Chevron Left
Retour à Bayesian Methods for Machine Learning

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Bayesian Methods for Machine Learning par Université nationale de recherche, École des hautes études en sciences économiques

4.6
430 notes
117 avis

À propos du cours

People apply Bayesian methods in many areas: from game development to drug discovery. They give superpowers to many machine learning algorithms: handling missing data, extracting much more information from small datasets. Bayesian methods also allow us to estimate uncertainty in predictions, which is a desirable feature for fields like medicine. When applied to deep learning, Bayesian methods allow you to compress your models a hundred folds, and automatically tune hyperparameters, saving your time and money. In six weeks we will discuss the basics of Bayesian methods: from how to define a probabilistic model to how to make predictions from it. We will see how one can automate this workflow and how to speed it up using some advanced techniques. We will also see applications of Bayesian methods to deep learning and how to generate new images with it. We will see how new drugs that cure severe diseases be found with Bayesian methods. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Meilleurs avis

JG

Nov 18, 2017

This course is little difficult. But I could find very helpful.\n\nAlso, I didn't find better course on Bayesian anywhere on the net. So I will recommend this if anyone wants to die into bayesian.

LB

Jun 07, 2019

Excellent course! The perfect balance of clear and relevant material and challenging but reasonable exercises. My only critique would be that one of the lecturers sounds very sleepy.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 111 Examens pour Bayesian Methods for Machine Learning

par Alya S

Oct 29, 2019

Very well structured and delivered course. The explanations are generally easy to follow and reproduce. Highly enjoyable and instructive. Assignments are relevant. It would have been great to have an assignment for the Dirichlet Allocation this would have improved the overall understanding of the algorithm. Overall very satisfied I took this lecture. Thanks very much to the lecturers.

par Stephane H

Nov 13, 2019

Great course, quite hard.

par Debasish G

Nov 14, 2019

This is one of the bets and advanced courses on machine learning that I have done so far. Loved the math part and the programming part. This course has the best coverage of expectation maximization algorithms that I have seen so far. Absolutely loved the course.

par Milos V

Jan 08, 2019

As PhD in physics I found lecture super-boring (too much theory and derivation) and irrelevant to the practical assignment. On the other hand, most of practical assignments are explained very pedagogical manner (except week 5!). As for the first course - I would recommend more code-related lectures.

par MASSON

Apr 06, 2019

Good course.

Too much theory, not enough practice

par Joris D

Jul 17, 2018

I can not recommend this course highly enough. Unfortunately I can't give it 5 stars since some of the computer assignments were outdated with respect to the tools they utilize (e.g. arguments in the assignments not existing anymore). Still, let that not discourage you. If you ever mentally disconnect when people start talking about Gibbs sampling, mean field approximations, intractable variational lower bounds, or other big fancy words, this is definitely the course for you. You'll discover that all these things are actually quite straightforward.

par Hugo R C R

Jun 19, 2018

It probably offers the most comprehensive overview of Bayesian methods online. However, it would be nice these methods translate into practical data science problems found in the industry.

par Chiang y

Jun 04, 2018

We may need more help for homework format or quiz answer format. It took me lots time for solving it.

par 冯迪(Feng D

Feb 26, 2018

The materials of this lecture are awesome. Very useful! However, the introduction of project assignments are very confusing, especially the final project. It took me hours to understand what the task is really about, and what should we really do.

par Olaf W

Jun 26, 2018

Great class. Well presented material. Sometimes the path from introduction to advanced material could use a few steps in between.

par Mauro D S

Jul 03, 2018

Hard material, but very well explained. The peer-review exercises are interesting as well, but if the reviewer does not understand the material, I wonder how useful they are. Open research question I guess (i.e. how to make sure the student reviewer understands what he is reviewing-are there any baseline reviews established a student should go through first?)!

par Guy K

Mar 19, 2018

a very important material is covered in a clear manner.

some of the labs could have been more effective (e.g. avoid unnecessary mixing between tensorflow and Keras)

Strongly recommended course ! great curriculum !

par Alexander E

Jun 02, 2018

Excellent material! I got new very useful knowledge. I really like the final project. Although course design is not perfect. It would be great to have additional content (links or documents), lectures are not enough to pass the tests. Also some assigments have issues (code and grader errors).

par 魏力

Jul 21, 2018

Good course. But some suggestions: topic about variational inference or variational EM in theory is quite tough, better to have equivalent level of assignment for better practical understanding. Personally, I feel VAE is a very simplified application case.

par Maury S

Aug 22, 2018

Excellent, detailed content for people wanting to understand variational methods for machine learning. Fairly high degree of math and statistics required as a prerequisite, as well as moderate ability as a Python programmer. Does not get 5 stars because some of the assignments had confusing instructions, and availability of instructors and others to asnwer questions was poor.

par 洪贤斌

Aug 30, 2018

Good course but a bit difficult and the peer review is helpless

par Bart-Jan V

Nov 23, 2018

Great course, great material, though difficult to follow a non native English speaker being non-english myself. Though the instructors know what they are talking about, they don't tell it in their own words but rather seem to have practiced their text.

Another important point is that it took me a lot of time to follow (pre)calculus and probability theory courses, to be able to understand this course. The course was a nice motivation to do that. I'm glad I did, because now I can understand and use VAE's and bayesian optimization (and some other useful stuff)

par Ishaan B

Nov 28, 2018

The content+course structure was phenomenal. The assignment environment setup was a bit cumbersome at times, but the level of difficulty in the assignments really solidified the understanding of the course material.

par Mehrdad S

Sep 03, 2019

This is a great course for some of the advance topics in Baysian ML. The course starts off great and provides great explanation of the basic topics such as Conjugate, EM algorithm, etc. The related HW are also intelligently designed and fun to solve. But, as it reaches the weeks 5 and 6, things starts to fall apart and the materials are not presented and explained in the best possible way. I think the instructors try to teach many topics which requires a little bit of patience in a short amount of time. Overall, I believe its a course worthy of try, certainly provides great exposure to some of the advance topics but requires further follow ups and studies to completely digest all the materials.

par Marcin L

Nov 14, 2019

The course was great, I've learned a lot about Bayesian perspective on Machine Learning. The level was satisfying, tasks and quizzes were demanding. It has been very interesting material to learn about.

I would give 5 stars, but eventually gave 4 because it had two drawbacks. First is, assignments are written in tensorflow v1, and occasionally there were issues with compatibility in some libraries. I don't know when the codes were last time refreshed, but unfortunately open source technologies tend to become deprecated very quickly, and the time has already affected course materials. Secondly, some of the most important derivations were made on blackboard, and are not included in downloadable slides. I would really like to keep them in some files, but the're not available.

Apart from these minor drawbacks, it's still a great course and definitely worth learning from.

par Artem E

Jun 03, 2018

Not so good as I thought. Some times is too complicated and dry. Need more balance. I hope, that guys can better. But I want to say thanks to authors. You did a great job! Good luck.

par Lavinia T

Jan 29, 2018

The trainer's English is not very good, and the explanations provided are insufficient.

par Siwei Y

Feb 20, 2018

给三星是因为所选的 TOPICS 很好, 真的很好。但是,说到老师的讲解,就真的不敢恭维了。从逻辑性到流畅性都让人捏把汗啊。希望改进。

par Pengchong L

Aug 28, 2018

Not very well prepared. Contents are dry and not well illustrated. Failed to explain points that are made in the videos. The lecturers are reading from scripts and look very nervous.

par Beibit

Jun 27, 2019

As the description suggests this course is very advanced and math heavy.