Chevron Left
Retour à Astrobiology: Exploring Other Worlds

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Astrobiology: Exploring Other Worlds par Université d'Arizona

4.9
étoiles
343 évaluations
135 avis

À propos du cours

How are astronomers approaching their search for life in the universe? What have we learned from the surge of exoplanets discoveries? How likely is it that Earth does not host the only life in the Universe? In this course we explore the field of astrobiology, an emerging multidisciplinary field. Progress in astrobiology is driven by telescopes on the ground and in space, and by new insights on how life emerged on Earth and its diversity. The topics in this course range from the science of how exoplanets are detected, to the chemistry that supports the argument that the ingredients for life are common in the Universe. We will follow the analyses of experts in chemistry, astronomy, geology and archaeology to build a strong foundation of understanding. By the final assignment, students will be equipped with the knowledge necessary to identify what makes a planet habitable, and how likely it is that life exists there. Students will graduate from this course informed about one of the most exciting fields in all of science, and ready to discuss the current exoplanet news stories and discoveries....

Meilleurs avis

BP

2 juil. 2020

This is my first course in coursera. The material and explanation given by the instructor was awesome. I really learned a lot. Peer graded assingments really helped me to knew the concept very well.

DW

11 sept. 2021

Excellent teaching style, easy to digest sometimes-difficult information, tests got to the main points of the sections, instructor has a nice, easy to follow style of delivering info. Great Course!

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 138 Avis pour Astrobiology: Exploring Other Worlds

par Joanne K

14 avr. 2021

This course was very interesting and I enjoyed it. I also learned some things that will help me in other areas, too,such as don't give up; there may be more than one answer to a question-consider answers carefully, and the final project was especially good in driving you to think carefully about many factors and possibilities and reasons for and against several candidates and options for a future exoplanet mission. That is, it really gets you thinking and not just memorizing rote facts. Grading others has benefits, too, realizing that others may have good points to consider, in addition to your own.

par Eila

8 juin 2021

Thoroughly enjoyed this scientific interdisciplinary course. I am now understand what and how we have discovered about the solar system and universe, what we are doing and what is planned. Also I thoroughly enjoyed the final assignment on planning a partial fantasy trip to an exoplanet of my choice. Great fun. I especially love podcast interviews by Professor Chris Impey with experts. Thank you so much. My certificate, along with Astronomy certificate and Einstein Special Relativity certificate are on my kitchen wall.

par Cindy R

15 févr. 2021

A completely engaging course with one of the best lecturers I have encountered on Coursera. Full of engaging lectures on a fascinating subject. Multiple quizzes to keep you on track. Fun projects (only fun if you like challenging projects!), and a course that makes the field of Astrobiology understandable to an every day non-astrobiologist. Dr. Impey has a way of explaining things that makes it all seem simple. I almost want to retake it!

par Joshua S

9 nov. 2020

An extremely well-structured course. The teaching methods used a very engaging, and the content is not too difficult to learn for complete novices to learn - like I was. There are some tasks to complete, but these turn out to be quite satisfying and rewarding and are never exhaustive or too extensive. My advice would be to try the course for 2 weeks out of the 6, to see what you think. Good luck!

par José L R C

13 juil. 2020

This course has surpassed my expectations. It covered an incredible array of topics related to Astrobiology and even proved the knowledge via assignments. Highly recommend for any beginners in the topic since the instructors combine terminology with images, examples, and even short movies. Also, the course is divided in such a way that each week's lessons and themes backup the ones ahead.

par Michael O

24 août 2020

This was a great course, lots to learn along the way. If you are interested in earning the certificate then be sure to keep on track and submit assignments on time or a day or two ahead if possible to anticipate for the delay of grading assignments. I can diffidently recommend this course for anyone interested in the field of Astrobiology or similar field such as Astronomy. Thanks!

par Robin E

2 janv. 2022

Professor Impey has put together another interesting, informative course! I particularly liked having the opportunity to apply my new knowledge via the Exoplanet Mission Proposal final project.

This is my second course with Dr. Impey. I am hopeful that he will create another course - he is a great professor who knows how to keep these somewhat-difficult subjects fun and lively.

par Gerard M

27 avr. 2021

Excellent course, I will recommend it to my friends, you learn a lot and it's important it is about life and Exoplanets, now I know what is the destiny of Humanity ! to reach the stars ... I would love Next Chapter to be about Synthetic life, A.I and bots our mandatory partners whenever we are ready to take off.

Congratulations to

Chris Impey an Excellent Professor

par Ragnar L

17 mai 2022

E​xcellent course. Excellent teacher. Fun. Enlightening. Inspiring. In Professor Impey's courses and podcasts on astronomy, physics, space exploration, and astrobiology you rarely hear him say "I don't know." He has deep and broad insights into all aspects of these disciplines. I recommend his astronomy and astrobiology courses on Coursera to any science student.

par Kimaya K

6 juil. 2020

I am very thankful to Professor Chris Impey and Coursera for this wonderful course. I was always curious about outside world and this course has helped me learn a lot.

I really liked the different structure of this course that is peer reviewed assignments and quizzes after every video.

Thanking the mentor for addressing every problem faced by the participants.

par T.J. E

16 juin 2020

Very thorough, accessible, and well organized introduction to a fascinating topic. Prof Impey creates a great workflow and progression, starting on grand themes and zooming in from there. This will be fascinating for anyone who likes to contemplate the stars, or is interested in cosmology, astronomy, the Fermi Paradox, or science in general.

par Louis C

30 nov. 2020

I appreciate The University of Arizona and especially Dr. Impey for putting this course on Coursera. I feel I really learned more in this course than a related one I took from Cal Tech where the TECHnical aspects made the material less translatable for understanding. That did not happen with this course. Splendid job!

par David B H

30 avr. 2020

I found this course fascinating. It included a wide variety of topics when considering exploration of other worlds. Very comprehensive and thought provoking. Anyone can enroll, but everyone will learn! A big thanks to Professor Chris Impey for his impeccable teaching and wealth of knowledge.

par Aleksandar M

23 juil. 2021

W​onderful and well-organized course that will introduce you to the basics of astrobiology. Lectures are interesting, diverse and most important concepts are explained in very simple and understandable language. Some prior knowledge of astronomy and biology is welcome, but not necessary.

par Alejandro A S

29 mars 2021

Excellent introduction to Astrobiology and the remote study of exoplanets, whose we have just discovered a few and there are plenty to discover in our galaxy. The course is demanding, you must get 100 in the quizzes and a written homework for each module, but that is a good way to learn.

par MILIND U

23 sept. 2020

It's a course and a subject which will stay with you for a long time as the knowledge gained is immensely rewarding and interdisciplinary. You'll get to know more about the universe by delving into various fields of science like physics, astronomy, genetics, biology, geology etc.

par Parth j

8 juil. 2020

I have learnt many new things about our universe after doing this course and Sir Chris Impey really makes all the complex stuff easy for us. If you are curious about the universe and often ask the question about Extra-terrestrial life , this course is for you, Thank You !

par Patrick P V

4 mai 2022

E​normously enjoyed taking part in this course. Prof. Chris Impey is a great teacher; his enthusiam and love for his field of work and clear explanations were of great help and cleared up the many questions there were. Looking forward to a sequel Chris!

par Phil A

7 nov. 2021

A truly informative and fascinating course.

My only criticism is that, while I accept that the USA still uses the Fahrenheit scale, most countries use the Celsius scale. It would be even better, as this is a science course, if the Kelvin scale was used.

par Afshin H

10 janv. 2021

It was an excellent course. I hope professor Impey and his team design other courses to continue this course at the intermediate and advanced level, and students becomes more familiar with astrobiology with more details. My thanks and appreciation.

par Dimitris S

13 mars 2022

Well done, well structured, well-mastered course. I enjoyed every minute. Prof Impey is my favorite. I appreciate so much his work and his ability to explain in such a simple way complex conceptions. I am grateful. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

par Andrew D

17 nov. 2020

Excellent introduction to the subject, with high quality materials and opportunities for live sessions and Q&A's. Active forums and discussion help provide stimulus for further reading and taking the subject further. Highly recommend.

par Tiago d S P

21 mars 2021

O curso proporcionou conhecimento importante do campo da astrobiologia, dando nos dados e o real avanço da ciência nessa área, nós aprofundando na curiosidade de conhecer um pouco mais sobre o universo, que está aí para descobrimos.

par Chris K

24 janv. 2022

The peer-reviewed assignments are an excellent way of showing understanding of the subject material. I would like the opportunity to be able to discuss and debate the choices for the last assignment with other course participants.

par Danny W

30 juil. 2021

A​n excellent course. Very interesting content with thought-provoking assignments. I enjoyed the lectures, each was well presented and delivered. I would recommend this course to anyone curious about astrobiology and the cosmos.