Chevron Left
Retour à Basic Elements of Design: Design Principles and Software Overview

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Basic Elements of Design: Design Principles and Software Overview par Université du Colorado à Boulder

4.7
étoiles
801 évaluations
179 avis

À propos du cours

Designing for an organization, while requiring technical skill, is not just about knowing how to use a pagination program such as InDesign or manipulate photos using Photoshop. A designer is a visual storyteller, a person who pairs words with images and typography to best convey information to an audience. Good design evokes emotion and presents the news of the day with clarity and the proper tone. A business card, brochure, or website that has good design provides content that is more inviting, more easily comprehensible and is faster to process. Design isn’t about “making it look pretty,” it’s also about content, layout and audience analysis....

Meilleurs avis

O

21 août 2020

Thank you for making such a good online course. Designing is my hobby, I didn't know what's behind the good, simple and eye-catchy designs, but I know some of the basic principles know. Thanks.

LP

18 oct. 2020

It is really full of knowledge that they shared and lots of articles that contain relevant topics that help me to add my knowledge and wisdom about design. Thank you DOST! Thank you, Coursera!

Filtrer par :

176 - 184 sur 184 Avis pour Basic Elements of Design: Design Principles and Software Overview

par Alaa O

7 oct. 2021

easy and short

par Sudeepti P

27 août 2019

Good course!

par Becky B

15 nov. 2021

The "Software Overview" is confined to a 3:45 video that lists the names of various programs but does not provide additional information, walkthroughs, or even screenshots of the interfaces. Most other instructional videos are 5 minutes or under and are light on content (though not without it).

"Module Readings & Videos" sections are listed as an hour of instruction. However, these sections are lists of hyperlinks to things like museums, graphic design associations, and magazines without concrete instructions as to where a student should focus their attention or specifically what they should get from the resource.

Discussion groups were often entirely (or almost entirely) empty of discussion, at least during my experience of the course.

Assignments are peer-reviewed, so don't expect a great deal of helpful feedback.

The course says it takes 11 hours to complete but I was able to finish in about 3 hours, without feeling like I'd rushed and without skipping anything at all.

2 stars because I learned a few new terms and there were a couple of questions I had that were not addressed in the course, which lead me to some very helpful resources elsewhere. So I did get something out of this, just not what I had hoped for.

par Nandan P

30 nov. 2020

This course is suited well for middle school students because of the extreme simple concepts, lack of nuanced detail, or unique real life examples. It seem that the interesting parts of a real graphic design course were stripped away and the bare bones, 101 of graphic design was left behind (e.g. color, spacing, alignment), concepts you learn when making a power point in high school. Would recommend skipping and going pursuing a real course.

par Robbieana L T

8 janv. 2022

Interesting, fast-paced course with good content, but very impersonal. It's a shame that 40% of your final grade depends on classmates' rating of your poster submission and there is no interaction with or feedback from the instructor. It is difficult to get a sense of which classmates are serious about the assignment and as we are all beginners, it does not seem to make sense that we are grading each other's assignments.

par Rebecca P

24 avr. 2021

Terrible instructor. She's only reading text and stammers along the way. It's too bad because the content actually is interesting but I can't get past the way she narrates.

par Maria Y

31 août 2021

Super basic. No explanation of the tools. It is expected you'll learn tools (Creative Cloud) on your own, which is difficult and time consuming if you are new to the topic.

par Richard W

18 juin 2021

Terrible material and note taking is difficult would not recommend.

par Muhammad A

22 janv. 2021

I am not interested in this course