Chevron Left
Retour à Basic Elements of Design: Design Principles and Software Overview

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Basic Elements of Design: Design Principles and Software Overview par Université du Colorado à Boulder

4.7
étoiles
771 évaluations
175 avis

À propos du cours

Designing for an organization, while requiring technical skill, is not just about knowing how to use a pagination program such as InDesign or manipulate photos using Photoshop. A designer is a visual storyteller, a person who pairs words with images and typography to best convey information to an audience. Good design evokes emotion and presents the news of the day with clarity and the proper tone. A business card, brochure, or website that has good design provides content that is more inviting, more easily comprehensible and is faster to process. Design isn’t about “making it look pretty,” it’s also about content, layout and audience analysis....

Meilleurs avis

O
21 août 2020

Thank you for making such a good online course. Designing is my hobby, I didn't know what's behind the good, simple and eye-catchy designs, but I know some of the basic principles know. Thanks.

LP
18 oct. 2020

It is really full of knowledge that they shared and lots of articles that contain relevant topics that help me to add my knowledge and wisdom about design. Thank you DOST! Thank you, Coursera!

Filtrer par :

151 - 175 sur 178 Avis pour Basic Elements of Design: Design Principles and Software Overview

par Lisa G

21 nov. 2020

This is a great overview of material that I have used intuitively, but did not have the rationale for prior to this course. I wish that the Coursera platform for taking notes while watching the video allowed the viewer to drag the transcript to the side of the video, to allow reading and saving notes while listening more smoothly. Once in the note section below, it is cumbersome to keep listening and to highlight the notes. Otherwise, this has been a very accessible course. Thank you!

par Diana R T

26 nov. 2020

The content is great, but I find maybe a little bit unneccesary to learn about all history of design considering that the course is for non-designers, and the sound in some videos could be better, but other than that everything is great.

par Danae D

13 oct. 2020

Thank you very much for this course! I like the combination of text, examples and videos. I would like more info , not just in theoritical base, such as some basic first steps in illustrator or photoshop or just an example done.

par Antonella L G

25 févr. 2021

Es un curso muy interesante para principiantes, te da algunos fundamentos básicos para ir arrancando, y si bien te quedas con ganas de seguir, está muy bueno como introducción al diseño, para quienes no han hecho nada antes.

par Diana P

7 juil. 2021

I have learned SO much from this course already. The quizzes could be a little longer and harder - I like a challenge! I would have liked to get more feedback on my project, but I've enjoyed this so far!

par Rumple S

4 déc. 2021

Loved the course as an introduction for sure, but I thought the peer review was a little much - it's a lot to have to come back to over and over when hardly anyone has submitted their work.

par Francis A

22 oct. 2020

The course is short, but I had learned a lot in designing. Knowing the basics of designing makes it much more easier to do than before. Thank you!

par María A P

14 août 2021

Would have like to get a professional feedback on the assignments, not just from classmates.

par Gaibul

3 févr. 2021

Love all the principles that were taught. However, it should be a little more rigorous.

par PAWNARKAR R R

9 avr. 2021

Very helpful course . mentor instructed well . All basics are cleared

par Deleted A

19 août 2020

Interesting and good overall, but perhaps a bit too simple/easy.

par Saqlain A

25 sept. 2020

Great course for the basic understanding of graphic designing

par Hafiz M T

22 déc. 2020

A good introductory course. Thank you Madam Lori Poole.

par Pawan k

20 août 2020

fantastic tutorials easily to understandable,

par Thais X G

22 sept. 2020

Introduction to Graphic Design. It is OK!

par Sara A

20 mai 2020

Good content, best instructor.

par Melissa P

8 avr. 2020

Enjoyed this course!

par DHAMSE A S

29 août 2020

GREAT EXPERIENCE!!!

par Ruhma f

27 avr. 2020

very helpful to me!

par Alaa O

7 oct. 2021

easy and short

par Sudeepti P

27 août 2019

Good course!

par Becky B

15 nov. 2021

The "Software Overview" is confined to a 3:45 video that lists the names of various programs but does not provide additional information, walkthroughs, or even screenshots of the interfaces. Most other instructional videos are 5 minutes or under and are light on content (though not without it).

"Module Readings & Videos" sections are listed as an hour of instruction. However, these sections are lists of hyperlinks to things like museums, graphic design associations, and magazines without concrete instructions as to where a student should focus their attention or specifically what they should get from the resource.

Discussion groups were often entirely (or almost entirely) empty of discussion, at least during my experience of the course.

Assignments are peer-reviewed, so don't expect a great deal of helpful feedback.

The course says it takes 11 hours to complete but I was able to finish in about 3 hours, without feeling like I'd rushed and without skipping anything at all.

2 stars because I learned a few new terms and there were a couple of questions I had that were not addressed in the course, which lead me to some very helpful resources elsewhere. So I did get something out of this, just not what I had hoped for.

par Nandan P

30 nov. 2020

This course is suited well for middle school students because of the extreme simple concepts, lack of nuanced detail, or unique real life examples. It seem that the interesting parts of a real graphic design course were stripped away and the bare bones, 101 of graphic design was left behind (e.g. color, spacing, alignment), concepts you learn when making a power point in high school. Would recommend skipping and going pursuing a real course.

par Robbieana L

8 janv. 2022

Interesting, fast-paced course with good content, but very impersonal. It's a shame that 40% of your final grade depends on classmates' rating of your poster submission and there is no interaction with or feedback from the instructor. It is difficult to get a sense of which classmates are serious about the assignment and as we are all beginners, it does not seem to make sense that we are grading each other's assignments.

par Rebecca P

24 avr. 2021

Terrible instructor. She's only reading text and stammers along the way. It's too bad because the content actually is interesting but I can't get past the way she narrates.