sets and primarily working on ML this course is far too basic. Also, some of the concepts can be explained better.

par Rakulan S

25 juil. 2021

V​ery concise and informative introduction to Bayesian statistics. Requires a fair bit of research besides just watching the course videos. But that only adds to the fun. Feel much more confident in my ability to estimate uncertainties in model parameters / predictions now.

par Łukasz F

5 févr. 2019

I really liked the course.

What I think could be nice improvement would be more nsightful notes. Which means, that after every video, there should be a separate sheet with all the formulas being described in more detail, so that you can refer to them any time during quizes.

par Thomas J M

21 mai 2018

Overall the course is pretty good. They breakdown the concepts into clear and concise lectures. My only grip, is that the quizzes occur a little too frequently. They really interrupt the flow of the class. I would definitely prefer them spaced in 30-60 minute interval.

par Ekaterini T

31 oct. 2018

I found the need to search for most of the material needed to understand the lessons in other sources. Other than than it was a relatively easy class, which covers nearly the basics. This is not a tutorial on Data Analysis on R, although a short introduction is provided.

par Mohd S

18 nov. 2019

Course covers the concept in a very simple way. Examples and assignments are very good.

However some of the statements made throughout the lectures needs more explanation , the course did not dedicate any videos to get familiar with terminology related to probability.

par Luiz G S S

17 avr. 2020

It is a really interesting course. However, I think it should include more examples and meaningful ways to estimates some parameters. For example, how can I estimate alpha and beta for an Inverse-Gamma distribution in order to obtain a prior for the sigma-squared?

par h

14 janv. 2017

Pen hard to see against shirt. Was mildly irritating to wait for prof to write out stuff, maybe prewrite it?

Went too fast forward for me, would've liked complementary optional material, eg extra quizzes, to help understand and get used to the tougher parts.

par Paul B

8 oct. 2020

Honestly wish there were more practice problems that I could do outside of the quizzes. Just make them optional. It's just tough to iterate on the same problems and work to figure them out. Otherwise I really enjoyed the course and found it really helpful.

par Katsu

9 juil. 2017

Great introductions to Bayesian statistics and inference. Quiz is actually not easy just by passively viewing videos, so taking notes during lectures is strongly recommended. Do not be afraid the Honor quiz...they are not so different from the normal ones.

par Ahmed A T

8 oct. 2021

the course forms a very good basis for those who want to learn the mathematics behind Bayesian statistics and it had been a lot of fun. A lot of concepts that had been vague were clarified to me during this course appreciate all effort by Prof. Lee.

par Valerio C

19 avr. 2021

Globally a good course, although it is a bit rushed towards the end on the part that concerns Bayesian linear regression. I would probably add a fifth week to explain that in more detail, relying less on software and more on developing the maths.

par Elguellab A

29 janv. 2019

Likely course and practical: it help us to understand some basic notion for bayesian inference. But Some concepts are less clear and I think need more development and explication (like effective sample size, Jeffreys prior). Great job over all.

par Jerry S

13 mars 2017

The lectures were good, but I hope more background materials can be released. Understanding the topics needs a relative solid mathematical background. Although having completed the course, I am still confused about some concepts in this course.

par Brian M

21 mai 2020

Really enjoyable.

My first free course, so this may be way off the mark in terms of norms, but I would have appreciated if supplementary material was either provided or suggested for doing more practice exercises, with worked through examples.

par DR A N

4 sept. 2017

The course was excellent !...Giving a good overview of the basics needed to navigate through this topic. However, it would have been really great if some specific examples with respect to medicine and public health practice were incorporated

par Jakob W

15 mars 2018

I found it to be a solid course. It has given me better grasp of the basics. I also found it a bit dry, and significant time spent on equations rather than high-level understanding. This is fine, as long as you know what you are in for!

par zqin

7 janv. 2020

Overall the class is great, especially the first two weeks' content is simple and well-explained. But from the week 3 to the week 4, the professor only writes many formula and doesn't provide enough examples to explain those formula.

par P G

17 juin 2019

Very high quality course. Could use some modifications (e.g. few more applied examples for regression using specific priors, MCMC etc.) and implementing some simple metaphors to introduce some topics before jumping into the maths.

par Masoud A M

16 août 2020

The Course was concise and helpful to build a foundation for Bayesian statistics. However, it is not recommended for those who has weak or no background in statistics, as the explanation are not thoroughly explained by details.

par Curt J B

20 nov. 2020

The course is quite difficult to comprehend with a loose background on stats, but the lessons prove to be interesting especially when applied to sample experiments. Eager to try the next course on Bayesian Statistics.

par Yahia E

4 mai 2019

Very good course for beginning bayesian inference. The syllabus is easy to follow, but I also think one could benefit even more by complementing the lectures with other sources (books or other youtube explanation)

par Ran L

12 août 2021

The first 3 weeks are excerlent scheduled. I took statistical inference course in university, but still confuse the content. But for week 4, whtn includes more advance material, this course just skip many detail.