Chevron Left
Retour à Basic Statistics

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Basic Statistics par Université d'Amsterdam

4.6
étoiles
3,469 évaluations
881 avis

À propos du cours

Understanding statistics is essential to understand research in the social and behavioral sciences. In this course you will learn the basics of statistics; not just how to calculate them, but also how to evaluate them. This course will also prepare you for the next course in the specialization - the course Inferential Statistics. In the first part of the course we will discuss methods of descriptive statistics. You will learn what cases and variables are and how you can compute measures of central tendency (mean, median and mode) and dispersion (standard deviation and variance). Next, we discuss how to assess relationships between variables, and we introduce the concepts correlation and regression. The second part of the course is concerned with the basics of probability: calculating probabilities, probability distributions and sampling distributions. You need to know about these things in order to understand how inferential statistics work. The third part of the course consists of an introduction to methods of inferential statistics - methods that help us decide whether the patterns we see in our data are strong enough to draw conclusions about the underlying population we are interested in. We will discuss confidence intervals and significance tests. You will not only learn about all these statistical concepts, you will also be trained to calculate and generate these statistics yourself using freely available statistical software....

Meilleurs avis

PG
20 avr. 2016

This is a nice course...thanks for providing such a great content from University of Amserdam.\n\nPlease allow us to complete the course as I have to wait till the session starts for week 2 lessions.

JB
8 sept. 2020

Thank You, @University_of_Amsterdam for this wonderful course. I have really benefited a lot from this course. Thank you, Dr. Matthijs Rooduijn for making this course so lively and interesting!!

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 862 Avis pour Basic Statistics

par M. M

14 janv. 2017

Whenever I read and try to understanding about statistic, I feel it's very difficult and confusing. But with the simple method of this video to teach me about statistic, now I feel that my love parameter about statistic is increased. Thank you very much.

par amy G

11 avr. 2016

The instructors are awesome to convey the concepts using examples. They actually made learning statistics to be fun which is unexpected and unseen elsewhere (e.g. Universities, other stats courses). I have been enjoying myself in learning. Thank you!

par Arman B K

31 oct. 2018

Great course for beginners or those like myself who just wanted a quick revision over the material before going on to the more advanced stuff. You get a very good start with R which is a very valuable software to learn both for academia and industry.

par Avipsa A

18 mai 2020

I am planning to get my Masters in Data Science, and taking this course does make me feel a lot more confident in Statistics. I had no background on Statistics but the videos and assignments made it easy yet challenging enough to help me learn more.

par Xi C

12 août 2020

A great course. Very clear illustration of all the basic and useful statistic knowledge. All the contents are fun and close to our lives, thus easy to comprehend. I have learnt a lot from this course. Many thanks to the people who made this course.

par Hakim G

28 avr. 2020

Very good course and good teachers. The overall pace is gradual, yet sustained. Week 4 is a bit less clear and accessible, otherwise everything is well taught. I have finally managed to overcome my fear and traumas around statistics, thanks to you!

par Claude C

5 mars 2016

Very good introductory course to statistics and probability. This course is both entertaining and rigorous. I recommend this course without any hesitation to beginners and people who want to refresh their knowledge and skills in basic statistics.

par shengxun y

16 juil. 2019

The lecturers explain basic statistics concepts very clearly, and very interestingly. The Datacamp quizes are very helpful for me to further understand the concepts, methods etc and give me some hands-on on using R to solve statistics problems.

par Özge Ç

19 janv. 2017

I've first time attended an online course. Basic statistic is great for specialization both students and employers. Syllabus of lessons become simple to complex, so it get easier learning. 1st week of the course about to finish. Thanks for all.

par Tomasz H

29 déc. 2016

Very clear, very good visuals, easy to follow. Highly recommended. I only wished the DataCamp examples were in Python, not R, but I understand R is a more natural choice for non-programmers. The lab and the presented theory are well synced.

par Aaron B

18 août 2016

A very engaging approach to online teaching, that is very effective at keeping you from zoning out while staring at boring slides of text with someone speaking over top of it. I wish more online learning courses would follow this example.

par Miguel C

20 mai 2020

Exceptional course. While concepts may be introductory, it was superb plus having the opportunity of getting familiarized with programming in R studio. Overall, great introduction to basic statistical concepts and programming languages.

par Saurabh G

28 août 2019

This is one of the best designed MOOC. The kind of effort that has gone into making this and taking care of the its usability is just commendable. This will go a long way in influencing me to see University of Amsterdam as my new home.

par Gabriel E F d P

6 mai 2020

The videos were super! Clear and entertaining. I am sure that the knowledge I acquired in this course will be valuable in my researcher career! Thank you to the professors and all staff involved in the preparation of the videos!

par Antonio V

10 mars 2016

Warm congratulations to the Team for putting together a statistics course that will not scare 90% of the course participants from day one. Well paced, well explained, nice humorous cases and step-by-step explanations. WELL DONE

par Zoltan T

22 mai 2019

The 7th week needs clarification on what confidence we use in the tables on 1 and 2 tail T tests, in fact I believe the T-table Coursera has is probably a 2-tail table rather then 1 tail. Other than that, it was a good course.

par Ute T

13 mars 2019

Very well explained and timed in a good flow. All important infos are there. The handouts are correct, and the videos correspond with audio/handouts. It is very nice that the quizz has hints for those answers that were wrong.

par bisheng

8 mars 2016

I am at the third week, that is very well explained. Sometimes I may need to watch the video again, but in general I am very satisfied. I think it could be good both for people who want to learn and people who want to review.

par Anand P

9 avr. 2016

Very illustrative relatable examples taken to explain in this course which indeed covering most of the concepts in the field of Statistics. Totally found the course very likeable and matching the expectations I had in mind.

par Vaibhav V (

13 juin 2020

This was a very nice and interesting course. I really liked the way it was arranged. The R Studio practice was educative and learnt the basic through DataCamp. A good course for beginners to learn statistics using Rstudio.

par Estefanía O R

13 avr. 2020

I thought I was never going to be able to understand statistics until I took this course. I'm really glad I stuck to it, because the topics are explained in such a friendly way, along with great and uncomplicated examples.

par Simon K

3 mai 2019

Really well put together, they made it quite fun, produced at a high quality. However it not easy - there were some things that took me a lot of researching to understand. I guess that's the challenge of online learning...

par Ariane A

22 avr. 2016

Great and clear videos, they make it very easy to understand all the concepts even if you don't know anything about the topic. The R-lab assignments are a great tool for getting usedt to working with what you have learned.

par Paul C

25 sept. 2017

I have had to reschedule this course several times because of time constrains. However, now that I am picking it up to finish it I feel like for the first time in a statistics course I remember what I have learned so far.

par Hardik G

11 sept. 2016

This is a brilliant course to learn statistics from scratch. The instructors are too good and their teaching methods and examples are very lucid. A must visit course for everyone who wants to get their statistics correct